Skip to content

Behind the Scenes: Simon Says Stamp STAMPtember Video Tutorial

September 24, 2011

One of the reasons I’ve been so busy lately is that I was asked to do a few tutorials and blog post for several of my very favorite sites. Being that I love each of these sites so much, I of course wanted to share with them. Sorry this is taking me so long to get around to posting; I’ve been meaning to post my little behind-the scenes looks for these for a couple days, but other things have taken precedence. (Like sleep… ehem.) So I have a special treat for you! For the next two days, I’ll be sharing four posts – one to go along with each guest post I’ve had over the past week. I’m scheduling them all now, so I know these will actually be posted. Ha!

The first one that I’m going to share with you is my post for the Simon Says Stamp blog that was posted last week. You can view the post here. This one is all about a technique I discovered  kind of by accident and have played with for a few weeks.

When Heidi approached me about making a tutorial for the Simon Says blog, I knew this double emboss resist is what I wanted to share. It seems relatively straightforward, so I don’t know if this has been done before. In fact, I’m not claiming that I came up with it or that is my technique alone. It’s merely something that I’ve been playing around with and want to share. Hopefully this will inspire you to pull out your Distress Inks today and give it a try!

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

Here’s a picture of the finished card:

And a close-up. How about that for texture and dimension?! Remember, you have to build your image almost backwards to get those solid images to really pop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

InLinkz.com

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to go play with my Distress Inks now! Aren’t they the best? You know they’re my first true love. ;)

Thanks so much for stopping by today and to Simon Says for inviting me to spend a day on their blog! Make sure you go over there and leave them some love and maybe they’ll have me back again. Hehe. By the way, if you make a purchase at the Simon Says Stamp store from now until the month, use the code stamp for $5 off your order in celebration of their STAMPtember celebration! Happy shopping. Be back soon with another behind-the-scenes post for you.

Love,
Britta

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Serena permalink
    September 24, 2011 8:50 pm

    Hey Britta,
    You did a great job on this card, as always. I just recently bought embossing powder and I can’t wait ti start playing with them. I still did not buy a heat gun but I was wondering if it is possible to heat emboss using a hair dryer, for the meantime?

    Serena

    • September 24, 2011 9:07 pm

      A heat gun is definitely the best way to go (try picking one up with a coupon at your local big box store like JoAnns or Michael’s), but in the mean time try holding the paper over a toaster – just be careful! A hair dryer will just blow the embossing powder everywhere. Also, make sure to use super sticky ink like Versamark or other ink marked “embossing ink.” This will give you the best results. Good luck and have fun!

  2. September 24, 2011 10:27 pm

    I really love the design, AND the technique! Fabulous card.

  3. Yvette S. permalink
    September 24, 2011 10:41 pm

    I tried this technique using the yellows and oranges (distress ink) – I loved the results, thanks for the great idea!

  4. September 25, 2011 12:36 am

    I’ve been planning to buy Zing embossing powder.. I think I should just go ahead and do it :)

  5. September 25, 2011 12:47 am

    I absolutely love this card Britta – it is so effective and I do enjoy a good emboss! I watched it last week on the SSS blog and it’s just as fun to watch the second time around. :)

  6. Gabby permalink
    September 25, 2011 1:30 am

    Beautiful double-embossed card base! I don’t think I could bear to put, if anything, more than some satin ribbon on the front of the card! I will definitely be trying this technique oday. If it turns out as lovely as yours, my sentiment will be on the inside. TF making the video and sharing this “sweet” technique. :)

  7. September 25, 2011 1:42 am

    The card is beautiful. It really makes me want to buy a heat gun… I guess I can’t buy it all at the same time…..

  8. Jeannie permalink
    September 25, 2011 2:26 am

    LOVE the double embossing effect and how your card turned out.

    I’m glad you posted this again as somehow I missed seeing this at Simon Say’s blog. I love this technique you’ve shown and definitely gonna try it. I do agree with you… Distress Inks are my first love and they are what got me started on cards.

  9. Annette permalink
    September 25, 2011 10:44 am

    Hi! What a neat technique. I really enjoy color & this card has my mind working overtime!! Thanks for sharing your awesome talent.
    Annette:)

  10. September 25, 2011 8:14 pm

    This is really beautiful, thanks for sharing this great technique, I’ve never seen it before! And I know what you mean about Distress Inks, I’m totally in love. =)

  11. Alison permalink
    September 25, 2011 8:18 pm

    Fabulous card! It was very exciting to meet you at Archiver’s yesterday! I would have loved to stay and tell you how much I love your blog but I was working:/

  12. Debbie permalink
    September 26, 2011 1:41 am

    I tried this tonight using a bold flower stamp & a script background stamp. It turned out just great! Thanks for making this video!

  13. Julie permalink
    September 28, 2011 10:05 am

    Hey Britta,
    Great tutorial! Love this technique. Going to have to give it a try soon.

    p/s: who is the artist and what is song title that you use in your video?

    • September 28, 2011 12:03 pm

      The song is royalty-free entitled “Chaka Laka,” and I purchased it from audiojungle.net. Hope that helps and glad you like the tutorial!

Leave a Reply

