Skip to content

All About Stamping Lesson 5 – Lawn Fawn

June 8, 2011

You know I couldn’t have gone without featuring Lawn Fawn, right? :) Here’s today’s (well, yesterday’s) lesson video:

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to My Channel

Here’s the card we’re making today:

It’s just one layer. Imagine that! I love the look of colored pencil on kraft so much that I don’t think you really need anything else.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft), Stamps – Lawn Fawn (Petite Florals, Fly Free, Critters in the Forest, Critters in the ‘Burbs and Sophie’s Sentiments), Ink – Tsukineko (Memento Tuxedo Black), Colored Pencils – Prismacolor (48 Count Set), Corner Rounder – We R Memory Keepers (Corner Chomper).

Also, here’s the PDF print out for today. It’s free and includes lots of the information I talk about in the video:

View this document on Scribd

I hope you enjoy today’s lesson and stop back tomorrow because there will be another one up! One that I have to go film right now. Ha! One day I will be ahead… I’m enjoying the cool, cool air here in my bedroom even though it is way to stinkin’ hot outside (but much better than yesterday). I hope you pick up some colored pencils and do a coloring card tonight!

Love,
Britta

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa Geraty permalink
    June 8, 2011 5:14 pm

    Thank you, I had no idea before I started watching your videos that you could blend colored pencils. It’s my favorite new technique. And this card is so adorable! :)

  2. June 8, 2011 6:11 pm

    Beautiful card Britta and I love how you summarize the directions. Sooo cool !!

  3. June 8, 2011 6:23 pm

    super cute card, I so need to get more Lawn Fawn stamps. I just can’t decide which ones. Thanks for using a regular pen for the stems, I have wanted to sometimes add a little something with a pen before but new little me in the card making world was not sure if that might be a big no, no. Also thanks for showing how you ink your ink pads.

    • June 8, 2011 7:38 pm

      Some people may frown upon using pen on a card, but I say that if it makes it look better, go for it! The pen I use just isn’t the “cheap” kind. Bic is my favorite for making lists, but these signos (they run like two dollars-ish) give a really dark black line. Sorry for enabling! Hehe. Let me know if you can’t decide between a few sets. I can always help. :)

  4. kim b permalink
    June 8, 2011 6:34 pm

    LOVE this card!

  5. Amy G permalink
    June 8, 2011 7:02 pm

    DaRn it Britta! I just got a ton of Copics (very expensive) because your projects turned me on to them and now I feel like I must get Prisma pencils again (I had them once but sold them because I got out of coloring images for awhile) because this card is so stinkin cute and I love the look of the pencil on the kraft too! You are making me go broke girl! :)

    • June 8, 2011 7:40 pm

      Hehe. Sorry! I like both methods of coloring; they’re both just very different. You could always look on a local selling website to see if someone is getting rid of their set. You are definitely not the first person I know that has sold their pencils and bought them again later. They last forever, though- my mom still has her set from art school 25 years ago!

      • Amy G permalink
        June 9, 2011 10:04 am

        Do you ever use the pencils with the odorless mineral spirits to blend them or do you just use the pencils alone? I used to use the spirits with them when I had them the first time.

  6. Renee permalink
    June 8, 2011 9:46 pm

    Adorable card! Love your videos : )

  7. June 9, 2011 4:40 am

    love that coloring!

  8. June 9, 2011 1:03 pm

    Love the colored pencil on craft. I guess I will be off to buy a few Lawn Fawn sets! I had been resisting, but they are way cute.

  9. June 9, 2011 2:16 pm

    Isn’t that ever soooo cute?! I love it, Brit!

  10. DianeTheLibrarian permalink
    June 9, 2011 7:33 pm

    Love the card. you inspired me to color on a few cards last night. I learn something new each time i watch your videos! Also, congrats for making it the social club at the Hero Arts Blog! i love that paper pieced flower!!!

  11. June 10, 2011 10:38 pm

    LOVE this card! The video was great :)

  12. June 11, 2011 1:08 am

    What a lovely card! Prismacolors on kraft are so effective! Love the result and thanks for all the tips and instructions

Leave a Reply

