Skip to content

Hero Hues Papers and Embellishments + Ohio Retreat Part 2

October 4, 2011

Hey there. I’m stopping in today with another Video Tutorial Monday as well as a recap of the rest of my fabulous weekend. Unfortunately, I’m feeling kind of icky today (and yesterday). My cold is getting much better, but my mood is low… a chemical thing. I’ve missed a few classes, and I absolutely despise being behind in class and having to make special accomodations. so my spirits are low. I’m trying to get caught up and get things done, but the mountain seems a little impossible right now.

But I’m trying. I know I can do this; this is a bump in the road and it’s only my brain telling me I can’t get caught up. So I’m going to keep chugging away, but words of encouragement would be so nice right now. I’ve made a list (my tried-and-true method for helping me get things done), and this blog post is on that list, so this is one more thing done. Next up: filling out a worksheet for my online course and e-mailing my professors apologizing for my absence. One step at a time. I aim to be real and personal on my blog, so this is me right now: feeling a little depressed but trying my hardest to get out of this chemical imbalance.

I had some very wonderful news yesteday: I’ve been accepted into my first choice study abroad program in Barcelona, Spain! So as long as I get all of my travel documents in and everything in order, I’ll be in Spain just three months from today. Something that I’ve been twirling around in my head is the idea of doing daily vlogs for those four months. I want something to really capture the experience, and I’d love to share my travels with my family and friends. This would be a pretty big commitment and something I would really want to do full-heartedly. So I’m going to think about it a little more before I commit to something like this.

I’m going through a lot of changes in my life right now. I welcome change, but it seems to take a big toll on my body and mind. I have to spend several hours a week in the coming months preparing for my travels abroad, my website is becoming something that could be my one and only job in the future, and it seems as though my friends are moving on through life in all different directions as we reach the end of college.

Things change, and I’m grateful for that. Thanks for staying with me and for your continued support as I try to keep my feet on the ground and my head staring up into the stars.

Enough about me, though. Let’s make a card! Here’s the card for this week:

I’ve been using the Hero Hues line more and more in the past few weeks. Verdict? I love it. Not only do I love Hero Arts as a company, but these products all coordinate so well, and that makes them fun to work with. Something that I forgot to mention in the video – the Hero Hues line also has Memento markers and embellishment dots to match. The whole set of them is on my ever-expanding must-have list!

 

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

InLinkz.com

Okay, now here’s a little bit more about my awesome weekend with some wonderful ladies in Ohio. Despite from travel issues with Delta (that they have since apologized profusely for) and several issues with hotel personnel (ehem… being rude!), it was an fantabulous weekend.

This was my lunch on Saturday from Carrabba’s. Mmmm… it was a delicious Grilled Fish Ciabatta sandwich. I’m definitely going to be getting that again!

My workspace kept getting messier and messier over the weekend. Before I knew it, I had worked myself into a small 6 by 6 square in front of me on my desk. Haha! Thankfully, I had Miss Kathy to help me pack the next morning when I woke up a little late. Everything is neatly sealed in plastic bags and still in my bags (except for what I used on the video tutorial for this week… ha).

Graeter’s ice cream… I could eat this Black Raspberry Chip ice cream for every meal forever and be completely content. On Saturday afternoon, Colin (Jennifer‘s adorable son) wanted to bring us ice cream, so he and Jennifer’s hubby, Ken, delivered and then scooped out ice cream for all of us. How nice and generous of them!

I couldn’t resist a little snapshot of the action. Here’s kathy talking to Jennifer (holding baby Abby – Heidi’s always-happy baby) while her sweet family serves ice cream. I love how Abby is looking at me take her picture. She did nothing but giggle and smile the whole weekend!

I couldn’t resist another shot of that ice cream. Are you getting how much I love this stuff yet?

Here’s our group picture from later in the day Saturday. I love all of these ladies so much. For your reference, here are the ladies that I had the honor to hang out with:

Top row, left to right: Heidi, Candy, Jana, Joy, Deborah, Tina and Margaret
Middle row: Christy, Kate, Stephanie, Sarah, Heather and Kathy (laying across the middle because she’s awesome)
Front row: Me, Jennifer, Julie and Sandi

On my flight home, our plan had to overshoot the airport to wait for its turn to land. In the process, I got a 360 degree view of Minneapolis. It was amazing. We even flew right over my house! This was my favorite shot (from south of the city, I believe).

It was a soul-refreshing weekend that was full of laughter, creativity and smiles. The hotel drama only added to the laughter. There was one point Saturday night that I was laughing so hard I cried. There will never be a more full, healthy feeling than that.

Off to go get more homework done and get back on track with class. Wish me luck! I’ll need it.

Love,
Britta

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 6:44 pm

    Britta-
    I am smiling looking at the pictures from the weekend. There is nothing quite as uplifting as goofy laughter – and there was alot of it last weekend.

    Here is what I know about you. You are a goal oriented, smart, talented young lady. Despite feeling low this too shall pass and you will work through that mountain in front of you — one step at a time. I have been there and I know how hard it is.

    I, for one, would LOVE it if you did a blog while you were abroad. It would be great to see the experience through your eyes. So one vote YES for the blog! :-)

  2. October 4, 2011 6:45 pm

    love you sweet heart:) our weekend was a blast!!!!

  3. October 4, 2011 7:01 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I’m so jealous! Sending positive vibes your way…keep your head up just like you’re doing and you will make it through! You’re a strong and amazing person and can beat the funk you’re in.

  4. Marilyn Mae permalink
    October 4, 2011 7:35 pm

    I have been a follower for a couple of weeks and really enjoy your you tube videos. Also enjoy reading your blog. Your crafting will help you get through these changes. I also would enjoy following your blog while you are in Spain. Making new craft buddiies will be nice. Keep the faith.

  5. Candy permalink
    October 4, 2011 7:53 pm

    You will get that mountain scaled – just keep plugging away at it. And as far as the vlog, I think it sounds like a great idea, but you might want to think about the timing. every day might be a lot to keep up along with class, travel, and all – but maybe 2 – 3 times a week would be easier to commit to. However you decide to do it, I fr one will be watching!!!

  6. Annette permalink
    October 4, 2011 8:17 pm

    Britta,
    Just take one step at a time like you are doing. Chemical imbalances are tough to deal with but know that there are many friends who love you & are praying for you. Congrats about your acceptance to study in Spain! What a neat opportunity. Take care of yourself:)

  7. October 4, 2011 8:35 pm

    Britta: I have learned so much from you. I think everything I know about Distress Inks is from your Video Tutorial Mondays. However, you have to look after yourself first. If you can’t do VTM, then so be it! You are an amazing young lady and the world is your oyster! Take care…thinking of you!

  8. October 4, 2011 9:00 pm

    Looks like an amazingly crafty and fun weekend you had. Thanks for sharing it with all of us. I’m sending happy thoughts your way. I hate being in a funk, so I really hope you get out of yours soon. Big Hugs my friend!

  9. Bunny Constabile permalink
    October 4, 2011 9:57 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful time, Britta. Try not to stress over your work load it’ll only slow you down. Instead, concentrate on one task at a time and before you know it you’ll be caught up and feeling great. :) Congrats on the being accepted to go to Spain.

  10. October 4, 2011 9:59 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful time with some of my favorite people! Thanks so much for sharing these pics, it’s almost like being there!

  11. Sheryl permalink
    October 4, 2011 10:07 pm

    Hang in there, you’ll be caught up before you know it. Only a conscientious student would care and apologize for missing class. You do great work and I know you will do well with this in the future. Its hard to “grow up” and lose seeing your same friends all the time, just be thankful for the Internet. They’ll only be a few clicks away.

  12. Victoria H permalink
    October 5, 2011 3:44 am

    A beautiful card – thanks for the tips to cut banners and tie a ribbon. Congratulations for being accepted on the Spanish program – I hope you have lots of fun on your adventure.

  13. Kelli L permalink
    October 5, 2011 5:58 am

    Britta…everything takes time and you will get over the mountian with a smile on your face. It always seems harder when you are trying to start at the bottom of that list, but it feels oh so good to cross those things off(i am also a list maker :))Sending you positive scrappy school vibes your way.Loving all th cards…you are getting pretty clever at mixing things up.

  14. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:39 am

    I don’t have any origianl advice, but wanted to cheer you on. The list is a great idea. Focus on one thing at a time. I often get overwhelmed if I keep focusing on the entire work load in front of me…a little at a time will get you there! I can almost feel the positive, creative energy from your weekend photos. I’m just 40 minutes north of Cinci…and, yeah, Graeter’s Black Raspberry Chip is da bomb!

  15. Julia C permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:45 am

    Congrats! I hope you’ll like Barcelona – actually, I’m sure you will! It’s one of my favorite cities in Europe (more so than Paris, Madrid, etc). It’s beautiful, grand and friendly!!! Enjoy it!!! And hope you feel better soon!!!

  16. janet permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:03 am

    Hope you are feeling better real soon – and congratulations on Barcelona. It’s a great city and wonderful country!

  17. Linda permalink
    October 5, 2011 9:55 am

    Hang in there girl!!!!

  18. Lisa Geraty permalink
    October 5, 2011 11:03 am

    Oh Britta, I feel for you, we all have those blues. “Talking” about them will help you get over them & move on. How exciting about your potential time abroad (of course, selfishly my first thought was oh no, what about our videos??). Ha ha!

    • October 5, 2011 11:43 am

      No worries, I have every intention to continue my videos over in Europe! There might be some weeks without a video, but I love making them, so I’ll make as many as possible!

  19. October 5, 2011 12:37 pm

    Looks like you guys had such a ball! So glad you were able to meet up with everyone! I enjoyed seeing the pics you posted! What memories for you! Love your sweet card, too!

  20. October 5, 2011 1:00 pm

    Looks like a great weekend! Thanks for sharing wit us. Congrats on Spain! In college I spent one month in Costa Rica and LOVED it! It’s my favorite place now. I think it would fun to read along with your experiences there, and in the future you’ll love that you documented it. Take a breath every now and then, can’t forget to take care of yourself :)

  21. Marisol permalink
    October 5, 2011 6:40 pm

    Take care of yourself even if that means you need to step away from your blog from a little while. All your followers will understand.
    My prayers are with you.
    Marisol

  22. October 6, 2011 1:37 am

    Fabulous blog post Britta :-) The video is fab and I love all the phtoto’s you took :-) Abby looks so adorable and the messy desk looks just like mine ! :-)

    I went to Barcelona a year or so ago ,, it is a fantastic city and for an arty person it is just brilliant ,, the whole city is beautiful and I am sure you will have a terrific time ! it is said to be THE best city in Europe for nightlife too !! so don’t forget your clubbing clothes :-)

    I am sure you will soon catch up with your studies ,,, hang in there and just keep plodding on ,, you will get there in no time :-) xx

    luv
    Lols x x x

  23. October 6, 2011 12:20 pm

    Love your card! That ice cream must have tasted good on your throat and good for your cold! I hope your week is going better now. I struggle a lot when too much is going on and have that chemical imbalance stuff. It is very hard to work through at times. I had more trouble when I was working of course! But I know your struggles. Hugs to you!

  24. October 7, 2011 2:35 pm

    Wonderful card Britta, love that double bow! Thanks for letting us know about the foam adhesive that you used this time, it’s actually the same I always use, which I get in a dollar-type store here in Norway! Glad to see that I can now link it in my supply lists =)

Leave a Reply

