Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday #40 – Superman Dad Card

June 13, 2011

Well, it’s another Monday and time for another Video Tutorial Monday. Can you believe that it’s been 40 weeks in a row now? Holy cow! I don’t know if I’ve ever done something that consistently for that long before. Haha. (Mostly because I’ve been a perpetual quitter of hobbies… like ballet, soccer, basketball, and pretty much everything else non-crafty… but that’s for another blog post. Lol!)

This week is a crazy busy week around here, so hang in there with me if everything seems a little out of whack this week. I have a lot of deadlines and classes are just starting again, so there won’t be an All About Stamping lesson this week. Don’t worry, though! I have lots of fun posts and even an exciting announcement tomorrow to share with you. All About Stamping will be back on a normal schedule next week Tuesday with a very, very special post. You’ll see. :)

Here’s the card we’re making this week:

The card mostly focuses on these awesome patterns from the Rocket Age October Afternoon 8 by 8 paper pad. I’m going to be using these patterns a lot in the future. They’re classic.

Here’s the video for this week:

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my Channel

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Enchanted Evening), Patterned Paper – October Afternoon (Rocket Age 8 by 8 pad), Ink – Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios ink in Spice Tin), Letter Stickers – Cosmo Cricket (Tiny Type in Blue) and Basic Grey (Micro Mini Stickers in Manilla), Buttons – Papertrey Ink (Enchanted Evening) and Hero Arts (Hero Hues Blush Mixed Buttons), Labels Punch – EK Success (Photo Labels Punch), Star Punch – Stampin’ Up!, Button Twine – Papertrey Ink (Cream), Glossy Accents – Ranger Glossy Accents.

And for you Trixie lovers out there, here’s a picture I snapped of her this morning when photographing the VTM card. I realized that this is part of my morning routine. I eat cereal (generic frosted flakes + Lactose-free 2% milk) while she sits on my lap and purrs. When I’m done, I let her lick the very last of my milk out of my cereal bowl (which I know I’m not supposed to do… but how can you resist that purring?). There’s something about a purring cat that just makes everything feel better.

Note to self: scrapbook this! :)

Hope you’re having a wonderful Monday. My morning started off questionably with me tripping up some concrete stairs right before class in front of about 30 people (I think I have a bruise on my knee and there’s a little scrape on my hand, but I’m fine), but everything is looking up. I’m getting things done and it looks like it’s actually possible to meet all of my deadlines this week. Woohoo! See you tomorrow for a fun announcement.

Love,
Britta

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy G permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:27 pm

    School all year round? That is no fun! I am envious of you for going into graphic design. When I was your age, I loved fashion so I went to college for fashion merchandising. Never did get a job in that. Didn’t realize I loved design until I started making cards a few years ago. So way to go!

  2. Vickie Lee permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:34 pm

    Very cool card. Your dad will love it. Sorry about your trip and glad to hear you are okay and things are looking up! Cute kitty! You make me smile.

  3. Debbie permalink
    June 13, 2011 6:08 pm

    Enjoyed the video! And I love teasing my cats by watching their heads move in unison as I eat ice cream. I will give in and let them have a tiny taste at the end… it’s the big eyes that get me every time!

  4. June 13, 2011 8:46 pm

    Love the card you made for your dad! And thank you so much for putting a picture of Trixie on your post today! I was thinking of emailing and asking you to do that yesterday! LOL! Then I thought I should probably not ask, I know you are busy! So thanks for doing that. She is a cutie and purrs definitely make things feel better.

  5. June 14, 2011 7:04 am

    Well that (trip) sounds as sucky as sucky can be! Would’ve still sucked if you didn’t have a bunch of spectators, but that makes it worse!

    The good news is this card is absotively fab!!!! I just picked up most of this line @ my LSS & can’t wait to use it for scrapping pics of my little guy! So fun!! I love how you combined the patterned papers so perfectly… and the tiny type letters rock it! Also the inking just adds awesomeness!

    Love the kitty pic too!

Leave a comment