Skip to content

Simon Says Stamp Challenges… my first on the team!

July 20, 2011

That’s right, I have an announcement:

I’m joining the Simon Says Stamp Challenge design team!

The challenge blog has a challenge posted every Wednesday, and sooo many people play along. In fact, they had more than a thousand entries for the most recent challenge. That’s amazing!

I’m super excited to be part of this fabulous, diverse team and can’t wait to see what’s in store. We’re here to promote Simon Says Stamp and really show you what you can do with items that Simon Says sells.

The challenge for this week is to use newspaper on your card. Here’s what I came up with:

I wanted to create my own “newspaper,” so I used the happy definition stamp from Hero Arts and stamped it in JBS Malted Milk ink, JBS Brown Sugar ink and Vintage Photo Distress Ink. I added lots of layers of browns and stamping to add a vintage look to the card. This is a little departure from my usual style, but I like how it ended up.

Supplies used on this card:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make sure to head on over to the Simon Says Stamp challenge blog to see what the rest of the DT has created and to play along yourself. Oh, and my sweet friend Joy is joining the team as of today, too! By linking up to your creation, you’ll have the chance to win this:

Yes that’s right- a $50 gift certificate to Simon Says Stamp. Not too shabby. ;)

Thanks for letting me share my joy of joining this new team; I hope you look forward to my challenge post each Wednesday and will join us over at the challenge blog.

Happy Wednesday! We’re halfway done with the week and I’m halfway done with my responsibilities. Woot woot! Yesterday was officially the hottest day in Minnesota history (123* F with the heat index in one part of Minnesota), and thank goodness for my little window air conditioner plugging away. I’ve managed to stay cool (and busy!) and hope that the rest of my crafty buddies in hot places around the world are staying cool as well. This summer is brutal so far. Oy. Dreaming for the days of fall and sweatshirt weather. Sweatshirt weather is my favorite. :)

Love,
Britta

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 2:14 am

    Congratulations on gettin on the DT Britta! I look forward to seeing you DT creations for Simon Says in the future =)

  2. Alyna permalink
    July 20, 2011 2:42 am

    Congats on your getting to the dt. hope its a wonderful experience for you. your card is nice. hugs
    Alyna

  3. July 20, 2011 2:54 am

    Congratulations Britta. Looking forward to seeing your creations. This card is gorgeous.

  4. July 20, 2011 3:12 am

    I have come to see you from Lorraines blog and wow glad I have, Congrats on your new DT post you will be a great source of inspiration and look forward to seeing your creations too! :0)

    LOVE the above card so cool! great job! :0)

  5. July 20, 2011 4:03 am

    Congratulations Britta. Simon Says Stamps are lucky to have you on their DT :-)

    I hope you will still have time to create your amazing videos to show us how you create your cards.

  6. July 20, 2011 4:38 am

    Gorgeous card Britta :-) I have that Hero Art definition stamp and never thought to use it like this !! Brilliant idea !! totally perfect creation ! :-)

    Welcome to the team and to the Simon Says Stamp family :-)

    luv
    Lols x x x

    p.s , I couldn’t find a photo of you so I pinched one of Trixie instead :-) Maybe we can change it later ,,, :-) xx

  7. July 20, 2011 8:15 am

    Yay! Congrats! That’s so exciting! I’m thrilled for you!

  8. July 20, 2011 10:43 am

    Congrats you deserve it!!! I check out your blog daily and get your news feeds. I love your work and your videos…you ROCK! Have fun on the Design Team….
    hugs,jen

  9. Chris permalink
    July 20, 2011 12:20 pm

    Hey, that is exciting news for you….many congrats….love shopping at Simon Says so it will be exciting to see what great ideas you may have for us….

  10. July 20, 2011 12:37 pm

    Oh, Britta, I love this card!!! Congratulations on being part of the DT at Simon Says Stamp Challenge!

  11. July 20, 2011 1:18 pm

    I’m with you on the sweatshirt weather!!…I’m in southern Michigan and it is in the 90’s with heat indexes in the100’s…I would give anything for sweatshirt weather!!…LOL!!

    Love your work…just found your blog…really enjoying your videos!!

  12. July 20, 2011 2:20 pm

    Great card Britta – love your vintagey vibe ;)
    Can’t wait to see more treats from you for Simon Says!
    Stay cool, Rx

  13. July 20, 2011 2:34 pm

    Congratulations Britta! And I love that card! Love what you did with that doily stamp. You can escape the heat in the Seattle area. It’s in the 60’s. We had 85 for a few days the first week of July, but we’ve still been in this late spring, early fall weather of 58 to upper 60’s during the day or low 70’s, cloudy and we have had rain. Supposed to rain tomorrow. But next week is supposed to get nice. But we hear that every week…. But don’t want to complain because you and everyone else is in that dreadful heat index! Stay cool and keep that Trixie cool! Say, I colored some Hug Snug seam binding ribbon with Distress reinkers. I tried the Distress Stain (one color), but I like the Distress reinkers better for coloring and scrunching up seam binding. I usually buy from an Etsy seller, but thought it would be fun to color my own. It’s fun and doesn’t take long at all.

  14. Debbie permalink
    July 20, 2011 5:25 pm

    Congrats and well deserved!

  15. Tina permalink
    July 21, 2011 12:42 am

    Congratulations! You deserve this spot and I look forward to see your cards on their blog.

  16. July 21, 2011 12:32 pm

    Congratulations! Love the card, I think that background my be on my wishlist. You did a beautiful job! I love the little blue pearls the most.

  17. July 26, 2011 6:40 pm

    Beautiful card! So glad to find your blog through the SSS announcement. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

