Skip to content

Totally Hues Challenge #6

April 26, 2011

Hey there! It’s a rainy, cold day here in Minneapolis (um sun… where did you go? Come back!) and I’m seriously wanting to just stay under my covers and read a book. Or maybe I’ll do a little crafting. I got in my recent order from Simon Says Stamp yesterday, so I’m itching to play with some of the new things I purchased. I can’t wait to share!

Anyways, I wanted to pop in and share my card for Heather’s current Totally Hues #6 Challenge. These colors were some of my favorites, so I was super happy that she picked them.

Here’s what I came up with:

I got my sewing machine out and went a little crazy with the stitching. Hey… it was fun! I used cream thread and it shows up pink, though. Anyone know what that would be? I think my tension might be off, but I don’t know whether it is my bobbin or top thready thingy and don’t want to mess with it if it’s working reasonably well right now. Obviously, I know a ton about sewing machines… lol.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Lemon Tart, Aqua Mist, Simply Charteuse, Raspberry Fizz and Vellum), Stamps – Paper Smooches (Pretty Phrases and Vegtastic), Ink – Tsukineko (Versamark) and Ranger (JBS Ink in Spice Tin for inking edges), Embossing Powder – American Crafts (White Zing), Gems – Prima (E-Line).

With the rain, the baseball game that Matt and I were supposed to go to got postponed until Thursday, but that time actually works much better for us. Not to mention the fact that it’s supposed to be 57 degrees and sunny. Score! Fingers crossed. Okay, back to homework for me. Be back tomorrow with some birthday cards from this weekend.

Love,

Britta

P.S. Tomorrow is release day for Studio Calico! Who else is excited? I’m definitely picking up some more of the retail collections as well as Add-on #2 , Pink Lemonade and maybe another add-on. They’re all super cute! What do you have on your list?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeannie L permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:25 pm

    Like the card as well as the colors… I can’t sew 1 bit much less use a machine :)

    Hope the baseball game goes as planned on Thursday!

  2. April 26, 2011 4:32 pm

    What a pretty card Britta. Love the vellum and the great stitching job! :o)

  3. April 26, 2011 5:21 pm

    I love that sentiment on vellum! I’m getting my first SC kit and I’m so excited to play! It’s overcast here in Denver-raining off and on for several days. We need it though! Now go study!

  4. Maria Bush permalink
    April 26, 2011 6:07 pm

    Britta, Just love all of your cards!!!

  5. April 26, 2011 6:35 pm

    Love love the vellum and white embossing! Beautiful card.

  6. April 26, 2011 9:26 pm

    Really cute I dont sew on cards enough I think I should more as it’s a nice look. Your thread probably turned pink with the card stock bright pink and you said raining so enough humidity in the air to make it kind of bleed. Just a thought but nothing wrong with that it work and looks great.

  7. Tina permalink
    April 27, 2011 6:46 am

    Britta this is really cute! I like the different shaped pieces and the vellum..LUV :)
    have fun at the game thursday :)

  8. April 28, 2011 6:33 am

    This card is fabulous. I love all that crazy stitching — it gives it character! Great job on the challenge!

  9. April 28, 2011 3:11 pm

    Hi Britta! I think your stitching turned out great!!! I recently got a sewing machine and was VERY, can we say…challenged…with it. I turned to my aunt who is a professional. Here’s a great tip she gave me: try pulling on your thread manually out from the needle. If it is not pulling with ease, then it is not going to sew at its optimum. Adjust your tension until it pulls out REALLY easily and you’re good to go. Make sense? Hope the next week flies by for you. I sure remember those days!!! Hugs. =]

  10. Julie Hollinger permalink
    April 30, 2011 9:38 pm

    Hi Britta. I just found your website through Jennifer McGuire. She’s right – you are very talented! I have been a sewer for years and years, way before I started playing with paper art. I saw your question about the sewing on your card and thought i would pass along this little info: if the bobbin thread (bottom) is pulling to the top, the needle (top) tension is too tight; if the needle thread (top) is pulling to the bottom, then the top tension is too loose. For cards of decorative stitching, I prefer to set the tension so it pulls to the underside just a tiny bit so i knot the stitching will be nice and neat on the top of my card. We don’t have to worry about pressure on the seams as we would if stitching a garment when it would be more important to have the tension more even where you really would want the tension balanced and you wouldn’t see the thread pulled to the opposite side at all. Hope that helps… probably more information that you asked for, but maybe it will come in handy at another time too. I look forward to following your inspiration!

    • May 1, 2011 9:21 am

      This is fantastic! Awesome information; totally what I needed. I just didn’t want to mess with the settings before I knew what I was trying to accomplish. Thanks so much, Julie. Glad you like my blog and hope you enjoy future projects. :)

  11. May 4, 2011 8:56 pm

    Love the fun stitching on this and the BIG sentiment is too darling!

  12. May 6, 2011 11:09 pm

    Love the vellum!

  13. Debby permalink
    May 21, 2011 1:02 am

    Hi Britta, just popping in to see the Totally Hues top picks – congrats! Wow, love all the stitching, bold design and the velum overlay is gorgeous!

  14. May 21, 2011 7:08 am

    So fun, Britta! LOVE the vellum over all that fab stitching! Congrats on being a Totally Hues #6 Top Pick!

  15. laurafadora permalink
    May 21, 2011 3:32 pm

    great card, awesome stitching, congrats on being a top pick:)

Trackbacks

  1. On Vacation: Day Two. « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

