Skip to content

DeNami Product Spotlight: M47 Large Bold Hibiscus

July 13, 2011

This is a month of firsts for me with this being my first month on the wonderful DeNami Design team as a contributing designer, and today is no exception. Twice a month, DeNami features one of their stamps on their blog and the DT shows off ways to use it for your inspiration. The stamp of the week this time around is the M47 Large Bold Hibiscus (10% off all this week!). Here’s what it looks like:

And here’s what I came up with:

I stamped the flowers down in Spice Tin JBS ink, colored over them in with copics and then colored over that with colored pencils. I learned this fab technique from Kathy Nakata on the Young Crafters Unite blog hop last week. She actually learned the technique from Ellen Hutson, and I love the idea of combining two of my favorite coloring mediums! I need to practice a bit more with this look, but I love the possibilites here.

Supplies used on this card:

Thank you very much for stopping by today! Make sure to go check out the DeNami Design blog for more inspiration from the fabulous design team. They rock!

Love,
Britta

P.S. I wanted to say a huge, heartfelt thanks to all that read and/or commented on my last post. It warms my heart to see that so many have such a grand appreciation for life and realize its possibilities. Sometimes it takes life-altering moments of epic proportions that make us come to this, and I’m pray that we can all take away love from even the darkest times. Thank you all so much. I love you!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabby permalink
    July 13, 2011 4:12 am

    Beautiful, bold flowers with darling center pearls! Nice card, Birtta. I am very happy to read of your new-found look upon and love of life. What they say … “it’s all in the moments” is absolutely certain! :)

  2. July 13, 2011 7:02 am

    Oooh, I love it! I had actually been eyeing these hibiscus stamps, they remind me of Hawaii and I NEED to make an album with honeymoon pics! These are so pretty and colorful. So glad you are featuring this stamp. BTW, sorry I had not commented on your last post (I did read it!) so I will tell you now that I’m so happy you have found a new positive outlook on life. It sucks that it takes tragedy or almost tragedies to make us realize that life is to precious to waste. So happy you are okay too! Those close calls really have an effect on us. Thanks for another beautiful card!

  3. July 13, 2011 9:52 am

    Ooooo LOVE this card, Britta! This is a technique I have been seeing more of and I want to try it! :) I also read what has been going on with you and your household and I am SO glad to see things are looking up for you! Life is what you make of it and you can’t control anyone but you – so enjoy every minute! xo

  4. July 13, 2011 10:41 am

    Oh Britta, LOVE your card! And now you see how the Copics and then the shading with pencils over does make it more vibrant. It’s amazing! I still marvel at this technique. It’s a little more work, but the results are always so fun to see. I am so glad you are doing well. One of my cousins had a bad accident some years back. She is an instructor for One Stroke Painting (Donna Dewberry) and was driving back from Vegas to Los Angeles where she lives. She was sleepy and should have stayed in a motel, but drove and fell asleep at the wheel on one of those deserted highways from Vegas to LA. Car was totalled. But strangely, no scratches, no broken bones, nothing. She survived. The only thing that happened was that her wedding ring came off and they found it on the floor of the car. I told her, someone was looking out for you. It was not your time to go! I do think that we learn and change when we go thru difficult things. As hard as it is, I guess there is always a lesson for us. But getting back to you card, the flowers are just bursting with color. Love what you did!

  5. July 13, 2011 7:19 pm

    Hi Britta! This is so so pretty!!! WOW! Love the fabulously colored hibiscus! GORGEOUS!

  6. July 17, 2011 4:54 pm

    Gorgeous card! I love those coloured flowers – as soon as I give in and succumb to buying Copic’s I’ll definitely be trying this technqiue ;)
    Rx

Trackbacks

  1. Linky Wednesday! « Contemplations Of a Housewife

Leave a Reply

