Skip to content

So excited.

April 3, 2011

The last few days, I’ve been feeling weird. Like not a terrible kind of weird, but just different. I’ve been cleaning, organizing and getting stuff done. Is this what productivity feels like? Things seem to be changing around here. I’ll let you know if its for the better or worse later on. We’ll see. Just taking life one day at a time. :)

Anyways, I’m super excited because in the next couple of weeks, I get to have a brand new Macbook Pro. Some of you may know that I’m a Mac girl (as most graphic designers are as Adobe tends to work better on Macs than PCs), and I have the opportunity with my job as a Administrative Assistant for a professor at my university to pick out a new computer for the office. So, after talking it over with my boss, and since I design web pages and graphics for him and his research, he decided to let me choose a new macbook. Of course, it’s not actually mine. I have to give it back when I’m done working for him (probably shortly before I graduate next year), but for now this is an awesome opportunity to have a better, faster, slimmer computer. It’s awesome!

I’ll be the first to tell you that I’m super spoiled and blessed here. My laptop that I’ve had for over three years now just seems to be on its last leg, and this is a blessing to me. Truly. This also helps me save up for another year so that I can buy a nice upgrade computer when I graduate. I’m going to need that for a job, right? ;) So I decided to treat myself to a nice laptop bag to carry my newest prized possession (that’s not even really mine) around in. My computer goes everywhere with me, so I want this baby to be better protected than my current laptop. Someone is going to have to use this after me, so I want to make sure to keep it in good condition for them. This is where I need your help. I have my options narrowed down to a few, but I’m not sure which one to choose. Which one do you like the best?

This first one is a sensible, pretty option from Vera Bradley. ($110) It’ll go with anything and still looks elegant but not too loud.

This second one is also by Very Bradley. ($58) I’m in love with this pattern, but I’m not sure I would like all of the pressure from the bag concentrated on those two little straps on my shoulders. Regardless, I need a bag in this pattern. It’s going on my wishlist for sure if I don’t end up choosing this one.

Here is another sensible one from Ben Sherman. ($89) Okay, so it’s a men’s bag. But I like it. I would like something like this in brown leather for around this price… anyone seen anything like that? I would love a link! I think this design is so timeless, and having it in leather would make it incredibly durable as well.

Then there’s this one from Fossil. ($88) Okay, I love it. But there are two things holding me back here: there’s no pocket for the laptop (it would have to commingle with other things or I would need to carry it in an extra case), and I feel like the pattern is too trendy. I want this bag to last, and I’m afraid I would get sick of it. What do you think?

So what’s your favorite? 1, 2, 3 or 4? Also, if you know of a bag that you think I would like, please feel free to link a bag to me! If I choose one that you suggest, I’ll send you a little gift card or something. Nothing huge, but it’s worth your effort to leave some linky love. :)

And because I love ya, here’s a card that I haven’t shared yet:

This one is simple and could be so easily replicated for any occasion. I just stamped the sentiment first then drew wonky circles around it with a pencil. Punch around the circles with a paper piercer, stitch (while watching t.v. or something!) and you’re done. Easy peasy!

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft), Stamp – Lawn Fawn (Sophie’s Sentiments), Ink – Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios in Spice Tin and Distress Ink in Tea Dye), Paper piercer – Tonic by Tim Holtz, Thread – DMC.

Thanks for stopping by today, sweeties! Remember to check back at midnight EST tonight for the new Lawnscaping challenge (a little birdie told me that the cards from the DT are the best yet this time around…) and tomorrow morning sometime for this next week’s Video Tutorial Monday. It’s going to be a great week!

Love,

Britta

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 3:09 pm

    Hi Britta, looks like you have quite the quandary with choosing a bag. Of course there is the clear winner…the first one. Although if money wasn’t an issue I’d also get the cute flowery one for fun and since I’m a Fossil fan, I’d get that one just because!
    Your card is adorable, just like you! I love your wonderful hand-stitched design.
    blessings~

  2. April 3, 2011 3:19 pm

    Hmmm-are you going for function or fashion? Do you have a big school bag to carry too-or can you combine the laptop bag w your book bag? And if you have a cover for the Mac would it matter if it had to co-mingle w other stuff? Pick the one that makes you smile! I like both the pattern bags.

  3. Naomi permalink
    April 3, 2011 3:23 pm

    Good afternoon Britta, It is a hard choice I know. I have one made like the first one but it is dark red leather and has a pocket on the outside on both sides. I love it! I love the padded pocket inside for the laptop and I love the double straps. I have had several different kinds of laptop cases in the past and this one is my favorite. You know you need padding around the laptop but you also need a pocket inside for your mouse and a space for the cord. I keep file folders in there too so I don’t want to have to fish for my mouse. Good luck with your decision!

  4. April 3, 2011 3:31 pm

    I am a fan of number 3. I don’t carry my macbook pro around too much, but when I do I keep it in a laptop sleeve and then put it in a messenger bag that I bought at the Architecture store in Chicago. My bag is green so it does have some color but it’s pretty plain otherwise. But I have a few buttons I’ve collected that I pinned on the strap to make it mine and give it some personality. My bag is not padded because it is not specifically a computer bag but the laptop sleeve I just love, it protects my computer very well, and it is covered in fun polka dots! I also think the messenger style bag is best because you can carry it across your body or on one shoulder, it’s nice to have a choice.

  5. April 3, 2011 4:04 pm

    I like the first bag, but I tend to like black accessories. I feel like they go with everything. :) I think the black bag would transition well to whatever job after graduation too.

  6. April 3, 2011 4:17 pm

    I love your card…so stinkin cute! The wonky circles are my favorite. As for the bag, I like number one [huge Vera fan here!] but I like the functionality of the Fossil bag as well. Carrying it across your shoulder is quite nice. I got a slim line padded protector for my MacBook Pro at Target for about $15 and then I usually slide that into whatever bag it is I’m using on any given day. Hope this helps!

  7. Nana Jo permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:04 pm

    I vote for number 1

  8. Linda permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:06 pm

    #1!!!!!!!!

  9. Cheri permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:18 pm

    I like the Fossil trendy patterned bag. It will get you to graduation when you will get a new computer and a new bag to go with it and a fabulous new job.

    Question – what do you do with the back of your stiched cards? How do you secure or hide the ends of the embroidery floss? Thanks for any info!

  10. Tracey permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:59 pm

    I love number 1!!

  11. April 3, 2011 8:30 pm

    Hi Britta! I’m a huge fan of your blog and Lawnscapings and I recently finished watching your no-stress distress videos and I LOVED them! Thanks for all of the ongoing inspiration, you are too awesome! You are also cool for liking the office and top chef. =)

    Anyhow, I love ALL of the bags, but I would have to choose bag #1. I’m also someone that gravitates toward cute and funky prints, but in this case I agree that you need something that is functional and classic. You can take that bag with you to anything where the other bags might not be professional/dressy enough depending on the setting! Just my two cents! =D

    Also, that card is amazing!

  12. Debbie permalink
    April 4, 2011 12:58 am

    I like the black Vera Bradley bag.. you can always make your pins and flowers to add to the bag and change it with the seasons. Be careful about getting a large leather bag.. those suckers can be heavey and they seem to get heavier over time!

    Cute card!

  13. April 4, 2011 2:09 am

    I vote number 2
    Or this one?
    http://www.kolobags.com/the-casual-laptop-tote-orange-flower-p-2786
    Or this one?
    http://www.kolobags.com/milo-15-inch-laptop-messenger-bag-p-4515

    Shopping for some one else is fun, don’t need to worry about my own wallet ;)
    Have fun!

  14. Patty W permalink
    April 4, 2011 2:46 am

    Hi Brit!

    Yay – I am so envious of the MacPro!!! But thrilled for you – better laptop for you just means quicker blog posts and videos for us and I love that!

    Hmmmmm if I had to choose for me it would be between 1 and 3. One because it goes with everything and looks sturdy enough to protect your new Mac, and 3 because if you are carrying a bunch of other stuff a messenger type bag with a thick strap might be more comfortable and better for you ergonomically, especially if you can crossbody it. I like number 2 but would have the same concern as you do about the straps – and the little links that are connecting the straps to the bag don’t look as sturdy as in number 1. And the last one is a bit too trendy for me (but that is just my opinion!!!)

    Good luck!

  15. Cyndi permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:12 am

    Functionally, though a bit boring, #3 is the best choice for caring around campus. You could embellish it to change with the seasons or your mood!
    #1 would be a pain in the wrists and shoulder pretty quickly.
    I also think #2 is a contender only because it is soooo cute. Is it padded inside to protect the MAC? Straps don’t look like they will last a year with heavy use.
    #4 says”steal me”, lack of pockets is a problem too.
    I’d go with function, versatility and durability over cute on this one.
    Your cards are as always, inspirational! It’s a joy coming to your site.

  16. April 4, 2011 2:29 pm

    Hey!

    I love bags #3 and #4. I can recommend you a Reisenthel laptop bag (reisenthel.com). I own the “frame laptop bag M” and I love it. It’s durable, protecting my laptop in every situation (on airplanes, in trains, in school,…), and it’s also a very timeless design. And there’s like lots of space for everything. You can pack more stuff in that bag than you can probably carry.
    I just love the whole brand, I think I own about 4 of their bags… and no, unfortunately I’m not going to get paid for praising them :-D

    Lovely card btw

  17. April 4, 2011 4:49 pm

    Good for you Britta! I say #1

  18. April 4, 2011 5:35 pm

    Hi Britta! I have to go with #1 and I love all the work you do :) I sat here over the weekend and watched just about every youtube video you have :)

  19. Sue McRae permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:33 pm

    Hard decision. I like #2 because I love how colourful it is and I am a huge fan of red but then my practical side would take over and say #1 because it’s black, it’s classic and it goes great with everything.

  20. Karla permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:36 pm

    I am more of a plain jane girl so I would pick 1 or 3. Have fun choosing.

  21. serena permalink
    April 4, 2011 8:38 pm

    Hi Britta,

    So number 2 and 4 are very cute, but I would pick #4, it looks more versatile and sturdy! plus it’s more of a everyday bag and will match more with your clothing.

    Let us know which bag you pick!

    • serena permalink
      April 4, 2011 8:40 pm

      Whoooops I meant I would pick #3!! Sorry about that :S

  22. April 5, 2011 12:14 pm

    Congrats on getting a Macbook Pro. I have one and love it!! I like Bag #1 the best!

  23. April 8, 2011 7:33 am

    What I do for mine is I have a fashionable soft cover and then I put it into a bag that is similar to #3. #3 while it maybe considered a “man” bag is super efficient in carrying around my Macbook Pro and I still get my sense of design with my soft cover and in my mind the wonderfully padded bag and extra cover keeps my Mac warm, cozy, and protected. LOL~ =)

Leave a Reply

