Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday #35: Dimensional Paperpiecing

May 9, 2011

Hey all! This is going to be a quick post. Mostly because I have to leave for my very very last test of the semester in twenty minutes. So here’s a quick list of things I need to remember to tell you:

1. Sorry for no layout last night. If it makes you feel any better, I really didn’t get anything done that I wanted to do last night. Ha! I promise, I’ll make it up to you.

2. The video for today is a little bit out of control. Mostly because Trixie was being ridiculous. Just watch and you’ll see… Ha! I was laughing so hard when I was editing. Here’s the card I made for today:

Here’s the close up. Love that dimension! This card is a little “busy” for my taste, but it’s nice to step out of my comfort zone every once in a while.

Here’s the crazy video:

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my Channel

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft and Dark Chocolate), Patterned Paper – October Afternoon (5 and Dime Collection 8 by 8 pad), Label Sticker – October Afternoon (5 and Dime Collection), Ink – Ranger (JBS Brown Sugar and Distress Ink in Old Paper), Ribbon – May Arts, Heart Punch – Stampin’ Up!, Glitter Pen – Copic (Spica Clear Pen), Scissors – Cutter Bee by EK Success.

3. This pretty much somes up how I’m feeling right now:

It’s a great day outside, I’m finishing up my redbull as I type, and I got a 90% on the last practice exam I took before I studied for another hour or so… and I don’t even need to get a good score to get an A… so I’m golden. And happy. And I want to make more pretty things tonight. :) Okay. Must go now! Byeeeeee school!

Love,
Britta

ETA: The test went really well. It feels so amazing to be done! Thank you all for the well wishes. :) Mwah!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:34 pm

    Adorable card. I love how you think it out as you go. I hope you gave Trixie some play time! Good luck finishing up your semester!

  2. Jane Tipton permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:41 pm

    I like your card alot. After all the years of card making, I’ve never tried this. I miss my cat…. he use to wrap himself around my neck when I sat down to create or read emails. Aren’t they fun!!!

  3. May 9, 2011 5:54 pm

    LOVE your card! Simply stunning!

  4. Vickie Lee permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:54 pm

    Love your video and the card! Your kitty is so cute. Love your picture too!!

  5. Debbie permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:55 pm

    I must admit I was laughing through most of this video because it reminds me of Alex having to be held while I crafted or he would steal people’s chairs when they got up.. Charlie now has to check out everyone’s work (mr nosey) and he just loves to streach out all over anyone’s work space. At 15 lbs he takes over the entire workspace!

    Nice card too! ;D

  6. May 9, 2011 6:37 pm

    Really nice card :-) and cute cat too :-)

  7. May 9, 2011 7:26 pm

    Hey- your test is over! You’re done! How did you do? I’m heading over to YouTube to watch video-the card looks great!

  8. May 9, 2011 8:16 pm

    I’m so happy I found your blog… your cards are beautiful! I love how you cut out the flowers and popped them up – what a great idea!

  9. cathy permalink
    May 9, 2011 9:38 pm

    Great card! You crack me up! “Showing the cat the ribbon was a bad idea”. Good luck with finals!

  10. May 10, 2011 2:55 am

    Stunning card and actually I was smiling through out seeing Trixie play…lol
    Congrats on finishing the Semester.

  11. Kathleen Watterson permalink
    May 10, 2011 5:09 am

    Watching your video was a great way to end my busy day at work here in Oz… thank you!! I look forward to more inspiration.

    p.s. hope my last post wasn’t too much info… but thank you anyways for the opportunity to finally open up :}

  12. diana permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:41 pm

    Great card & thanks for the step-by-step video! Cute sidekick, too! TFS ;-)

  13. May 11, 2011 1:18 am

    Love how Trixie’s butt wiggled as you’re inking the background stamp, and then she has enough and moves over. Cute!!!

  14. May 11, 2011 8:05 am

    Watching Trixie’s butt while watching you craft, was fun!! Her playfulness is one of the reasons I want a cat, but hubs will not hear a word of it..he wants dogs and I don’t like dogs!
    I love this idea of paper piecing…the visual triangle looks perfect with the pearls and the heart!
    Super cute!!

  15. May 11, 2011 1:39 pm

    Stumbled upon your website a few weeks ago and ever since I watched all your videos, and read at least 20 posts, your cards are just amazing and I appreciate so much the time you are taking to make the videos, they are so great and as a beginner scraper/card maker I learn so much from them.

    I also have two questions:
    1. In one of the cards you were using colored pencils (the Critters card). Which brand do you recommend and is there a specific coloring technique you recommend.
    2. I noticed you have at least 3 pairs of scissors, any specific reason? each one good for another task, I invested in the Tim Holtz scissors (very expensive where I live), and am very happy with them, but now I wonder if I should get some more.

    Thanks so much for this website and videos.
    Efrat.

  16. donna mikasa permalink
    May 16, 2011 5:27 pm

    I’ve never enjoyed a video so much! Your cat is so crafty!
    Love your card, too–such wonderful dimension!

  17. Holly Saveur permalink
    May 28, 2011 4:36 am

    What a great idea!
    Love the way the cat is on the video too.
    Thanks again …so much fun!

Leave a comment