Skip to content

Lawnscaping #15: Distressing!

July 31, 2011

Welcome to another week of Lawnscaping. I’m super excited about this challenge (sorry, I know I say that about a lot of the challenges, but I really do mean it… ha!) because its theme very near and dear to my heart… distressing!

This week, I chose to go the more shabby chic route, but you know that I’m all about distressing in all sorts of ways. (Distress Inks for example. Hehe! You can download my e-book No-Stress Distress Inks here, by the way.) I used my Tim Holtz edge distresser + Pumice Stone Distress Ink on almost all of the edges on this card to add to the shabby look. Here’s what I came up with:

The stitching on this card took a long time, but I think the final effect is worth it for sure. I stamped the largest flower from Lawn Fawn’s Judy’s Blooms in grey memento ink, pierced holes and sewed over it. The flower wasn’t highlighted enough from the card for my liking, so I applied a couple of layers of paint to the petals (it was a mixture of water, white paint and Malted Milk paint for the perfect light cream wash).

Supplies used on the card:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you’ll play along with us this week at Lawnscaping! If you make a card using distressing + some Lawn Fawn stamps, you’ll have the opportunity to win this from our fabulous sponsor, Simon Says Stamp:

Challenge links:

See you over at the Lawnscaping blog! Thank you for stopping by today. Mwah!

Love,
Britta

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 11:57 pm

    love the circles! gorgeous card.

  2. August 1, 2011 12:34 am

    Wow, that is a LOT of stitching! Kudos to you for doing that! Lovely card. Can’t wait to see another video from you. :) Any PTI hauls to share? Hehe. :)

  3. Verna Friend permalink
    August 1, 2011 5:03 am

    Your card is beautiful–love the stitching! Verna

  4. Gabby permalink
    August 1, 2011 6:34 am

    Fab card! Love the sketch and the papers, the distressing and your awesome stitching! Very good-lookin’! :)

  5. August 1, 2011 6:49 am

    Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. And that stitching is AMAZING!!!!!!! (PS. Don’t forget to add Vera to your DT list, tee hee)…….. Love your work as always1

  6. August 1, 2011 8:44 am

    Wow, just wow! Look at that stitching! Fab-u-lous! Pumice stone is on my wishlist, it works perfect with your papers. I love the look you created here with the different circles of paper for the background. Okay I admit it, I have a thing for circles. :)

  7. August 1, 2011 10:29 am

    This is AMAZING, Britta! That flower and the paint and the stitching… oh my goodness. It’s all so fabulous! Totally rocked my world this morning.

  8. August 1, 2011 10:57 am

    Wow, this is gorgeous, Britta! Love the stitching.

  9. August 1, 2011 11:01 am

    Beautiful, Britta! Reminds me of a comfy quilt! :)

  10. August 1, 2011 11:55 am

    Holy smokes! This blows my mind! That stitched flower is AMAZING!! So so pretty! And the sentiment and all the circles are so pretty! This is just a fabulous card, Britta, maybe my favorite from you so far and that’s saying a lot since you’re work is amazing!

  11. August 1, 2011 1:43 pm

    Ouuuu! This card has me freaking out. LOVE the stitching on the collage. Drool!

  12. August 1, 2011 8:44 pm

    This is gorgeous! I LOVE what you did with this card. Love the stitching! Say hi to Trixie!

  13. August 2, 2011 9:37 pm

    Another stunning card

Trackbacks

  1. DeNami Sketch Challenge #9! « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

