Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday 48 – Distress Ink Water

August 9, 2011

So I was playing around with distress inks this weekend and came up with something kind of cool. I’m not going to claim that this is all my idea, because for all I know I could’ve seen it somewhere else and replicated it without conscious thought. But I like it and I wanted to share. :) So I present to you how to make water from distress ink! Here’s the finished card for this week:

And the close up. Love the visual texture here. So much depth with just ink! It never ceases to amaze me what those inks are capable of.

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you enjoyed this (somewhat delayed) Video Tutorial Monday. I’ve also been playing around with another technique that I want to share with Distress Inks, but it needs a little tweaking still. Hopefully I’ll be able to share that soon! I’m excited for this week because it means my first one as a real summer week with no class. Yippee! Already from just one day of work I can tell that everything is so much easier now without the stresses of classes constantly weighing on me.

Oh, and I’m going to take some nice pictures of my pottery projects today and will share them with you tomorrow. I know several of you have been wondering how that went. :) Thanks so much for stopping by today!

Love,
Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 12:13 pm

    Love it! going to file that technique away in my “must try” file.

  2. August 9, 2011 12:56 pm

    another great card and video! i saved this tutorial to my favorites and will definitely be trying it out.

    versafine ink is my go-to ink anytime i want a precise image. it’s worked perfectly with all my detailed stamps (on a mouse pad) and embosses perfectly too. instead of buying different colors of detail embossing powder, i use my black versafine ink to stamp my image/sentiment and then use whatever color embossing powder i have on hand. it’s so versatile and works every time.

  3. August 9, 2011 1:09 pm

    This card is ADORABLE! I love it! Thanks for the tip on scrunching up the paper, that adds a lot to the card. And the tips on the Distress Inks. You need to get the Distress Stains! LOL! I got the new colors of the Stains last week. Used them with the Distress Wrinkle Free technique and it came out so nice. Was using the Reinkers for it before which is why I didn’t think I “needed” the Stains, but I am loving these Stains!! LOL!

  4. August 9, 2011 1:10 pm

    As usual, I love the card and this new technique is just awesome. I will have to try it out when I have a little more distress inks on hand.

    Thanks.

  5. August 9, 2011 1:32 pm

    You are a genius miss! I will definitely try it. Also — just sent you a belated a e-mail! :-)

  6. yainea permalink
    August 9, 2011 6:36 pm

    Beautiful! I love this new technique, I’ll have to try it :) Thanks

  7. August 9, 2011 6:37 pm

    So darling! You are right about the inks and this background is SO pretty!

  8. August 10, 2011 12:38 am

    Thanks Britta. I loved the card design. I have tried to use Distress Inks and I sprayed with water and blotted the paper, then heat gunned it. I have also done it where I sprayed my own creation of glimmer mist on the paper and heat gunned it again….(Honestly? too much work for the effect. haha)

    Have a good one.
    Naomi

  9. Froggietalks (Karen G) permalink
    August 12, 2011 7:28 pm

    I am so glad you like the Versafine Britta. I wasn’t sure if it did Copics or not, but on a detailed stamp, the Versafine cannot be beat :) Love the card, and the critters.. too cute. I also like the way you did the colour graduation of the blues and greens, it’s very cool. I will have to try that sometime.

Trackbacks

  1. Beach card using Lawn Fawn and Tim Holtz galore! « Paper Crafts by Laurel
  2. This Little Mermaid Has Some Serious Style. « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

