Skip to content

A New Card + Celebrating a New Partnership.

April 20, 2011

Hello there. How are you today? I finally got the chance to craft a little last night, and I’m super excited to share what I came up with. I also wanted to share some exciting news. I know bloggers don’t usually share this openly, but for me it’s all about being transparent and letting you know where I’m coming from.

I’m now an affiliate with Simon Says Stamp. I’ve loved shopping from them for a while, and they’re a great, loving company with great customer service. I’ve been known to give gift certificates to Simon Says for prizes and thank yous, so I figure this was the logical next step. Now I can link to Simon Says all the time, and we can both benefit from it. If you haven’t shopped from Simon Says Stamp before, you should definitely check them out. They have the newest products and wonderful customer service. Yay! In short, I’m linking to them because I trust and appreciate them, not to just make a quick buck. I won’t ever link to a store or product that I don’t actually like based on my experiences. I want to be a crafter you can trust to tell you her honest opinion.

If you want to support me and my blog by shopping at Simon Says, you can click through to the store on the right hand side. It doesn’t cost you anything it all; it just tells them that you’re coming from my site. This partnership will allow me to bring you more great tutorials and blog posts. I hope you don’t mind more blogging and videos. ;)

I wanted to share a card set that I worked on yesterday. This is totally and completely inspired by two projects that I saw by Godelieve Tijskens (on her wonderful blog, StampingMathilda) several months ago when Hero Arts re-released the LL072 Peeking Posies wood stamp set. I knew I had to have that set! Here are links to her great cards that I’ve been inspired by. Here’s what I made:

I colored all of the flowers with Copics – RV06, RV09 and V09 for the flowers (no blending) and then YG25 and YG17 for the leaves and stems (blended slightly).

Then I just cut out the negative spaces withan exacto knife (and patience). Then I went over the raw white edges with a Copic Multiliner black pen just to finish off the edge.

I put them in a card box with envelopes (from PTI) and wrapped the box with The Twinery twine in Pink Sorbet and Lilac. I topped off the bow with a little bit of embroidery floss and a Pebbles flower button.

Supplies:  Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream), Stamps – Hero Arts (LL072 Peeking Posies), Ink – Tsukineko (Memento Black), Markers – Copic (RV06RV09V09YG25 and YG17), Black Pen – Copic (Multiliner .03), Twine – The Twinery (Pink Sorbet and Lilac), Button – Pebbles (Ever After collection), Card Box – Papertrey Ink, Floss – DMC.

I’m also working on a new post that will be my “favorite tools” that will be in the side bar on the right of my blog. I’ll update it from time to time, and it will have pictures of my current favorites and essentials and links to buy them.

Good things are happening here! I’m still down with this flu thing, but it’s on its last leg. I can tell. Thank you once again for all of the well wishes. You all are so nice. :) I’ll be back again tomorrow with a couple more cards. They’re with a new stamp set that I just used for the first time. You’re going to love it!

Love,

Britta

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 8:40 pm

    Good for you! I appreciate when bloggers tell us things like that b/c product suggestions don’t seem as sneaky-like we can truly take your word for it, like Jennifer McGuire, I’ll trust anything she recommends! I love your cards set, very pretty packaging too. I’m looking forward to the “favorite tools” you’re working on. I like knowing what other people use just in case I’m missing something really cool! Hope you feel all the way better soon!

  2. Barbara permalink
    April 20, 2011 8:49 pm

    I love Simon Says Stamp too! I love that they provide free shipping to Canada for an order over $70 plus great customer service! I’ll definitely link to SSS via your blog…two of my favorite web hangouts!

    Beautiful card set too…the colors are so saturated! Happiness ensues :)

  3. Debbie permalink
    April 21, 2011 1:41 am

    Glad to hear that you are feeling better!

    I saw Godelieve’s cards made with this stamp not to long ago and printed a couple of copies of the cards to put in my card idea book. I got those HA stamps long ago and it was perfect timing to remind me to get them out to play. Love how you colored your cards!

    Can’t wait to see your fave tools!

  4. April 21, 2011 2:30 am

    Congrats on now being affiliated with Simon Says Stamp! They’re such an awesome store =) Your card set looks so great! TFS =)

  5. Tammie permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:37 am

    Nice card…..I’m looking forward to the Favorite Tools list!
    Thanks!

  6. JeanD permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:40 am

    Beautiful cards. I might just have to get out my craft knife.

  7. May 1, 2011 11:53 am

    Great set of cards! Lovely package.
    Thanks for linking to my blog :)

Leave a Reply

