Skip to content

Birthday Cards for Birthday Twins.

April 27, 2011

As some you may know, two of my roommates are identical twins. I’ve known them since living in the same hallway in the dorms in freshman year, and we became fast friends. I even dated one of them (Greg) for a while! Ha. Well, now I live with them. They turned 21 this last Saturday, and thankfully I was feeling well enough to go out to dinner with them. Joe’s on the left, Greg’s on the right here:

Here’s a picture of our group from dinner:

The guys (the whole group pictured above plus a few more) then proceeded to go out to the bars… where the twins celebrated until they got… well… really really drunk. I won’t go into detail about that, but thank goodness I was sound asleep for most of the craziness.

Anyways, here are the cards I made for the guys to celebrate. This first one is for Joe and goes along with last week’s CASE study challenge #36. I missed the deadline, but I want to share anyways! Cristina’s card for this challenge was the one that really sparked my interest. She has so much talent!

Here’s the close-up:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft and Vintage Cream), Patterned Paper – My Mind’s Eye (6 by 6 Pad Stella & Rose Hattie collection), Stamps – Hero Arts (LP197 Robot Trio and CL340 Birthday Sayings), Ink – Ranger (JBS Spice Tin), Circle Die – Spellbinders (Nestabilities Circles Large), Pearls – Hero Arts (Medium), markers- Copics (T1, T3, T4, B21, B24), Corner Rounder – WRMK Corner Chomper, Navy Pen – EK Success.

Here’s the card I made for Greg. I wanted to to keep it pretty masculine with the greens, yellows and blacks. That background is actually a piece of cardstock covered with tissue paper. Cool, huh? I got the idea from the Moxie Fab Tissue Paper Magic challenge… the wrinkles add a cool leather-like texture. I want to try this technique with some plain colors to see if I can really bring out that leather feel. I’ll have to experiment some more.

The close-up:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream, Spring Moss, Simply Chartreuse, Lemon Tart and True Black), Stamp – Hero Arts (CL340 Birthday Sayings), Punches – EK Success (Tiny Star and 1″ Circle), Ink – Tsukineko (Memento Black), and other – Tissue Paper from Aerie.

Okay, back to work for me now. Or my pillow…. not sure which one I’ll end up at. It’s been a long day so far. Only one more week. One more week! Then I’ll be free…

Love,

Britta

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 4:34 pm

    Looks like you had fun. Love those guy cards – they look great!

  2. Tina permalink
    April 27, 2011 4:39 pm

    I’m so glad you eneded up feeling well enough to celebrate with your friends! The cards are terrific!

  3. April 27, 2011 7:21 pm

    I hope those boys were inebriated before they put on those hats! Glad you had fun! Cards are great! You’ll have to do VTM on that tissue paper-that turned out really cool.

  4. me35 permalink
    April 28, 2011 11:08 am

    Ummmm….

    Is it just Royal wedding fever …or do these guys look like the brother and best man, Prince Harry ???

    (maybe because he always seems to be photographed in bars too !! )

    Margaret C (who’s having the day off tomorrow thanks to Kate and Wills !!)

  5. May 10, 2011 10:10 am

    Hey Britta! Thanks for entering the Tissue Paper Magic Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! :)

Leave a Reply

