Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday 46 – Highlighting Pretty Patterns

July 25, 2011

Everyone knows that part of what makes our hobby so fun is the shopping. The new paper, the sound of fresh crinkly wrappers and the possibilities in front of you when you get new products are part of the rush of papercrafting. I love it! So therefore, when I got my post recent order in the mail from Simon Says Stamp this weekend, I had to sit down and use things right away. Two of the things I’m most excited about made it into this video. These brand new Pool Layering Papers from Hero Arts:

And this Out of Print 6 by 6 paper pad from Basic Grey:

Yes, it’s super yummy and I love it. Here’s the card I made for today:

It’s really all about showing off the paper here, but you know I couldn’t go without adding a little bit of flair. That’s where the silver embossing, stitching and pearls come in. :)

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

Supplies used on this card:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Note: I used Prima’s E Line pearls in the video, but they seem to have been discontinued. I’m currently on the hunt for a good supply of silver pearls. Anyone have any suggestions?

I hope you enjoy this week’s VTM. It was a fun one to make! This post is going up rather late in the day; I’ve been super productive today and have been up and doing things since 8:30 am. Woohoo! That means much less stress throughout the rest of the week for me.

Now if only my ceramics project would just do itself. I’m having issues coming up with a concept for it… nothing feels “right” to me. That’s the hardest part of art for me. With hardly any limitations, I find it really hard to drive myself to do something I really want to do. It’s hard to explain. That’s why, when I make a card or a layout, I usually start out with a main goal like “use new product” or “use this stamp set.” The challenge is what I thrive on.

In case you feel like suggesting an idea or two for my project, the goal is to create an interpretation of a architectural piece in clay (handbuilt). It has to be at least a foot in one direction, and I think I want to do something that’s more geometric in shape than organic-looking. It’s not allowed to be solely a functional piece (so no vases or anything like that). Sigh. Back to the drawing board. I’m bound to come up with something! Quick, to Pinterest! ;)

Hope your week is starting out wonderfully. I have lots of fun things to share with you this week and hope to have another video for you as well. (All About Stamping, I hope! I have more videos planned but need the time to film them.) See you back again soon. Thanks for stopping by today!

Love,
Britta

P.S. – Happy birthday, Mom! I love you so much and wish I was home with you to celebrate today… or this whole week. :) Mwah!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 12:09 am

    I love your card and the stitching you did! And love that Out of Print paper. Take a look at these. They don’t look like the silver pearls you have from Prima. http://www.simonsaysstamp.com/servlet/the-20369/*Hero-Arts-40-Assorted/Detail
    These look more shiny and not really pearls. Kinda hard to tell from the picture.

  2. July 26, 2011 2:36 am

    Amazing card Britta. Love the stitching too.

  3. July 26, 2011 6:52 am

    It is nice to see you use paper as the focus. I have plenty but sometimes just sit there flipping through papers without any inspiration for it. I don’t have a ton of stamps and no (gasp!) Copic markers, so when those are key elements I just drool … The Basic Grey set looks intriguing, I’ll check it out. Great video, as always! ~Denise

  4. July 26, 2011 8:43 am

    Love the stitching and the way you featured the patterned paper, I love pattern paper pads but sometimes have trouble figuring out how to use some of those beautiful bold patterns. This is a great idea, I am going to have to try it. And the stitching is such a feature! I am glad you went with the cross stitching, it made it very bold. Very nice card, sweet and simple. Good luck on your pottery project. Let me know if you need me to dispense any architecture advice. That is a pretty broad subject. I was going to say you could focus on a piece that is more ornamental like a column capitol or stone carvings, but if you want something more geometric then perhaps base it on an interestingly shaped building like Falling Water. I also thought of the Notre Dame du Haut, or Ronchamp, designed by Le Corbusier. Although parts of the building are very organic there is a very cool wall with an interesting pattern of windows cut into it. Do a google search for “Ronchamp” and you will get some pics that show it. I’ve also always had a liking for the Art Deco style as well, like the top of the Crystal building in NYC. There are great patterns you can find in that style.

    • July 26, 2011 12:41 pm

      Thank you SO much for your input, dear! I should’ve thought of you when I got this project assigned and asked right away. :) One of my friends is actually doing a rendition of Falling Water, so you’re right on there. Thanks for the tip on Ronchamp; I googled it and it’s exactly the direction I want to go in. Awesome! Thanks so much for the help. I’ll definitely show you how it turns out!

  5. Maria McClure permalink
    July 26, 2011 10:16 am

    In that case, I CHALLENGE you to create a ceramic wall hanging using your modern basics card (from April 21) as inspiration. I was thinking of something along the lines of Falling Water and see that Chari beat me to making the suggestion! Please make sure to post a photo of the finished project!!!

    • July 26, 2011 12:42 pm

      Thank you for the challenge! :) I like the idea of building something off of the Modern Basics card. I’m going to use that as inspiration for my project and see what I come up with. I will definitely share when completed. Thanks so much!

  6. Debbie permalink
    July 26, 2011 6:29 pm

    I really like the simplicity of this card. And thanks for showing the stitching – I like that pattern. Good luck with the project!

Leave a Reply

