Skip to content

Back to the Distress Inks :)

July 28, 2011

The other day, my sweet friend Chari tweeted about a card set she was making. I told her that I thought it was really cute and looked forward to her blog post about it. Well, the other day she posted about that awesome card set, and I was so inspired! This project rocks! So last night when I had some time to sit down and play, I knew I had to make something inspired by her card set. I grabbed some new Penny Black stamps that I just picked up and came up with this:

The background is blended with Shabby Shutters then Peeled Paint around the edges. Then I stamped the background stamp over it in Peeled Paint. For the image, I embossed the image on white cardstock in clear embossing powder (this entire card started out as white cardstock). Then I inked over the image with Shabby Shutters and again darkened the edges with Peeled Paint. I’m in love with this look and will definitely do this again soon. :)

Supplies used on this card:

As of tonight, my ceramics project is FINALLY completed and in the kiln ready to be bisque fired. I have pictures to share with you (and will have more once it’s actually glazed), but I’m off to bed for the night right now. It’s been a wonderful, happy, summery day today. Last night, I stayed up super late crafting and Jake and I started talking. Before we knew it, it was 4:30 in the morning… so we decided to stay up and go to Al’s Breakfast right after it opened at 6. (Al’s Breakfast is a big deal around here; it was featured in Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives a couple years ago and is blocks away from my house.) So we went to breakfast (it was our first time there and it was delicious, by the way) and fell asleep around 8:30 am. So needless to say, I slept all day and woke up with just a little time to get things done before my night class. Here’s a picture I snapped at Al’s. I wish I would’ve taken a few more, but I was too tired to think of it! Such a crazy, fun place. I love it.

Happy almostfriday! It’s practically the weekend, and that makes me happy. This week was stressful and I’m pumped to relax and get fun things done. Thank you so much for stopping by today!

Love,
Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabby permalink
    July 29, 2011 12:54 am

    Great card! I love distress inks and cannot keep my hands off of them! Glad you’re lovin ’em too! :) I was lucky enough to have a cool diner in the town where I grew up. The ambiance was fantastic. Believe it or not, we also had a “real” soda fountain at an old, old drug store. And if that wasn’t enough, we also had “real” Woolworths 5c & Dime store! Great memories! Wishing you many more fun experiences at Al’s! :)

  2. July 29, 2011 6:29 am

    Pretty card! I love shabby shutters it is one of my favorite Distress Ink colors.

  3. July 29, 2011 6:45 am

    Love love that card! I really need to try some of these techniques you are sharing! Why don’t you come over and we can stamp together missy? :)

  4. July 29, 2011 10:03 am

    Al’s Breakfast FTW! We were just there when we went to Minneapolis a couple of weekends ago and it was divine!

    Also, the card rocks as per usual! You are a wizard with those distress inks. :-)

  5. July 29, 2011 10:39 am

    your card is great- love it! Al’s is on my list!!

  6. July 29, 2011 12:32 pm

    Fantastic! Oh I love it! Don’t you just love when the card starts out all white and you create something so amazing with just ink? Very very cool. I feel so honored that you were inspired by my card set. I just makes me glow with happiness. I am starting to try more things with distress inks, and I need to experiment with the stains too, I have a bunch on my desk that I need to dive into. Thanks for the inspiring work of art, and I can’t wait to see your pottery project! :)

  7. July 29, 2011 10:41 pm

    Beautiful card Britta! I love the Distress inks. I also am finding I like the Distress Stains. I have 3 bottles of it and have played with them a little and like them.

  8. July 30, 2011 12:38 pm

    Gorgeous card – your inking rocks ;)
    I think the inspiration thing is catching… my card for today was inspired by you! Thanks, Rx

  9. July 31, 2011 4:35 am

    This is totally cute Brit – it would be awesome as a set in different colours! I love the PB backgrounds, just so cool.

  10. Judy permalink
    July 31, 2011 10:13 pm

    Awesome card. I recently found your blog. I love Al’s diner. I use to have a prepaid card there.

  11. August 5, 2011 10:51 pm

    This card is so pretty! I love the green on green!!

Leave a Reply

