Skip to content

A Challenge, a Birthday and Surprise Flowers.

April 10, 2011

I figure I better get a blog post up for today before I completely run out of gas. I spent all day yesterday playing around with some cool ideas and making videos for various projects (ehem… Distress Ink Bonus Videos… ehem). Meanwhile, my school work sat there on my floor giving me dirty works. School and me just really don’t seem to get along these days. Sigh. It’s okay though. Tonight I’m going to spend time in Illustrator refining two projects and also some quality time with a chem practice exam since I have one of those tomorrow. Eek! I’m getting a 94% in the class, but it’s still nerve-wracking. I want to do well, and I don’t want to make dumb mistakes. So therefore it’s study time. Before I close myself off from the internet for most of this evening, I wanted to share a couple projects.

First, we have my entry to the current Totally Hues #5 challenge over at Heather Pulvirenti’s blog. Geez! These colors were so hard to work with for me. I just kept seeing “Christmas” over and over. Here is the challenge graphic:

And here’s what I came up with. Thank goodness, it doesn’t say “Christmas” to me. Hehe.

Here’s the close up. I’m loving that woodgrain impressions plate from PTI!

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Stamper’s Select White, Sweet Blush, Scarlet Jewel and New Leaf), Stamps – Hero Arts (CL487 Thank you for being my friend and CL497 Layered Flowers), Impression Plate – Papertrey Ink (Woodgrain), Ink – Ranger (JBS Spice Tin), Pearls – Prima, Thread – DMC.

Today just also happens to be my brother’s birthday. This means that I should really give my house a call soon. Like, before everyone goes to bed. Oops! I’m not the most attentive daughter/sister in the world. Thankfully, they still love me in spite of that. Here’s the birthday card I created for my brother:

I used Background Basics: Newsprint for the main piece and loooove how that looks. That set is going to be a staple in my studio for a long time to come.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Pure Poppy, Aqua Mist, Vintage Cream), Ink – Ranger (Tea Dye and Vintage Photo Distress Ink), Die – Papertrey Ink (Victorian Lace Border), Letter Stickers – Cosmo Cricket, Corner Rounder – WRMK.

Also, when walking around outside today, I noticed one little lone blue flower growing on our lawn. Then I noticed about a thousand of them growing along the side of my house. Oh, how happy that made me! I grabbed my nice camera and went out to take some artsy pictures.

Look! No snow! This is our house. We kind of like it, but kind of don’t. It has its flaws but we love it anyways.

Like these flowers. What are they? Why are they there? They’re so gorgeous and happy and I love it.

Then there are places in my house like this. Do i know where those stairs go? No. Do I know where the door that is next to those stairs goes? Also no. This house is one big scary mystery. And then, sometimes you find surprise flowers. :)

Thanks much to stopping by today! I’m editing the VTM for tomorrow right at this very moment, so make sure you check back for that tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll have some more time to work on big projects this week. My two main goals are to release my No-Stress Distress Inks Class bundle (with bonus materials) soon and have my cards for my local class done and to the store by Friday. Eek! I better get my butt in gear. Off to homework land. Hope your weekends were fabulous!

Love,

Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 7:23 pm

    Go study! Heehee. Good luck on your test! I love both cards. I entered the same challenge and my tag is right after your card! I love the wood grain background. The flower is so colorful! And nice man card! Love the background!

  2. April 10, 2011 8:33 pm

    Is chem part of your graphic design program? Those are very different classes . . . heh. (I did business in college with a biochem minor, which called for some heavy credit hours each semester since there were such different course requirements for them). Good luck with the rest of the semester.

    • April 10, 2011 9:22 pm

      Hehe no, chem is just a general requirement (physical science + lab), and I chose chemistry over physics (which made me cry in high school… lol!). It’s actually really nice to have the mental break from designing, though. Thanks for the well wishes!

  3. April 11, 2011 12:04 am

    Good luck with the exam. I use to love Chem. lab. Lovely cards Britt and cant wait to see your next post.

  4. April 11, 2011 12:11 am

    Wonderful post Britt..love your cards, just gorgeous…happy birthday to your brother too, I am sure that he will love the card..also good luck with exams..hugs sweetie!

  5. April 11, 2011 12:36 am

    Both cards are so great! I love that woodgrain impression plate in the first one – I recently ordered that — it will be waiting for me when I get home to the states on Friday for a visit! Yay!

  6. Debbie permalink
    April 11, 2011 12:59 am

    Love the cards! Hoping you do well on the Chem exam.. that was the one subject that I really struggled with…

  7. April 11, 2011 6:15 am

    You make me tired just reading your posts! If you ever get a moment to bottle up some of that energy please let me know – I’ll be first in line to purchase it! :) Good luck with everything this week!

  8. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    April 11, 2011 6:50 am

    AWESOME cards! Good luck with school. Of course, it SHOULD be your first priority…although I totally understand that it’s sometimes hard to be…so much fun stuff out there! I wish I could help you with your schoolwork so you’d have more time to create…that’s how much I enjoy your creations! :)

  9. Heather permalink
    April 12, 2011 8:19 pm

    The flowers in pics are called “Stars of Holland”. Pretty, huh?

  10. April 15, 2011 8:25 pm

    LOL, nope, definitely not a Christmas-y card! :) Love that gorgeous flower, it’s totally FAB!

Leave a Reply

