Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday #33 – Papertrey Ink Impression Plates, Dies and Stamps

April 25, 2011

Hey there! It’s a bright, sunny, happy day here in Minneapolis. I’m just praying that it holds on for a day more. Matt and I are planning on going to the Twins game tomorrow at the wonderful (outdoor) Target Field. Fingers crossed! Classes are quickly winding down; next week Thursday is my last day of classes, and I have so much to do before then. It’s unbelievable. Therefore, posts this week are going to be short and sweet as I pull late and all-nighters trying to get everything in on time. Tonight is the first big night. I have class all day and then I’m determined to start and complete a historical timeline of kitchen appliance ads + gender roles in America over the last 150 years. Sounds like a blast, doesn’t it. Be jealous. ;)

I can’t wait until two weeks from now when everything is done and over with. Then you can have my attention as I start a new video series here. Oh boy!

Anyways, here’s today’s VTM card:

It’s all about using PTI products. With my recent “Starting Out with PTI” post, I wanted to make sure to show you how I use the various products that I’m constantly raving about. In fact, everything that I use in my video today is in that post in one way or another.

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my channel

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Raspberry Fizz, Rustic Cream, Kraft), Stamps – Papertrey Ink (Signature Series: Butterfly and Mat Stack 4 Collection), Ink- Ranger (JBS Brown Sugar and Distress Ink in Tea Dye), Dies – Papertrey Ink (Signature Series Butterfly and Mat Stack 4), Punch – Fiskars (Lg. square), Impression Plate – Papertrey Ink (Woodgrain), Pearls – Prima (E-Line), Twine – Papertrey Ink (Natural Button Twine).

I hope to get some time to relax and create tonight, but we’ll see. My brain can’t stop planning all sorts of things for my website. I’m excited! So here’s another question for you to help me plan future videos: what beginning techniques do you think are essential for a beginner scrapbooker/stamper/cardmaker? I did a Card Size Cutting Basics video a while back, and lots have asked for more beginner videos. So what do you think should be on my list? Sending you big hugs and bright sunshine!

Love,

Britta

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    April 25, 2011 1:29 pm

    I’ve got a couple questions…you can always wait till after classes are done, but if I don’t ask now, I’ll probably forget. :)
    1. Do you season your photopolymer stamps? They seem to do well with your dye ink, but I’ve heard that’s not the case for everyone.
    2. People have raved about ATG’s. It seems so HUGE. I would love to see a tutorial on using (and refilling) it. So afraid it’s too awkward. Are there different types/brands to be aware of?
    If you’ve already covered these somewhere, just direct me to the right time/place. Good luck getting those clsases finished!

    • June 4, 2011 11:59 am

      Hi Terri!

      I just wanted to give you the link to a video I did on refilling the pink ATG. I know they look huge, but when you get it and start using it really isn’t bad at all (that’s my opinion, at least). I soo love my pink ATG =) Here’s the link to my video:

      As someone else here said too, it’s the cheaper clear stamps that sometimes doesn’t work well with dye inks. When I use a stamp like that, I ink it up in versamark ink first, then in the dye ink as well, and then I stamp it down. That helps the ink to “stick” more even on your lower quality clear stamps =)

      • June 5, 2011 10:42 pm

        Marie, you rock for responding for me! Basically ditto for me on everything she said. I love my ATG and don’t find the size to be too daunting. It als keeps me from losing it on my craft table (which happens with pretty much every other tool I use). There are three different types of the ATG guns. There is the yellow .5″ professional framing gun, the .25″ professional framing gun (red) and the pink .25″ adhesive transfer gun. I’ve owned both the pink and red one, and the only real difference is the color and price. The professional ones are about twice as expensive and seem to be about the same quality. The pink one was just released within the last year or so into the scrapbooking market.

        Also, I don’t typically season my photopolymer stamps. Photopolymer are the good (and usually more expensive) kinds and transfer ink very well. Of course, conditioning wouldn’t hurt them, but I usually don’t find the need. With lesser quality (acrylic or polymer) stamps, I like to use the versamark first like Marie suggests or the eraser (or even really fine sandpaper) trick.

        Hope this helps! Thanks ladies. :)

  2. April 25, 2011 1:50 pm

    Oh my gosh, this card is so darling! It’s like backwoods chic, with the woodgrain and the text and the distressing, and then the pink and the pearls. Fabulous. Thanks for another great VTM!

  3. Maria Fernanda McClure permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:45 pm

    The tip on using the square punch to make the banner ALONE was worth the video, but I love how simple you make it all look. Thanks for sharing. I loved your distress videos too!

    Terri – inexpensive/lower quality clear stamps tend to cause dye inks (and especially distress inks) to bead. The higher quality stamps (TI, Hero Arts, Lawn Fawn) won’t do that. If there’s a way to “season” them, please share because I’ve got a bunch of cute cheapies from the dollar bins at Michaels. In the meantime, they do work fine with pigment and chalk inks.

    Also, there’s a good video on You Tube that shows how to load the ATG. Once you’ve done it twice, it’s a piece of cake and you’ll wonder why you ever spent so much money on those little dipsosable dispensers.

  4. Meghan permalink
    April 25, 2011 6:27 pm

    Thanks Britta for the tip on making the banner sentiment. I was struggling with how to include a sentiment on a card and after watching your video, I had the perfect solution! Love the VTM series…you’re a peach!

  5. April 25, 2011 9:32 pm

    Great idea for the small square punch. I learn so much from you and love it. Thanks so much for all you do. I love PTI.

  6. April 26, 2011 12:36 am

    Love the card…its got butterfly and its pink..my faves!! love the tip about using the square punch..but i don’t have it yet..soon!!
    Thanks so very much!

  7. Pippa67 permalink
    April 26, 2011 12:10 pm

    Hi Britta,
    You have inspired me yet again with your video tutorial. Love your card. And I really like your rule of 3. And your idea of how to make a perfect banner. Thanks.

  8. April 26, 2011 1:09 pm

    Super pretty! Every element is perfectly placed and I love that butterfly!

  9. Mary permalink
    April 26, 2011 3:05 pm

    Great video! The card is really unique and very pretty. I have most of these PTI supplies so I can’t wait to try something similar. I would love to see more videos using PTI supplies.

  10. Linda F permalink
    April 26, 2011 5:19 pm

    Hi. Love the card. I would love to see you do a video on using glitter pens to color in stamps!!!!

  11. Jennifer Spuehler permalink
    April 29, 2011 11:26 pm

    Love this card and the tip about the square punch on the banner tail. I’ve tried it a couple of times and it looks perfect! Now whenever I see people try to cut it out with scissors I want to yell at them “square punch!!” Thanks for another terrific card and tip!

  12. April 30, 2011 7:12 am

    Thanks for a great tutorial! Your card is pretty and the process of making it was very well explained!

  13. bonnie permalink
    April 30, 2011 5:16 pm

    beautiful card. And you did a fantastic job of video taping, thanks for sharing.

  14. madhatter permalink
    April 30, 2011 9:25 pm

    this is a comment for the beginners question – if for scrapbooking – the different types of scrapbooks – post, bound, three-ring binders, the mini’s and how you store them after making so many? Scrapbooking, stamping, and card making – Definitely cover the adhesives – different products requiring different adhesives – the best you’ve discovered – storage – storage – storage with so many adhesives, embellishments, papers, cardstocks, stack mats, ribbons, twines, strings, buttons, eyelets, brads, tools, pens, markers, paints, stamp pads, embossing powders, etc.

    Also, perhaps a video on the assorted stamp pads themselves – the pigment -vs- dye -vs- chalks. Which do you find NECESSITIES and which you wish you never invested in.

    I noticed now some of your stamps you use a hanging system, and today noticed the cd storage – perhaps cover some of that, and again, storage how do you keep things all together without becoming overwhelmed all the while knowing where what you need is when you need it …

    Anyhow those are my suggestions to cover for beginners – at the start of scrapbooking I did like getting the packs – where everything was related to a theme, now I can totally do without them, there are just so many leftover pieces, what to do with those?!!!

    Keep up the great work – Love your site, you’re always very calming, with very easy instructions, and demonstrations for all levels of crafters/scrappers/card-makers/etc.

    • May 1, 2011 9:16 am

      Thank you so much for all of the great feed back! I’ll definitely keep all of this in mind when planning my series. You rock!

  15. June 4, 2011 4:09 am

    I love the colors on this card! That pink totally makes me happy =) TFS!

Leave a Reply

