Skip to content

Last Weekend.

August 7, 2011

I’m loving this whole “no class” thing so much. Friday was stressful with a million things to do at work, but as soon as I got home I kicked up my feet and relaxed. Since Friday afternoon, I have took multiple naps, watched some really random tv and have made several cards for things other than design team assignments. It’s awesome! So although I have quite a few things I need to do (like answer e-mails… ehem…), they can wait until Monday. I’m on summer vacation now, and silly things like that can wait another day or so!

I wanted to stop by and share this card I made with the brand new (to me at least… it’s been out for a couple of months) Critters on the Farm set. I couldn’t wait to play with this set, especially since the cute little cow reminds me of home in Wisconsin. It’s therefore the perfect image for a “miss you” card to send to my parents.

Here’s the close-up. I used my Tim Holtz design ruler to line up and pierce the stitching holes. How did I live without this thing before? It rocks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was looking through my pictures on computer and saw these from last weekend. My parents came up for a quick visit on Saturday and Sunday, and I wanted to share our fun adventures. It was so nice to seem them! Note: click on any of the pictures to see them at a larger size.

When my parents first arrived, we hung out in my living room for a bit. They told me a story about the drama around the house over the last week or so. Apparently, my 19-year-old brother discovered a “little leak” downstairs late one evening and thought it to be of not enough importance to wake up my parents. So he left the above note on the kitchen counter. Well, the next morning my mom went down to discover that the entire area around the stairs was completely soaked with water. She fixed the leak and got most of the water up (including out of our brand new carpet) and then had a nice talk with my brothers about what categorizes a “pressing concern.” Hahaha! My brother cracks me up.

Then we went to my mom’s favorite place to go in the cities (and I’m certainly not complaining, either), Ikea. I had some Swedish meatballs and we got to shopping. I’m loving this dark purple color lately. The new catalogue just came out and I can’t wait to flip through it soon!

Other things that I spotted and loved were hexagon mirrors, dishes inspired by traditional pottery (which I’ve been totally into lately after learning how much work goes into handmade pottery… a lot) and this awesome print with bright colors and a cool illustration style. Ikea always is so inspiring to me.

On the way back into the city to check in to their hotel, we drove in on 35W from the south. This happens to be my most favorite view of the city possible. Usually when I see it I’m driving, but this time I got the chance to snap a picture. At night, this scene takes my breath away every time.

Off we went to dinner at the Rock Bottom Brewery. We all had super yummy steaks, and I tried some of their in-house red ale. I’m all for microbrews… I’m kind of a beer nerd and love it. :)

The next morning, my mom wanted to check out a cute store only a couple miles from my house in Northeast called Crafty Planet. The people there were super nice, and the selection of cute fabric was unbelievable. I helped my mom pick out new fabrics for her bags (and she’s already made some! You can buy them at her etsy shop, Heart in Hand Bags. Use the code “happyaugust” for free shipping.) They also have things for embroidery, knitting and teach classes as well. I picked up some embroidery things and am hoping to start a new project soon.

Bright colors, gorgeous patterns and yarn sorted by color? Yes, please.

Before my parents headed back home, I insisted on going to eat at Brasa. It’s my favorite restaurant within walking distance from my house, and everything they serve there is the best thing ever. I’m not kidding. If you’re ever in the cities, you need to stop here and get their shredded pork or shredded beef sandwich. They are pieces of heaven. Oh, and their chips and guac kick some serious butt, too.

I dream of their food. Not kidding.

Hope you enjoyed the little recap of my weekend with my parents! I’m hoping to do more of these in the future. You know, when I go out and be a real person and do exciting things. :) Thanks for stopping by today and I hope you’re having a fantastic weekend so far! Be back soon with more fun things. Hint: I played with my distress inks today. You’re going to like this! ;)

Love,
Britta

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2011 5:15 am

    Sounds like you’ve been having some great time to kick back ;)
    Take it easy and enjoy yourself! Avocado is just food from the gods – I love it – now my mouth is watering!!
    Love the cute cow card too – can’t wait to see what else you’ve got up your sleeves with some crafty makes, including embroidery ;)
    Rx

  2. August 7, 2011 7:50 am

    This is adorable Britta, I love to stitch on my cards as well. I agree I think the Tim Holtz Design Ruler is fantastic!

  3. August 7, 2011 10:56 am

    I love that card! So stinkin cute! Thanks for taking us on your visit! Sounds really nice. My parents live in Ukraine for 9 mo out of the year and we are here in Colorado so we love our visits too, always out to find good food too!

  4. August 7, 2011 11:04 am

    Your cow card is adorable! I love that Lawn Fawn set. The Crafty Planet store looks like fun! So colorful with all the pretty fabrics. That is funny about the water leaking and your brother’s reaction. If you had been there, you would have gotten the folks up!

  5. August 7, 2011 1:01 pm

    Hi Brit,
    Aw that’s a cute little card :)
    Just wanted to say, thank you so much for sending me my prize. I got it in the post a couple of days ago, and the card you sent was lovely, too – it’s on display as an example of a ‘proper’ card (I like the American standard-sized cards way better than the UK sizes)!!!

    I’m setting to work trying to think of what to make with my lovely new stamp set :) Let’s see what I come up with, now that I have my mojo back!

    Thanks for sharing your time with your folks with us! And looking forward to seeing what you’ve distressed!!!

    Tasha x

  6. August 7, 2011 1:51 pm

    Britta,
    thank you for sharing your photos and the stories (of your brother- ha!). I am amazed of the photo approaching the city. Where are the cars? You appear to be on a 3 lane highway and THERE ARE NO CARS??? I only see that on tv commercials. HOLY COW!
    (You wouldn’t see that in LA unless they closed the streets down).

    Enjoy your time and relax!!!!

    I’ve got an order pending to Simon Say Stamps– for Penny Black stamps. I do like those stamps. (the dancing cows series are to die for!)

    naomi

  7. August 7, 2011 7:45 pm

    Oh wow, this is sooooooooooooooooo cute!!!! Love how simple and sweet this is!! Ya know, I should check my gReader more often. It’s been months and it’s such a treat to open and see this :) I hope you’re having a great relaxing time still!!! Take care and oh, love the pics you shared too!!!

  8. August 8, 2011 12:28 pm

    Hi Britta! This card is CAS perfection! LOVE! I’m happy to hear you’re relaxing when you can, it’s important! God bless :)

Leave a Reply

