Skip to content

Emptying Brain… Starting Now.

September 2, 2011

Okay, so today’s post is going to be super random because my mind is feeling massively overwhelmed with everything. I have so many ideas floating around… things I need to do, things I want to do, and things that I definitely don’t want to do but have to do. Like yell at the maitenence guy to fix our dishwasher. Again. For the third time. (Last time, apparently he “didn’t see anything wrong.” Um – it floods our kitchen when you run it. I think that’s a problem!) So yeah, my brain is firing at like 80 miles per hour, and I thought I would let you take a little peak into what this is like. Ha. So in a somewhat random, trying-to-be-organized list format, here we go:

1. I need to get my hair done soon. It’s been almost four months since my last color and cut. Oops. But I don’t want to stay just the same color brown (and I’m a natural blonde, if you didn’t know), I want something spunky but still tasteful. So I’ve ended up at super dark red/purple. Something like this:

(source) Notice how the model is incredibly pale. Well so am I, so this is a necessary comparison. Ha. This is something I love, too:

(source) Yeah, I’m a fan of this. What do you think? My mother will flip out about the “unnatural” color, but it only took her three years for her to admit to me that she actually likes my nose ring. She’ll be okay.

2. I’ve been invited to be a (cute) boy’s +1 at a wedding in the fall, so I need to find a cute dress to wear. I’m convinced that nothing I own is fall-ish or new enough. Ha. (Plus, I’ll take any excuse I can get to go shopping for a new outfit.) The wedding will be casual and in a relatively unpopulated area of Wisconsin, so I don’t want to be too “out there.” Here are a couple of options I’m thinking – hoping to stay in the 5o to 75 dollar range.

(Simple Noir Asymmetrical Dress from Ruche)

(Baily Jo Polka Dot Pencil Skirt from Ruche) plus a white blouse and colored tights

(Meeting Before Dark Lace Dress in Jasmine from Ruche)

(Striped Sleeveless Waisted Dress from Ann Taylor Loft)

So if you have any suggestions or have seen something recently that you think I might like, feel free to link me up in the comments! I also just found this awesome website, ShopStyle.com, that I’m probably going to spend hours on now. You can see all sorts of clothes from different stores and narrow them down by all sorts of tags. Ohh!

3. I’m currently listening a bunch of Weezer songs on repeat because I get to go see them in concert tomorrow at the Minnesota State Fair. Exciting! I’ve never been a huge listener of them, but I’ve been getting really into them since I found out I was going to the concert. Haha!

My Favorite Weezer Album – The Blue Album (1994) (source) Oh, and you can expect to see several pictures from the fair. The lighting and sight are always the best there. I’m planning on brining my slr or capture some moments. Maybe I’ll introduce you to my date someday soon. :)

4. As of yesterday, I’m officially a published crafter! I was contacted by the lovely people at Papercraft Inspirations several months ago, and they asked me to write an article all about Distress Inks. Of course I said yes, and I can’t believe it’s actually in print now! I don’t have my hard copy yet, but it’s on its way to me… along with like 3 more copies to give to my parents and to show off to relatives and prospective employers. Haha. If you wish to order a copy, you can purchase the October 2011 issue here. The Papercraft Inspirations blog is featuring my article (!!!) over the past two days. Here are peaks:

Fab Flower Card <- click here to go to the blog post!

Distress Inks on a scrapbook page <- This is my bonus piece I did, and to be honest, it’s my favorite of all the projects. There are so many touches and techniques that make me so happy here! The blog features a full step-by-step tutorial. :)

I hope you’ll check out those posts and maybe even pick up a copy. I’m so honored and excited to be featured, and I hope this is only the start of what’s to come! Thank YOU for all of your support and loveliness. Each comment, like, retweet, and link back to me makes me so happy and means the world to me.

5. Monday will be my 52nd Video Tutorial Monday. Wow, one year! This next week will be normal (especially since I’ll be busy preparing to start class the very next day), but look for a HUGE giveaway post the next week (on the 12th), a couple little changes and some more fun things. You’re not going to want to miss what I have in store! I’ve been collecting things slowly, and you’re going to love it. Hint: there will be lots and lots of things I’ve purchased from Simon Says Stamp. ;)

6. Tomorrow is a really big day for a company that I’m really thrilled and honored to work with. I’ll have a post more about that tomorrow. :)

7. Here’s a card that I haven’t shared yet. I hope this inspires you to sit down and craft today. When I get home from work, all I’m doing tonight is cleaning, organizing and then PLAYING with my new crafting goodies. I. Can’t. Wait.

I used a punch from HSN, but you could use any Martha Stewart Punch All Over the Page punch (view Simon Says’s selection here).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Totally sorry that this post is turning into the freaking Iliad, but I can’t help sharing one more thing… a picture of Trixie in my room. She loves to sit with her head looking through the blinds from the corner of my bed, and I caught her sleeping on lookout duty the other day. I can’t imagine that this would be comfortable, but, well… it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve questioned her logic. Ha.

I know, adorable. Okay, brain outpouring over. Hope you enjoyed it! See you tomorrow. <3

Love,
Britta

22 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 3:58 pm

    Congrats Britta. Very well deserved. Looking forward to your new video.

  2. iamahoneybee permalink
    September 2, 2011 4:11 pm

    Congrats on getting published!!!!!!!

    I think that the lace dress in Jasmine would be nice. I think it would work with the occasion, your complexion, and your hair (assuming you get it done before the wedding).

    Your cat is too funny!

    Have a great long weekend!

  3. September 2, 2011 4:17 pm

    Love the polka dot pencil skirt!!…Congrats on your publication!!

  4. yainea permalink
    September 2, 2011 4:20 pm

    Hahaha I enjoyed your post! I’m pale too and I have that color (a little less purple) on my hair lol.
    Those dresses are GORGEOUS! If the wedding is not at night I wouldn’t choose the black one, my favorites are the last 2.. well, is my opinion :)
    Congrats o being published!! You deserve it! Your prejects are great and that card is beautiful and elegant.
    Love the Trixie’s pic, cats are totally mad! lol I find mine in really weird places and positions. Everyday :)
    Hope you get fun in the concert and thanks for all the inspiration!

  5. BLum permalink
    September 2, 2011 4:42 pm

    GO WITH THE PURPLE DRESS!!!!!!! Purple is a nice fall color, and the cut is still young enough without being over-the-top or too dramatic. The polka dot skirt is very cute, but not really a fall-ish color. Just my opinion! OH, and congrats on being published!

  6. September 2, 2011 4:50 pm

    Which ever dress you pick, make sure you’ve got a cardigan to match! We all know how October in Minnesota/Wisconsin/the Dakotas/Michigan can be 90 or 30 degrees! :)

    I love both of the last two dresses, though. I think they’d both go with your complexion and whichever hair color you’ll have at the time.

    Congratulations on being published!

  7. September 2, 2011 5:18 pm

    Love the color choice for your hair. I have been thinking about doing my hair about that color too. :) Love your cards too. :)

  8. Angela A permalink
    September 2, 2011 6:41 pm

    Beautiful card and I am so jealous of the Weezer concert! You are going to have a blast!

  9. September 2, 2011 7:04 pm

    Love this post!
    Okay…first…I vote for the Meeting Before Dark lace dress. And your (possibly) new hair color would look great with it. Secondly…congrats on being published! Yay! You so deserve it :)
    I just adore that Trixie photo. So cute.
    And, I hope you have a great weekend!

  10. Kathleen Watterson permalink
    September 2, 2011 7:18 pm

    Great post! Hopefully the brain out-pouring actually helped to put things into perspective for you :)
    Love the hair colour selections, I think the red will suit you well. As for an outfit for the wedding… the large poka dot skirt is stunning and you’ll be able to mix ‘n’ match it with other tops (and tights/stockings) later. Anyway, happy shopping and have a great weekend!!

  11. Linda permalink
    September 2, 2011 8:21 pm

    Congrats!!! Love the purple dress, that would look great on you.

  12. September 2, 2011 8:25 pm

    Thanks for sharing! Love this post! You have a nose ring?! Doesn’t it make it hard to blow your nose when you get a cold?! LOL! I like the black dress. Congrats on getting published. I love the card you did for the article. And Trixie! What a character! Very uncomfortable, the neck, head and paw/leg area would be getting sore or getting sort of a work out. I would have fallen in between the bed and desk/cabinet! Then would have gotten stuck, but I guess those cats manage to wiggle out of most tight areas – LOL!

  13. Duckienz permalink
    September 2, 2011 9:15 pm

    Woot woot!
    I have found you rather recently and let me say I have fallen head over heels for you ;)
    I have watched so many of your videos on you tube that I am literally sweating inspiration. Ha ha ok not quite but thanks so much for all your hard work. it is greatly appreciated. I think you should add a donate to Britta link on your blog. I am not into Distress Inks just yet but I want to support you someway. Perhaps sell another course or add the donation button. Even if people only donated $1 each that is still more product for you to buy to create things for us and/or giveaways :D
    Allie

    • Kathleen Watterson permalink
      September 3, 2011 3:42 am

      What a great idea Allie! Britta, you do work SO hard to keep us all inspired – it is really appreciated. Thank you! :)

  14. September 2, 2011 11:24 pm

    Holy C*P Britta…
    This dress company is down the street from my house!
    I love the purple and black dress. I think the black dress is classic and nice. I’m thinking of ordering the purple and black dress.

    Congrats on the publishing endeavor!! so Awesome. Very happy for you.

    Like the hair color!! totally pretty.

    Have fun at Weezers and have fun with “the cute boy.”

    All the best…

  15. September 3, 2011 3:36 am

    Hey Briita,

    Love the hair colour! I’d say go with the purple lace dress….it’s screams elegance and suits the occasion. Cheers!

    P.S. Thanks so much for your encouraging feedback on my blog. Appreciate it.

  16. September 3, 2011 7:00 am

    Great post ;)
    Love the purple lace too – perfect for a wedding, and you’d get a ton of mileage out of afterwards. It will *totally* go with the new hair colour too!
    Cute Trixie!
    Rx

  17. janet permalink
    September 3, 2011 8:03 am

    Congratulations on being published. Can’t wait to read your article! I discovered your blog just a month ago and look forward to seeing all of your fantastic creations!!!

  18. September 3, 2011 8:57 am

    Yay for you! I would order an embarrassing amount of magazines to keep and show off! I’m so happy for you, you deserve it! Trixie is too cute laying there!

  19. September 3, 2011 12:02 pm

    WOW! congrats on getting published. Well deserved.

    I really like the card and I think it’s suitable, since I think the hair color you choose is fabulous!! :-)

  20. September 3, 2011 3:46 pm

    Weezer is one of my favorite bands! Have fun at the concert!

  21. September 4, 2011 3:04 pm

    Congrats on being published! I was just thinking about submitting some cards to a magazine today….maybe a little of your mojo will rub off on me. =P I vote for the purple lace dress for the wedding, I think it’s just the right level of formality for the occasion and very pretty! Have fun with all your fun stuff, and good luck with the maintenance man!

Leave a comment