Skip to content

A Layout for NSD + Camera Shopping

May 11, 2011

Finally, I’m here to share the layout I’ve been promising for a while. Not that it deserves a big build-up or anything, but I’ve just been busy dealing with school ending and boy issues. Ugh. Feel free to send me any chocolate, ice cream (Graeter’s black raspberry chip, for example… hehe) or hugs if you wish. Every girl needs a lot of chocolate to survive through life. ;)

Anyways, here’s the layout:

I made this for Studio Calico’s National Scrapbooking Day sewing challenge. Love the look of stitching on a big piece like this.

Supplies: Kit – Studio Calico (May 2011 Singin’ in the Rain and Pink Lemonade Add-On), Cardstock – Bazzill (Kraft), Vellum – Papertrey Ink, Patterned Paper – Girls’ Paperie (ledger and polka dots) and Crate Paper (blue floral), Chipboard Letters – Girls’ Paperie (Maggie Chipboard Alpha), Letter Stickers – October Afternoon, Flowers – Pebbles, Inc. (Happy Go Lucky Glitter Flower Brads), Thread – We R Memory Keepers (Aqua Sew Easy floss), Black Pen – Sharpie, Border Punches – EK Success (Large Scallop) and Fiskars (Scalloped Sentiment), Circle Dies – Spellbinders (Nestabilities Circles Large), Ink – Ranger (Frayed Burlap Distress Ink).

Also, you may have seen me posting several tweets on twitter over the past couple weeks about buying a new point and shoot camera. Mine has been through a lot in the past three years that I’ve owned it…. so it’s just time. It might just give out any day now, and I refuse to lug my Nikon D90 with me every time I want to take a picture. Ha.

I’ve narrowed down my list to four (I think!) cameras to choose from. My ideal camera uses an SD card, shoots at least 720p video, has a battery that can be externally charged (and therefore I can have a backup), has really good picture quality, at least 4x optical zoom, a macro mode and has physical buttons (i.e. no touchscreen). Here are the frontrunners in no particular order and why I like them:

  • Panasonic Lumix DMC-TS10

    I love that this camera is a “rugged” kind- meaning it is “drop proof” up to 5 feet and waterproof down to 10 feet. Lord knows I put my cameras through a lot, and this tells me that this camera can withstand what I put it through. The two things that keep this one from being the clear winner are that it’s by Panasonic (I have no experience whatsoever with the brand, and that makes me uncomfortable.) and that the lens is internal in the camera. Something about that says to me that the zoom might not be the best it could be.
  • Canon PowerShot SD1400IS

    This is a Canon, and that means reliable to me. Although I am a Nikon DSLR girl, I’ve always been a Canon point-and-shoot girl. That seems to be the way it goes. In fact, no Nikons made this list because they seem to be a little behind the curve in the smaller camera department. Anyways, My favorite things about this are the look (matching lens and body color), it comes in pink, and it shoots in 720p for video.
  • Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS

    This the same camera as above, just the newer version. The differences? 1080p video (better), doesn’t come in pink (boo!), is 60 dollars more expensive, has a better sensor (a different kind) and 5x zoom versus 4x zoom. Hmmm.
  • Samsung EC-ST700

    This one didn’t even enter my mind until I started thinking about how I use my camera. Mainly, I use it for day adventures and nights out. And these include lots of “selfies” or pictures where me and a friend (or three) hold up the camera in front of us and hope for the best. The screen on the front is SO awesome for that. It also has 5x zoom and a touch screen back (not sure how I feel about that… but it could be nice. Maybe.). The one thing that kind of irks me about this one, though, is that I can’t find any good reviews on it. Why? Not sure.

So what do you think? Do you have experience with any of these cameras? If so, I would love to hear what you think about them (good or bad). If you don’t have any experience with them, tell me which one you think I should pick. I would love some advice! I’m sure that any of these for would be fine, but I want the best one for me since it’s my hard-earned money that I’m spending. You know how it goes. :)

Thank you so much for stopping by. Today, I dropped off the boards for my class at my LSS on June 4th. I’ll be posting about that this week with more info. I hope to meet some of you there! (At least those in the Twin Cities, MN area… unless you want to fly in! Hehe.) I’m off to go work on fun projects to share. I’m so excited! I think I might film the first video of my new series tonight. Eee!

Love,
Britta

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 8:24 pm

    Great LO! I love the colors, stitching and scalloped borders. Good luck on the camera-I’m no help b/c I’m camera challenged! And for the boys…just allow yourself a set time period to feel whatever you’re feeling-then move on! That’s always worked for me!

  2. serena permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:35 pm

    Hi Brita,

    I was shopping not to long ago for point and shoot cameras as well. I ended up getting the Canon powershot SX210 Is. I know it’s not one of your options but I really like the sleek look and the 3″ widescreen LCD screen. For me this is a plus because I like to get the biggest possible view of my pictures. Also there are so many cool fun features that make it perfect to take fun pics with friends or just of yourself (it has a fisheye effect and miniature effect, just to name a few). Also, it has 14x wide zoom and 14.1 megapixels. I love it!!
    The only criticism people have about this camera is that the flash pops up right where your index finger would rest, but honestly that is not a problem for me and it doesn’t bother me at all.

    About the canon elf, I really didn’t like the fact that it’s soooo tiny! Even the screen is way too small for my liking, but I guess that is just personal taste.

    Good luck with your camera shopping!

    Serena

  3. Lynsey permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:55 pm

    I use a Nikon Coolpix L100. I think they’re on the L120 model now, though. It has a fixed SLR lens, but it’s still small enough to fit in even my smallest purse (but I don’t carry clutch purses, ever). I’m incredibly happy with the quality and price on this line.

    I’m actually already supposed to be in the Twin Cities on June 4 — one of my husband’s high school friends is getting married in St. Paul that day. I’ll be anxiously waiting for class details — maybe I can swing doing both the wedding and the class!

  4. Jeannie L permalink
    May 11, 2011 10:52 pm

    Great LO… I liked how you did the subtitles…

    With regards to your camera shopping, I’ve owned a Lumix since 2003 and it’s doing great still. Lumix uses Leica lenses and they are great lenses. I always love the colors taken with my Lumix. I’m also looking at cams as my cam has definitely gone through a lot and with better technology coming up in the newer cams, I thought it’ll be time to change. Lumix LX3 & LX5 are also a great cams! Well LX5 is one of my shortlisted choices.

    Since you’re a Canon gal, I would suggest u to getting the newer model on your list. Since technology is advancing so quickly. I bet $60 is worth it and it comes with better sensor as you mentioned.

  5. BeeH permalink
    May 12, 2011 1:31 am

    I have a panasonic bridge camera and love it but I also wanted a new, always-in-the-handbag point and shoot and opted for Canon over Casio after advice from a savvy friend and I hate it. It’s the Ixus 200IS (might be called something else in the states) and a) yes, touchscreens are so annoying but b) the flash is disappointing. Most pictures where I’ve used flash have dark edges, if I want that effect I’ll use my Holga! My first handbag camera years ago was a teeny tiny orange Casio Exilim and that took way better photos.

    Also, hi! I’ve started dropping in regularly recently and really like your videos!

  6. May 12, 2011 6:05 am

    What a fun LO!! As for the cameras, I have no clue! I need one too, so, I’ll be looking forward to knowing which you pick. I can’t wait to see your class samples, I’m teaching my 1st, @ my LSS, this Saturday. Got that scary/excited thing going on ;).

  7. May 12, 2011 4:56 pm

    Have you looked at the Canon G-11 or G-12. I have the G-11 and love it. It hasn’t disappointed me yet. Also has rave reviews.

  8. May 12, 2011 6:08 pm

    I would most definitely buy the Panasonic. I don’t have this particular model but I have two Lumix, the newest one being the DMC-FP8, very similar to the one you’ve chosen. They both take fabulous pictures, have an easy to use menu with real buttons (I don’t like the touch screen either) and excellent Leica lenses. One thing I also like is that it remembers your settings eg. macro when you turn the camera off. Some brands don’t do that and you have to put in your settings again every time you turn it on. Something to think about. Good luck with your shopping!

  9. May 13, 2011 6:32 pm

    I have the Canon PowerShot SD780IS and I really like it. It looks identical to that SD1400IS. It takes really good photos just on auto, or if you know what you’re doing, it can take pretty sweet pictures in the manual mode with all of the different options it has. A cool thing I like about it is the color accent feature (I think maybe only canons have this?), which only pulls one color and the rest is black and white. I also really like Canon’s service… I had a little speck stuck inside my lens so I had to send it in to Canon. They had it fixed and back to me in less than a week!
    I do think the screen on the front of the Samsung one would be pretty awesome.
    Good luck deciding!!

Leave a Reply

