Skip to content

Oh So Pretty.

April 12, 2011

Don’t ask me why, but “I Feel Pretty” from West Side Story is stuck in my head right now. It’s weird. I’ve been up for way too long today on way too few hours of sleep because of registering for summer classes (ceramics and statistics), cleaning and prepping for a city house inspection (which lasted all of 30 seconds… pfft). So now it’s time to take a quick nap and then get lots more done. That to-do list is feeling light and airy today. :) Here’s a card I created for a Two Peas challenge from Garden Girl Lulu to use scallops:

Aren’t those layers just lovely? Everything is from the Hello Luscious 6 by 6 paper pad or from a book (Henry David Thoreau – On Walden Pond) and then was inked with Brushed Corduroy distress ink. That’s my current favorite brown. Here’s a close-up of the layering:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft and Vintage Cream), Patterned Paper – Basic Grey (Hello Luscious 6 by 6 pad), Ink – Ranger (Distress Ink in Brushed Corduroy and JBS ink in Spice Tin), Border Punch – Fiskars (Scalloped Sentiment), Thread – DMC, Corner Rounder – WRMK, Other – Book Pages.

Also, I wanted to share a little experiment I did. I had ordered a sampler pack of twine from The Twinery and love it but was curious how the colors from Divine Twine compared, so I ordered this sample pack from Endless Inkabilities on Etsy and arranged them on a piece of kraft cardstock (Papertrey Ink – which is very, very similar in color to Bazzill’s kraft) and printed out some labels. Here’s the end result:

(The Twinery names are left-aligned; the Divine Twine names are right-aligned.)

I looooove having them lined up like this. In fact, I now have this sheet hanging on the wall next to my desk. A couple things I’ve noticed about the two types of twine:

  1. There is very little overlap in colors. The reds, purples, browns and blacks are almost the same in color, but all the others are different.
  2. The Twinery colors in general tend to be brighter and more bold than those from Divine Twine.
  3. The Twinery has 2 strings of color + 2 of white where as Divine Twine has 1 string of color + 3 of white. (Totally personal taste which you prefer.)
  4. I tend to think the colors of Divine Twine are more usable (lighter yellow, grey, navy, etc), but I like the 2 color +2 white strand configuration of The Twinery.

So in summary, I like them both! If I were to buy three big rolls of twine today, I would get Blueberry and Oyster from Divine Twine and Honeydew from The Twinery. Both companies have a quality product; it’s more about what colors you use more often. I suggest trying out some samplers for yourself and see what you like best.

And lastly, here’s a picture of the kitty. Yawwwwwn! Time for a nap. :)

Love,

Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    April 12, 2011 3:18 pm

    Britta, you’re so creative…and not just in cardmaking! The tips and tricks you share for storage and id’ing different/similar brands is so helpful to me. And, they’re also so cost effective. A smart cookie you are. ;)

    P.S. Trixie is the virtual love of my life. She is the sweetest.

  2. April 12, 2011 4:50 pm

    Nice layers! I love that paper pad too! My current fav brown is walnut stain! And good timing on the kitty yawn!

  3. April 12, 2011 6:00 pm

    Oooh! Love your scallopy card Britt..simple so pretty and dainty…Hugs!

  4. April 12, 2011 10:12 pm

    Seeing all those twine colors lined up in rainbow order makes me happy. I’m tempted to get Twinery twine now. But then I feel kind of greedy because I already have Divine Twine . . .

  5. April 13, 2011 6:06 am

    Your kitty is giving you subliminal messages ;).

    I have to tell you I LOVE this card! Its absolutely beautiful. The wonky placement of the scallops is AMAZING – such a great effect combined w/ the distress ink! And the stitching/sentiment make it! your cards always wow me! Seems like you only get better with exhaustion!

  6. April 13, 2011 7:46 am

    Adore the weight of the stitching on your card. It really stands out. And your twine card is fabulous. I made this one last fall, before they released all the new colors: http://www.criminalgrace.com/?p=3183. It’s been incredibly handy, with the names written on the back, for helping me pick the right twine the first time around. And for filling out my supply lists weeks after I’ve made a card.

  7. April 13, 2011 4:15 pm

    Hi Brit,

    Just wanted to say how much I love this card; you know when cards and papers just make you feel good inside? That’s how this one is for me :)

    And I LOVED that pic of Trixie in the fridge the other day; foraging for food? My kind of cat :)

  8. Amy Kolling permalink
    April 14, 2011 8:35 am

    Hi Britta! That scallop card is so pretty……lovely patterns and colors! I like your stitching around the outside of the scallop panel….added a great touch! I also wanted to thank you for showing the twine comparisons……I ADORE The Twinery twine but have wondered about the Divine Twine NEXT to the other. This really showed the difference between the two! :)

  9. April 14, 2011 2:11 pm

    I love all the layers of colors on this, you really made that patterned paper work so well!

  10. Camdy permalink
    April 17, 2011 12:09 pm

    Love your cards! And particularly how you’ve compared the twines & labeled them. Very handy and good info. Love the kitty yawn..or is kitty coaxing you to hurry up so you can catnap together? :)

Trackbacks

  1. My Must-Haves and Favorites « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

