Skip to content

Behind the Scenes – Taking Over Jill’s Blog

September 26, 2011

For our fourth little stop on our tour around the web for this weekend, I have a fun post that I put together for Jill Foster’s blog that went live Friday. This is her second time doing this blog takeover week, and I was so thrilled when she asked if I would be part of it! Jill’s always inspiring me with her creations, so I was excited to choose one to make a card based off of. Here’s the card that I chose to be inspired by for the post:

Things I loved about the card: the amazing colors, the water-spot effect and the strong vertical sense of movement in the card. I took all of those things and did them my way to come up with this:

I pulled out 9 different colors of copics and got to work coloring in this awesome border image from Blissful Botanicals. I’ve seen this technique done on several cards before and loved it, so I knew this card would be the perfect place for that. The dots surrounding the sentiment are inspired as well. I learned that technique of punching the paper from the back and then inking over it from her, after all. :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

InLinkz.com

A big thanks goes to Jill for letting me take over her blog for a day. She’s so sweet, and I’m so honored to call her a friend! This wraps up my little weekend series here on the blog about my recent posts on other amazing blogs. Whew! It feels nice to be caught up. The video tutorial for tomorrow is being uploaded as I type this, so that should be up in no time. Now if only I can magically conjure up the time to sit down and write the post! Ha.

Mondays are always my worst days. I work from 10 to 2 and then have class from 3 to 9:30. Then I come home, eat, and try to get as much homework done as possible before crashing into bed. Let’s hope this week goes a little easier than the last two as I have a research paper to write. Blah! No fun. At least I had a ton of fun today getting lots done and creating a few cute things I can’t wait to share with you. Hope your weekend was magical and your week gets off to a great start!

Love,
Britta

P.S. I’ve added that iPad 2 cover template to this post if you were looking for it. I’m hoping to do a post soon about my favorite iPad things… I’m kind of obsessed now. :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gabby permalink
    September 26, 2011 3:08 am

    Like your interpretation of Jill’s card! Sweeeet! Have a wonderful week ahead! :)

Leave a Reply

