Skip to content

This Little Mermaid Has Some Serious Style.

August 22, 2011

Hi there! I’m just popping in quickly to share a card before I go lay down again. I’m feeling really under the weather and haven’t done much all day except lay down and try to be comfortable. Being sick is no fun! It was a crazy weekend of feeling crappy (and yesterday I woke up with a killer sore throat that will not go away… not good!), and then yesterday I got the crazy idea that it would be good to switch rooms with Greg. We’ve been planning this for a while, but I’ve been putting it off because of how big of a job it seemed like it would be. Boy, was I right! I have way, way too much stuff.

Well finally after about 7 hours of shifting stuff around, cleaning and organizing, I’m finally situated in my new (much bigger!) room. There is still a pile of random bins and boxes in the middle of my floor that I need to find places for, but my bed is cleared off and most everything is in the right part of the room. I would say it’s a success. It’s going to take me a little while to get everything situated in my crafty corner, but once I do I’ll make sure to do another space video to show you how I have everything organized. Some things are going to be changing around for sure.

I wanted to stop in tonight to share this card that I made a little while back. I’ve just been waiting for the right time to share it. :) This is actually the card I worked on the Distress Ink Water technique (showed in my video tutorial Monday here two weeks ago). I love how the mermaid looks so happy and spunky! She’s my favorite.

And that water. I love it! I love distress ink.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two more things. First of all, all of the Jenni Bowlin inks are now back in stock at Simon Says Stamp. Make sure to pick them up while they’re hot! I’ve gotten several people asking me which inks they should start out with when first buying Jenni Bowlin inks, and I’ve come up with my top 5 (in this order):

1. Spice Tin – a fantastic navy. It’s my go-to neutral color for image outlines and sentiments on cards. It also works with Copics, too.
2. Malted Milk – this ink deserves a post all of its own. Basically, it’s the perfect “watermark” ink for cream cardstock. It’s a subtle but amazing effect, and you can not miss out on trying that out.
3. Speckled Egg – this may be a new color, but it’s already one of my favorites. I loooove this aqua color, and it’s great for a lot of different uses.
4. Stick Candy – this is one of my favorite colors in general, so this is a must-have for me. If you have a favorite color that’s represented in the inks, I suggest getting that to start out with as well (or instead). :)
5. Weather Vane – this is another new color, but I’m loving its neutrality and the fact that it’s not to dark. This will be perfect for making backgrounds and adding texture without being too “loud.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope this helps you pick out your first few colors! Honestly, I don’t really think you can do wrong here. At 5 dollars per ink, I doubt you’ll even regret buying one particular color. The quality is unmatched, and the colors are so pure and versatile. The best part? I’m telling you about these inks because I genuinely love them; I’m not a spokesperson for Ranger or anything like that. I just love them. Have any more questions about these inks? Just ask. :)

Lastly, I wanted to share a picture that I snapped this morning. You see, our livingroom (and my bedroom) is absolutely taken over by piles of things being moved around that don’t have places yet. Somehow, Trixie decided to bury herself down into a pile of Greg’s clothes and sleep in your usual spot on the couch. She seems completely undaunted by this mess. Haha!

Thanks for stopping by today. The first Young Crafters Unite! challenge goes live tonight, so I hope you’ll join us! I may be feeling under the weather, but I’m definitely still excited to share this challenge and the cards our DT has come up with. The DT is rocking my socks off, seriously. Yay! Since I’m feeling so sick today, I don’t think I’ll have enough energy to make a VTM, but you’ll have one in the next couple of days, promise.

Love,

Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 4:43 pm

    Mimi the mermaid is adorable and you certainly gave her style! Hope you feel better soon – relax, sleep, drink warm stuff and repeat! :)

  2. August 22, 2011 5:11 pm

    Super cute. Love the mermaid image! Love your coloring. And I totally agree about the Jenni Bowlin inks… I just ordered the new 3 and have all that you mentioned above but the navy! And I am excited to see your first challenge. I hope an old fart like me can play along! Get well friend!

    • August 24, 2011 2:03 pm

      Of course you can play along, dear! YCU is a celebration about how crafting brings us all together. :)

  3. August 22, 2011 6:10 pm

    Love the mermaid! The colors make me happy :o) Just ordered me some new JB inks too.

  4. August 22, 2011 6:13 pm

    You’re a spokesperson for Ranger? :)

  5. August 22, 2011 6:26 pm

    Beautiful card! Dang, I JUST placed a Simon Says Stamp order on Saturday and was bummed because I couldn’t get “chewing gum”, but I did order stick candy to add to my JB collection. Guess I’ll have to start a new shopping cart! :)

  6. August 22, 2011 7:02 pm

    my cat totally wigs out when there’s a mess and demands to go outside! LOL

  7. August 22, 2011 8:36 pm

    I absolutely LOVE this card! I need to try this – scrunching up the paper, then using the Distress inks on it. Keep forgetting. And Trixie looks adorable! She’s a crack up! And you take care of your very sore throat. Take lots of naps and eat some frozen fruit bars.

  8. August 23, 2011 3:18 am

    This effect is stunning. I would love to CASE the scrunched paper look.TFS

Leave a Reply

