Skip to content

Double Video Tutorial Monday Day!

July 11, 2011

Things have been a bit out of sorts around here, so it’s time to get them back on track. So therefore today is a double VTM day! I had never missed a week before, so I figured I would post two this week to make up for it. :)

I’m going to break this post up into three parts, VTM 43, VTM 44 and a personal update. So it may get a little long, but thanks for sticking with me. There’s so much I want to say and so little time in life!

Video Tutorial Monday  43 – Lawn Fawn + Sew Easy

I made this card to send off to my sweet friend Latrice (shhhh Latrice – you have to at least pretend to be surprised if you see this!) because she just had the most adorable baby boy. I couldn’t resist using some Lawn Fawn to make a cute card for them. Here’s the card:

I had fun using my Sew Easy tool to make the scallops. You can watch the video to see how I did it. :)

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

 

Supplies used on this card:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Video Tutorial Monday 44 – Tim Holtz Products

I received an overstuffed package from Simon Says Stamp on Saturday containing my winnings from their Win it on Wednesday contest on twitter last week and instantly fell in love with this ruler tape. So when I went to make something with it, I naturally pulled out several other Tim Holtz things that I love. Here’s what I came up with:

Love that ribbon! I apologize in advance if I start using it on everything now… hehe.

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

 

Supplies used on this card:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What’s Been Going on with Me

I’m doing very well! I’m happy, fairly healthy and am having a ton of fun hanging out with some new friends and some old friends. I’ve been keeping up in my classes and design teams, and I’m celebrating all that God has given me to celebrate. In short, life is fantastic. Life is frantic, a little overwhelming and busy, but it’s still fantastic.

Two weeks ago, I nearly avoided being struck by a car running a red light at 50 mph about 4 blocks away from my house. It shook me to my core… my life flashed before my eyes. That’s never happened to me before. I didn’t see the person that almost t-boned my car exactly where I was sitting. There’s just something that tells me in my heart of hearts that I honestly wouldn’t be here today if I would’ve stepped on the gas two seconds faster. Although I have no physical scars (or even a dent on my car) from the incident, it left a mark on my heart. Since that moment, I’ve made an actual effort to live my life as a better person – one that speaks my mind, jokes around with friends more often and I’ve stopped taking life so stressfully. Because you know what? I could be gone any second, and I want to know that I’ve done everything I can to be happy.

And guess what? I’m happy. The happiest I’ve ever been. In the last two weeks, I’ve met new boys. I’ve liked new boys. I’ve cried because of new boys. I’ve gone on random adventures on a whim or a craving of food. I’ve become a lot closer to my roommate, Jake, and am so happy that I have such an amazing person in my life to share this process with. It’s crazy to think that I’ve lived with this guy for ten months and had never really connected with him until a few months ago. I’m so grateful for that friendship. I saw my first big waterfall. I drank out of my first box of wine (not sure if this was a high point or a low point… haha). I’m just… grateful. For everything.

I wanted to share some pictures from the last few weeks. These are memories that will always trigger thoughts of the best summer of my life. (Click on them for a better view – there are more pictures in this album than in this post, so click on one and you can see them all.)

I went to the a Twins/ Brewers game with Jake and four of his friends from the college he went to before he transfered here. I had only met one of them before their trip up, but we had a total blast. (Below top: Matt, Jake, Adam, bottom: Tom, Me and Steve.)

Oh, and it was THE BEST GAME OF MY LIFE. Magical. As a both a Brewers and Twins fan, it was a little conflicting for me… but I cheered for the Brewers because they’re my home state team. And they came back to win it in the top of the 9th inning when they were once trailing by 7 runs. It was unbelievable. Pure euphoria.

And the cat sleeps in funny positions. :) The guys visiting also loved her. I wish I could’ve recorded the way Tom talked to her… kind of like a mixture of Daffy Duck and baby talk. It was hilarious. He later tried to sneak her into his duffle bag to take her home… haha.

The 4th of July was my first one ever in a big city. The fireworks were incredible. So many people! I got to spend the night with some good friends (Patrice, Jake and Kenny, above) And the skyline was illuminated by the flashes of joy. So pretty.

The 35W bridge (the one that collapsed in 2007 and was rebuilt in memorial of the souls lost) was even decorated to celebrate America. I love it.

Oh yeah, and there were fireworks.

I’ve also had a pretty fun time chilling out on bar patios. Below is a pretty classic picture of some of my favorite people. (Jake, Kenny, Alex – nice face, and Greg.) Can you tell I like hanging out with guys? Haha.

This picture is my favorite, even though it’s blurry. Love.

I’ve also been spending a lot of time in the pottery studio. (I took a whole bunch of pictures here that I’ll post later.) I love the glaze sample wall. It’s so colorful and organized.

I swear she was sleeping like this. Then when she saw that we were taking pictures of her, she totally hammed it up. She looooves the attention.

Last night, Jake and I were craving fish tacos, so we went to Sea Salt, a restaurant in the middle of Minnehaha park. Everything about last night was perfect. I even saw my first real waterfall:

The menu is one big chalkboard with amazing style and decoration.  I wish I was that amazing with chalk!

My loves… I’ve been dreaming of these things ever since I finished dinner.

And I even got Jake to try the fried calamari. It was sooooo yummy.

Whew! So that’s what’s been going on with me in the last week and a half. It’s July, and I’ve already had more fun in the last 11 days than I have this entire year. And I love it. I’m living.

Be back soon with more to share! If you made it through that entire post, I commend you and you rock. Haha!

Love,
Britta

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 5:21 pm

    I was recently in a car accident that had some of those same effects on me. I’ve been looking at everything more positively and trying to see the sunshine in everything. Sad that it took something bad to make something good, but I’m feeling like I’m on the right track and oh so happy.

    I’m so happy you are doing great as well! I miss college oh so much, so be sure to savor your time. It will go by SUPER fast.

  2. July 11, 2011 5:51 pm

    Britta,
    So glad you are enjoying life. And you are so right there is nothing worth getting overwhelmed with. I just had heart surgery 2 weeks ago and I start chemo next week. I am not upset, just thrilled to have another chance:) Every moment is precious. I love scrapbooking because it gives me a chance to tell my story, but it also allows me to relieve the little moments that were the most precious. Continue to take time to smell the flowers-they are a precious part of life!

  3. July 11, 2011 6:19 pm

    I made it through and read every word! I am so glad you are happy! And I’m really glad you didn’t step on that gas pedal!!! Sounds like you are having so much fun! Soak it in!! That’s advice from an old married mom! Those times in your life are so important!

    I do love that card! Such a fun design! Latrice will love it!!

  4. July 11, 2011 7:40 pm

    Britta, what amazing, fun adventures you’ve had in the past two weeks! I’m so glad that you are so happy! It often takes an event like that to make us realize how lucky we are to have to life that we have. I’m a cancer survivor, and I can tell you that before I was diagnosed I was high strung and often very unhappy. After I was diagnosed when I was 21, it changed me for the better. I’m 100% healthy now but I learned never to take life for granted or to sweat EVERY small little thing. It’s made me so much more happy and calm. Also right after I was healthy again, I had the BEST year of my life in which I met my soul mate and many of our amazing friends that we still hold dear today. =) So just be prepared because it only gets better from here! =) Thanks for sharing!!!!

    PS – the cards and videos are fabulous too!

  5. July 11, 2011 8:28 pm

    Trixie is one laid back kitty! The way she sleeps tells me that. What a crack up she is! Thanks for sharing the photos. It is strange how life works, many times things happen for a reason and we don’t know why. But things always seem to work out and usually always for the better. You be sure to enjoy and savor things. And I LOVE your cards! That Lawn Fawn baby set is so cute, I have it too. Just love Lawn Fawn! And I love all the things with what you did with the “Tim” card! Love those Distress inks. I need to get back to playing with those inks and the re-inkers. But right now I am doing something with Critters on the Farm! Anyway, thank you for the 2 videos and your inspiration!

  6. DianetheLibrarian permalink
    July 11, 2011 8:35 pm

    So glad you are living your life! I wish I’d figured it out sooner, but it’s the quality not the quantity, right? Love your cards and videos–keep em coming! Peace!

  7. July 11, 2011 8:50 pm

    I love the TH card! That style & colors are right up by alley! Glad to hear you’re doing well! Happy thoughts & hugs to you!

  8. July 11, 2011 9:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and the photos! I am so happy you are enjoying school, friends and life. You are a bright spot in my life and I thank you for that!

  9. Debbie permalink
    July 11, 2011 10:55 pm

    What a great post and thanks for sharing your story. I almost kicked the bucket last year from blood clots in my lungs and a close call will change you. Keep your chin up and when times get tough just remember that there are others in the world that would trade for your problems in a heart beat.

  10. July 11, 2011 10:55 pm

    You’re young!!…you have your whole life ahead of you…LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE..and most importantly…HAVE FUN!!!

  11. Carolyn (Melbourne,Australia) permalink
    July 12, 2011 1:07 am

    Hi Britta, Have loved reading about your doings since I came upon your site and videos a few months ago. Thanks for sharing – it’s nice to know you’re a real person with ups and downs like all the rest of us.
    Thanks for all your creative sharing. I’ve already learned so much from you.
    Cheers :D

  12. July 12, 2011 2:34 am

    Lovely cards Britta. Enjoy your life as no one has control over it. I can feel what you are going thru as I myself had gone thru the same while learning to drive and recently my sister escaped by fraction of seconds from the earthquake in NZ.

  13. Maria McClure permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:26 am

    nothing like shedding some negativity from your life to see things in a new way! all that drama with the roommate moving out worked out for the best, eh? So glad you are ok and really enjoying life!

  14. Cheryl W permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:49 am

    So glad you’re enjoying life in Mpls, Britta. I live near Minnehaha Park and we love to go to SeaSalt and get their fish tacos. Happy summer!

  15. Betty permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:02 am

    I am sooooo glad you weren’t in a wreck!! Rule #1: NEVER step on the gas when a light turns green. ALWAYS look both ways before moving! If I didn’t use that rule of thumb I would have been hit by a very fast moving, red light running, gravel hauler and wouldn’t be here to give you this advice.

    Your e-mails are on my list of ‘top neat things happening to me every day’. Keep up the great work.

  16. July 12, 2011 10:04 am

    Britta, I didn’t know about your almost-car accident before reading this today. That must have been quite a sobering experience! I’m happy that you took it upon yourself to make that incident dictate a change in the way you live your life. Be sure to keep doing the things you love, and that make you happy =)

  17. July 12, 2011 3:10 pm

    Love your cards – great inspiration as ever Britta ;)
    So glad to hear you weren’t hurt in the accident! Too scary! I’m glad you are facing life so positively and enjoying everything to the fullest. We could all learn from that example, Rx

  18. July 13, 2011 5:14 am

    Britta, you’re a ray of sunshine on many a dreary day and I only know you through your blog. You’re awesomeness in person would likely be too much to bear! :) Stay positive and remember that we’re given the challenges we’re meant to overcome – even the ones involving boys ;)

    Love ya,
    B

  19. heartinhandbags permalink
    July 19, 2011 5:36 pm

    A favor to ask. Looking for the fabrics you mentioned that Scrappers like for my new line coming soon. Want to make sure I use young fresh things. That’s what led me here in a round about way. Watched your baby congrats card video and then just thought I’d check in and see what you’ve been up to. I know you probably shield me from such things as near fatal accidents, and for that I thank you! But on the other side of that moment in life, look what happened! Hang on to the joy of the moment, you’ve discovered. Each one passes so fast and we remember so few. Well, I should say I remember so few, but then I forget my age at times too…comes with getting along in years! It’s okay that we don’t hold onto all the moments as long as we cherish the ones we can remember because as Anne Shirley said “the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one after another softly, like pearls slipping off a string.” Pick up those pearls and cherish them!
    BTW ( that means by the way, right?) in regards to your work here…seriously? You continually amaze me. No wonder you had to take a nap!

  20. Stephanie permalink
    July 19, 2011 5:53 pm

    I’m so glad you weren’t hurt!!! Thank you for your post and the pictures!!! It totally made my day! I lived in Minnesota for 10 years before moving to Louisiana and your pictures brought back good memories for me and made me miss that wonderful state! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

