Skip to content

Lawnscaping Challenge #7

April 3, 2011

It’s the first Monday of the month, so you know what that means. Another Lawnscaping challenge! I’m excited about this one and am even more excited to see what the rest of the DT and you guys come up with. It’s going to be a fantastic challenge; I can feel it. Introducing this round’s theme:

Pretty simple, right? You can use any stamp you have and make a background… not just teeny tiny backgrounds. Although you could use that too. :) I wanted to make a “cheer up” card. This one happens to be kind of near and dear to my heart, because I’ve had a couple of really hard weeks recently. The changing of the seasons is not easy on me, mentally or physically. Sometimes I just need to step back and remind myself to enjoy life. So here’s what I came up with.

Example #482 of my current vellum addiction. I don’t know what it is; it’s just such a good compromise between covering an area up with cardstock or not covering it up and having the card be too busy. I think it makes the birds stand out better. Love them! They’re colored with Prisma colored pencils (Yellow Ochre for the beak of the owl, Light Aqua and Aquamarine for the lighter parts and True Blue and Indigo Blue for the darker parts of the birds), by the way.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Rustic Cream, Kraft and Vellum), Stamps – Lawn Fawn (Critters in the Forrest and Fly Free), Ink – Ranger (Tea Dye Distress Ink and Brown Sugar JBS ink) and Tsukineko (Versamark), Embossing Powder – American Crafts (Chestnut Zing), Brads – Making Memories, Colored Pencils – Prismacolor (Yellow Ochre, Light Aqua, Aquamarine, True Blue and Indigo Blue), Brown Marker – Stampin’ Up! (Chocolate Chip), Corner Rounder – WRMK.

Oh, and check out this prize that you automatically enter to win when you add your link to the Lawnscaping post for this challenge. Um, can I enter? I want! Hehe.

Now hop on over to the Lawnscaping blog for the main challenge post and check out these other great links:

Thanks for all of your support, for spreading the word about Lawnscaping and, most importantly, for playing along! I can’t wait to see what everyone else comes up with for the challenge. It’s going to be fanastic seeing all of the creations roll in!

Keeping with the Lawn Fawn-y theme for today, my VTM that will be up later today will be featuring two other new Lawn Fawn sets. I guess I’m just lovin’ the cute lately. Who says that’s a bad thing, though? Hehe.

Love,

Britta

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 10:48 pm

    This is DIVINE! I absolutely LOVE the blues and greens you colored! Can you show the colors you used to do that, please?

    • April 4, 2011 6:53 pm

      I used Yellow Ochre for the beak of the owl, Light Aqua and Aquamarine for the lighter parts of the birds and True Blue and Indigo Blue for the darker parts of the birds. Hope that helps! I have the 48 piece Prismacolor set and love every color. Someday I hope to have the full collection. :)

  2. Jeannie L permalink
    April 3, 2011 11:56 pm

    I love the card… the use of vellum is just perfect. Great coloring. So tempted to get myself those color pencils too :)

    • April 4, 2011 6:54 pm

      Get themmmm! They’re amazing and color like butter. I have the 48 count, and you can buy them on sale or with a coupon oftentimes for less than thirty dollars. Totally worth it in my opinion!

  3. April 4, 2011 1:47 am

    Awesome card, Britta! Your coloring is stunning. I love the shading of the blues. It looks fantastic!

  4. April 4, 2011 5:25 am

    Gorgeous colouring and I love all the brads!

  5. April 4, 2011 6:46 am

    Beautifully colored blue birds! And nice background too…I had a vellum addiction once, haven’t used it lately but maybe I should start because this card is just too adorable! Sorry you have been down lately, Spring will be here soon, I always find it much more cheery when it warms up and things start to grow. Cheer up friend! I’m sending happy thoughts your way! :)

  6. Vickie White permalink
    April 4, 2011 9:16 am

    Hi Britta,

    I’m sorry you’re having a rough time lately. I’m praying your sunshiny days will cheer you up and you’ll be better than ever! I just recently found your site and LOVE watching your videos! Not only are you great at your creativity, but you are so REAL when you share your thoughts with us! I so look forward to every new post you send our way!

    Praying for you!
    Vickie White

  7. April 4, 2011 9:52 am

    This card is amazing. I love the log background, so perfect just coloring in the leaf on the log, I love it. And your coloring of the birds, owl, is stunning. And I’m thinking of breaking out some vellum now because of you:)

  8. April 4, 2011 10:14 am

    Hi Britta, I just discovered you on youtube and immediately subscribed! I love love your tutorials and the fact that you always sound cheerful makes me smile while watching LOL Your card stood out the most for me with the background. Thanks for inspiring!

  9. April 4, 2011 11:33 am

    Britta!!!!! You continue to make me swoon! I love LOVE love it!!! I haven’t gotten this set yet & beauties like this just make me kick myself!!! I’m in LOVE with that owl. Also the birdie… sigh! All of the critters are adorable… I love them all!

  10. April 4, 2011 11:59 am

    Totally love youre card Brit – I’m anyone’s for a bit of owly goodness, and your stamped background is perfect ;)
    Hope you’re feeling cheery and productive. Hugs, Ruth S xx
    ps. I’m writing this comment from our new Macbook Pro. Seriously yum. Hope you get yours!

  11. April 4, 2011 6:51 pm

    This is totally brilliant, and well worth the wait! I love the blue birdies, the vellum, the neutral logs and green leaves… I love it all! I think this is my new favorite card of yours!

  12. serena permalink
    April 4, 2011 8:35 pm

    I absolutely LOVEEEE this “love life” card. Honestly, you make the most amazing things.

    And thanks for posting tutorials!

  13. April 5, 2011 5:34 am

    this card is super cute! Love how you created that bacground.

Trackbacks

  1. VTM 30 – Baby Polaroid Card « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

