Skip to content

Lawnscaping Challenge #16 – One Layer

August 14, 2011

Hello and happy Monday! It’s the third Monday of the month, so that means it’s time for another Lawnscaping Challenge. This week, we have a classic yet sometimes tricky cardmaking challenge: one layer.

We’re defining this as no additional layers of material – no fabric, paper, or felt. Basically, just you, your stamps and some ink. ;) This may lead you to mask, to distress or to add some stitching to your card for more dimension. Ah, I love a classic challenge like this! The lovely Jenni Bowlin is sponsoring us this week and has even donated some of her awesome inks and dabbers for the DT to use this week as well as a prize pack of product for the winner. {Find her products here at Simon Says Stamp.} Yippee!

You know I’m a ginormous fan of her inks, but I wanted to use Jenni’s paint this week to show you how awesome that is, too. Here’s what I came up with using my Jenni Bowlin paint dabbers:

I used post-it notes to mask off a thick line (about 1 1/8″ thick) across the bottom of the card and then worked my way across with more post-it notes to mask off rectangles. With the paint dabbers, it was easy to get just the right amount of product out without soaking through the masks. It worked like a charm! Then, I just made sure the paint was dry, embossed my letters from Quinn’s ABCs in white embossing powder and filled them in with Frosted Lace Stickles. I’m loving this look!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you’ll join us sometime in the next week or so and play along with this challenge! Make sure to go over to the Lawnscaping blog to link up to your post for a chance to win! Here are your links for this week:

Thanks so much for stopping by today! See you later today with this week’s Video Tutorial Monday. Hope your week starts off wonderfully!

Love,
Britta

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 8:41 am

    Oh love it! I literally just ordered Quinn’s ABC’s because I just love every project I see with them. I think for me this one is going to be a challenge, but one I am happy to accept. I love the bold color block you created with the paint dabbers. I have some that I NEED to use. And I like the stickles in the letters. I think that is what makes me love those letters so much, that you can color them in, or glitter them, or paper piece and they always look fabulous!

    • August 15, 2011 12:25 pm

      I agree. These letters rock! That, and LF could probably design a set about feet and I would most likely still love it (and I hate feet!). Hehe! Thanks for your sweet comment. :)

  2. August 15, 2011 5:30 pm

    Totally cute!! Love how you did this. Looks layered but not! SO creative

  3. August 15, 2011 10:36 pm

    I love how you used the paint dabbers. I have a few of the Ranger ones, but have not used them. Love the use of the glitter in the letters to make a little shimmer to the card!

Leave a Reply

