Skip to content

All About Scrapfest 2011

September 22, 2011

Finally, I’m here to share all about my experience at Scrapfest last weekend. I’ve been down and out all day long with a really terrible migraine (brought on by pushing myself a little too hard over the past several days :/), but I’m feeling a lot better after napping for most of the afternoon. Now it’s time to share all about this awesome event I attended for the 4th time in a row last weekend. The crafting, the people and the shopping were so much fun!

I decided to do something similar to last year and make a video talking about the experience to make this post a little less photo-heavy. Hope you enjoy it! Make sure to watch to the end of the video for a chance to enter a little giveaway. :)

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

By the way, if you’re not able to get these products at your local stores yet, they’re ALL available over at Simon Says Stamp now! Here’s a little linky thing so you can shop away. :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

InLinkz.com

Here are the two cards I mentioned that I made for card swap with the Hero Arts girls. I had a ton of fun playing around with some of my favorite Hero stamps. :)

InLinkz.com

InLinkz.com

I also got the chance to hang out with some really amazing people. Along with blog readers, new friends and people I’ve known for a while, I met some friends in real life that had known online for a while. It was great! Here I am with April Foster and Kelly Purkey at the Studio Calico table. I bought a TON of stuff from them ;) Nicole Harper and April’s adorable husband, Greg, were also there. I loved seeing all of them!

I also got to take class from the amazing Jennifer McGuire and Shari Carroll. They teach me so many cool tricks and tips every time I get to learn from them. I love it! Not to mention, they’re really fun to just hang out with. :)

Me with THE Tim Holtz. He’s so awesome! I also loved taking his class and learned a ton of new little tidbits. I can’t wait to pass on all of the little things I picked up this weekend onto my blog readers. :)

This is our little group after our Hero Arts dinner. We had so much fun chatting and eating that it took us 2.5 hours to finish our meal! It was wonderful, even if I was the baby there ;)

I can’t help sharing this photo, too. It’s Joe and Jake when we went to the mall on Sunday. All four of us went for a roomie shopping trip at the mall. I had SO much fun playing dress up with the guys and helping them buy clothes. It was awesome. One of my favorite things for sure. ;)

I’ve put together a little slideshow of the weekend in photos over on flickr, so if you want to watch that (with captions if you click the “show details” box in the upper right corner!), click here:

http://www.flickr.com//photos/bswiderski/sets/72157627721777240/show/

 

Here’s the template for the iPad 2 as promised. I used this covering paper from Vera Bradley to make mine. Enjoy!

View this document on Scribd

I hope you’ve enjoyed this look into my super fun weekend at Scrapfest. Make sure to leave a comment on this post with what you would like to purchase next. You have until 11:59 central time on September 30th to leave a comment on this post to be entered to win a little package of goodies that I picked up from Scrapfest. :)

Thanks so much for stopping by today! Maybe someday I’ll be able to meet all of you in real life. That would be so awesome! I’m off to go write up some more blog posts. I’ve been holding out of you lately! ;)

Loves,
Britta

P.S. The AMAZING Jake just scored an awesome internship with isportsweb.com as their Packer correspondant. I’m so proud of him! We went out to dinner to celebrate last night. He’s a sports journalism major and basically lives and breathes sports, so this is an amazing opportunity for him. Congrats, Jake! His first article just went live here. Check it out and leave him some love if you want to. That would mean so much to me!

107 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 3:55 pm

    It looks like you had a great time…I’m jealous! The next thing I HAVE to buy is a stamp a ma jig. I can’t believe that I don’t have one. When it comes to wood-mounted stamps, I just kinda guess where I need to place it, and I always screw up my project by stamping crooked and have to start again. Geez…you would think that I would have bought one by now! It’s definitely at the top of my list.

    • September 23, 2011 4:16 pm

      Oh my goodness. Yes, you NEED one! I think a trip to the nearest coupon crafting store is in your future. It will save you so much trouble!

  2. Deb Middleton permalink
    September 23, 2011 3:59 pm

    I have so enjoyed watching your videos. Thank you for being so prolific! :) I just bought a couple of the House Mouse stamps by Stampabilities so I would next like to buy a gray marker to use as I explore the world of coloring with markers.

  3. September 23, 2011 4:09 pm

    your weekend sounded like so much fun – one of these years i’ll have to go. love all the product and the classes sounded wonderful. distress stains are on my list of stuff I “need”.

  4. Vickie Lee permalink
    September 23, 2011 4:13 pm

    I really enjoyed seeing you on video. You are so cute! Thanks for sharing all the fun you had at Scrapfest – maybe someday I will be able to make it. I am hoping to get the new distress inks.

  5. September 23, 2011 4:27 pm

    Sounds that you had an amazing weekend. Love all your videos and because of this I wil get all distress ink colors. I have 4 already. I started playing with them and felt in love. Thanks for sharing your talent.

    • September 23, 2011 6:19 pm

      Have you seen my No-Stress Distress Ink class? It would help you get started and try even more with them. Welcome to my obsession! :)

  6. Billie Dee permalink
    September 23, 2011 4:33 pm

    I am so jealous! It looks like you had a fabulous time!

  7. September 23, 2011 5:38 pm

    Next on my shopping list is jenni bowlin foam stamps!

  8. Cathy permalink
    September 23, 2011 6:10 pm

    Thanks for sharing your experience over the weekend! I would love to take a class with Tim Holtz! Next on my list are the distress stains and on my big wish list is a Vagabond!!

    Cathy

  9. Meghan permalink
    September 23, 2011 6:58 pm

    I LOVE haul videos and it was really fun to see your face. I really want to get some Jenni Bowlin Inks pads. I have one but I would like more of course!

  10. Julia C permalink
    September 23, 2011 7:34 pm

    Wow – looks like so much fun!!! Jealous!!!

    • Julia C permalink
      September 23, 2011 7:35 pm

      And I also want to add that next I really want to try some Jenni bowlin inks!

  11. Melinda F. permalink
    September 23, 2011 7:47 pm

    Love your video’s!! I will have to try and make it to one of those Scrap Fests someday, sounds like a lot of fun. My next product I want to try is Distress Stains. Thanks for the chance to win.

  12. Laura Barrio permalink
    September 23, 2011 8:47 pm

    Wow, it looks like it was really fun. I wished I could have been there and checked out all the new products. I really want to try the new Hero Arts stamps with die cuts.

  13. September 23, 2011 9:30 pm

    Oh if only I lived close enough to go to an Archivers Scrapfest!! I would love to get some Mr. Huey mists next.

  14. kim b permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:06 pm

    So glad that you loved Scrapfest! I can’t wait to get my hands on some of that Studio Calico goodness :o)

  15. Bonnie Ditto permalink
    September 23, 2011 10:23 pm

    I have some mists and I want some masks to go with them. Love making my own backgrounds.

  16. Debbie permalink
    September 24, 2011 2:12 am

    Had tons of fun watching the video! I think I’m going for the Sizzix die & stamp sets next. So I will be very interested to see your storage solution.

  17. Marisol permalink
    September 24, 2011 10:52 am

    STOP! All this enabling is hard on my wallet! ;) Thanks for sharing!

  18. Angelina Romero permalink
    September 24, 2011 10:56 am

    Wow, wish we had something like that in our area. I am fairly new to all of this and have not found anything to go to in NM. I want to try out the Mister Huey’s after seeing them on your video. Also, thanks for mentioning Simon Says. Wasn’t aware of this site.

  19. September 24, 2011 11:30 am

    Lovely cards and WOW!! Looks like you had a great time with all of our stamping friends! So glad you shared the photos! Hoping I can go one of these days!!

  20. Mary M. permalink
    September 24, 2011 11:38 am

    Britta…you are so adorable. I love watching your video’s and seeing your creations. Keep up the awesome work!

  21. September 24, 2011 12:54 pm

    Wow Britta what a great recap! SO much fun stuff and I wish I lived closer to Minnesota so I could go to Scrapfest! =) At any rate, my next new buy is going to be more copic markers! My collection is getting better (I just hit 25!), but I’d love to have closer to 50 — blending them is so fun! =) Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  22. September 24, 2011 2:23 pm

    Wow! just wow!! You got to hang out with such cool people..I just finished Inspiration showcase class online and you get to hang out with the real deal!! How awesome is that!! If I were in your shoes…I’d have a serious case of Hero worship and frame up all these photos!!
    Thanks for such fun photos…been loving your videos forever…
    p.s my distress inks have gone up to 14 now…waiting for the dollar to settle.and then i’ll buy some more! :D

  23. Valerie Gee, the Scrappin' V permalink
    September 24, 2011 3:48 pm

    BRITTA! HOW did I NOT realize that you were going to SF! My mom and I were there too, and I would have TOTALLY loved to meet up with you and meet in person! I’ve been following your blog since I found your video post about LAST year’s SF! Maybe next time we can hook up…. On a side note – isn’t Tim Holtz AMAZING?!?!?!?!

    XXOO,
    Val

    • Valerie Gee, the Scrappin' V permalink
      September 24, 2011 4:11 pm

      Oh – and I forgot to mention what I am most excited to buy next…. More Tim Holtz product! I have avoided his products because I’m not a “grunge” sort of gal – but I was stoked to take his class and sit and watch him demo for a few hours. I knew that if anybody could convince me to give it a try, it would be Tim himself! Now I’m *HOOKED*! I bought a bunch of distress inks and a few stains, and I really want to get some alcohol inks too! Thanks for your videos – they’re the bomb!

      -V

  24. September 24, 2011 8:06 pm

    I’m so jealous. It looks like you had a blast! Hmmm. What do I want to but next? So much stuff. I’m loving the new sizzix dies so I might have to buy some of them. And some stamp sets from paper smooches that I’ve been eyeing up.

  25. Jot permalink
    September 24, 2011 10:20 pm

    You are too cute my friend! Looks like you had a blast at scrapfest! Next on my very long list of must haves LOL is that awesome wood grain impression plate from Papertreyink. Ever since I watched you make that card with it I’ve been wanting to order it! Thanks sweets for the wonderful giveaway as always! Love, Jot

  26. September 25, 2011 12:38 am

    Hi britta!!!!
    Love the video. Hmm, considering i just placed 2 orders to SSS (as you well know)… I would LOVE to order more… haha.
    I need to get more distress inks. I have about 19 of them but i don’t have all the colors.
    I would really love more Hero Arts stamps… but I’m torn because I absolutely LOVE Penny BLack and her cow series….
    Well, have a great day britta, and thank you again!!!
    hugs, naomi

  27. Kathy Mc permalink
    September 25, 2011 1:04 am

    Almost everything you use is new to me ~ Mister Huey, Sizzix stamps + dies, Distress Inks. Let me just say my wish list is very long and would love to win your giveaway. Great video and love your enthusiasm from Scrapfest and everything else you share with us. Could definitely use that peacock stamp set since we just learned my SIL has cancer. Thanks for the chance to win!

  28. September 25, 2011 1:29 am

    It sounds like you had an amazing time at Scrapfest Britta! I will just dream about attending one day!! I have been looking at the Sizzix/ Hero Arts stamp and die sets, like you showed, but I think I will go for one with flowers – so I think that is the next thing on my list. Hope you are enjoying your weekend! :)

  29. September 25, 2011 5:00 am

    Wow what a great trip! I really want to try Distress Stains after watching your Intro Video to them!

  30. diana permalink
    September 25, 2011 9:01 am

    Thanks for sharing your Scrapfest video! I love seeing what other crafters buy for their stashes. Next on my list are more TH distress stains and some HA stamps & dies and … well, you get the idea. :-)

  31. Tricia H permalink
    September 25, 2011 5:41 pm

    Sounds really cool! I think my next purchase needs to be some nice sentiment stamps. Or maybe some distress ink, I only have 3 colors now. =)

  32. Glory permalink
    September 25, 2011 7:01 pm

    Next on my shopping list is the Jenni Bowlin inks pads. I love your videos, I learn a lot with them. 8oD

  33. yainea permalink
    September 25, 2011 7:03 pm

    Wow! it sounds like a wonderful weekend! I love your videos! Next on my list are some Jenni Bowlin ink pads.. I don’t have any and I want to try them :)

  34. September 25, 2011 10:49 pm

    Scrapfest looks like it was such a blast. With the classes, meeting up with people & shopping for fun products I can’t imagine a better way to spend a weekend. i especially love the snowman card from one of your classes.
    I’m most excited to get my hands on some of the Hero Arts/Sizzix stamp & die combos. My REALLY big wish list includes a Silhouette machine but that won’t happen in the near future.
    Thanks for sharing your adventure.

  35. September 25, 2011 11:15 pm

    Looks like so much fun. Definitely would make for an awesome weekend. I am really looking forward to getting a Big Shot (hopefully soon!) I am ready to be able to use embossing folders and dies.

  36. Anna permalink
    September 26, 2011 10:33 am

    Love your “little” haul! I’m dying to take a Tim Holtz class! My next purchase is going to be the EP Christmas collection! :) Thanks for your great vids!

  37. September 26, 2011 4:07 pm

    My next BIG purchase is a new electronic cutter. I think I’m going to purchase the New Silhouette Cameo – just waiting until it is released so I can hear some reviews. My next regular purchase is to get my hands on some Distress Stains! I love distress inks (thanks Britta for the amazing series on them which opened up a whole new world of possibilities!) and can’t wait to add the stains to my collection.

  38. Donna permalink
    September 26, 2011 5:06 pm

    I am wish you, I realy want the vagabon but don’t know if I can give up that much space. I think I want to start knocking down walls and expanding ha-ha. Lokks like you had a blast. thanks for sharing.

  39. Kelly M. permalink
    September 26, 2011 8:02 pm

    Looks like you had fun! The next thing I’ll be buying is a collection of Tim Holtz & Sizzix dies. Probably 1.5 Hexagons & Mini Paper Rosettes.

    Thanks for the giveaway!!

  40. September 27, 2011 10:26 am

    I want the Faber-Castell Big Brush Stamper’s markers! Also, memento markers to match my inks. Complete my collection of distress stains. Oh and Jenni Bowlin ink. Oh yeah, you said on thing. Oh and stamps from Lawn Fawn and Unity. That’s right, I’m living on the edge, too! :-)

    All kidding aside, keep up the good work. You are doing a fantastic job!!!

  41. September 27, 2011 5:52 pm

    I’m glad you had a great time, It would be great to go. I’ll add it to the wish list. As for my next purchase..I’ve been dreaming about the Premium cut line paper trimmer. Not to sure when I’ll get it, usually I get carried away with stamps :D

    • September 28, 2011 12:05 pm

      I know what you mean! I’m a big fan of the Tonic Guillotine trimmer. I have both the 12 by 12 and the 6 by 12 and use them on every card! Simon Says should have them in stock soon. :)

  42. September 29, 2011 2:18 pm

    I hear you on the waiting in lines but I am crazy addicted. I think I only missed five vendors in the two days I was there. My next purchase will be Simple Stories Destinations and another 7 gypsies tray.

  43. Colleen James permalink
    September 30, 2011 3:39 pm

    Now that I live in the midwest, I MUST attend Scrapfest sometime. That looks like way too much fun to pass up!

  44. Colleen James permalink
    September 30, 2011 3:48 pm

    Oops! Forgot to mention what I wanted to purchase next…I just purchased my first Papertrey Ink stamps and would love some more. I’m also loving the MFT dies!

Trackbacks

  1. Behind the Scenes – Taking Over Jill’s Blog « Britta Swiderski
  2. A Card and a Winner « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

