Skip to content

Spring Colors.

April 9, 2011

It’s definitely spring here in Minnesota (thank the Lord!)… 97% of the snow has melted, the grass is a pale shade of sickly yellow-green, and birds are chirping outside at all hours of the day. (I don’t think Trixie has slept for like three days… this is the first time she’s seen so many birds outside. She was born in late October, after all!) Last night, I was looking for something to jumpstart my inspiration, and (who I assume is the owner, Heidi) Simon Says Stamp tweeted to me about their current challenge going on. While I have known about their challenges for months, time always seems to slip away from me. I decided that I must make a card to enter this time! The sponsor is Magnolia and I don’t have any Magnolia stamps, so I did the next best thing: followed the challenge theme of spring colors/ Easter and used Lawn Fawn (which Simons Says Stamp sells, too). Here’s what I created:

Lots of paper piecing here with some of my favorite springy colors of cardstock (it took forever, but I did it while watching makeover shows, so it went by quickly… hehe). I did the background with Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Shabby Shutters and Peeled Paint Distress inks and some simple masking.

I felt like there wasn’t really a place to put the sentiment on the front, so I added it to the inside with a strip of vintage cream + simply chartreuse to set it off.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Lavendar Moon, Simply Chartreuse, Harvest Gold, Hibiscus Burst, Kraft, Vintage Cream and Stamper’s Select White), Ink – Ranger (JBS Brown Sugar and Distress Ink in Shabby Shutters, Peeled Paint, Tumbled Glass and Broken China), Stamps – Lawn Fawn (Critters in the ‘Burbs) and Papertrey Ink (Tag-its #2), Punches – Fiskars (LG and XL Clouds).

I’m a busy little bee over here working on some fun, secret stuff all day long. Oh, and homework. I’m supposed to do that today… right. I guess I still have to do that. :/ Hope you’re having a fabulous, productive weekend!

Love,

Britta

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    April 9, 2011 7:47 pm

    Too cute! Thanks for the continued inspiration.

  2. Kelley permalink
    April 9, 2011 8:08 pm

    Great card! If I watch tv and craft, something always ends up upside down. Maybe I need to practice more. :)

  3. kim b permalink
    April 9, 2011 9:21 pm

    LOVE it!

  4. April 9, 2011 9:39 pm

    Oh my gosh, WAY TOO CUTE! Really love these pastels, awwww….makes me yearn for lots of sunshine tomorrow!

  5. April 9, 2011 10:25 pm

    A perfect Spring card! Made me smile! I’m excited to know this big secret you’ve been blogging about lately!

  6. April 10, 2011 2:39 am

    Super sweet & cheerful!! love the colors!

  7. April 10, 2011 5:48 am

    Adorable card – your masked scene is perfection ;)
    Hugs, Ruth S

  8. April 10, 2011 7:23 am

    Very cute. I love the flowers in the tree! :)

  9. April 10, 2011 12:27 pm

    Love the beautiful pastel colors!!! cute cute card..love it!
    It would be amusing to see Trixie chase all the birds if you let her out ..

  10. April 12, 2011 7:33 am

    Super sweet card! Love the scene you created! Thank you so much for playing along with us this week at the Simon Says Stamp Challenge Blog!

    Hugs….
    Melissa
    Simon Says DT

  11. April 12, 2011 10:25 am

    This is SO pretty, Brit! :)

Leave a Reply

