Skip to content

Creative Explosion: Day 5 – Shaped Card

April 1, 2011

Today’s an extra special fun day because we’re not particularly focusing on one stamp company, but a shape instead. I created this shape, and then I cut it out on my Silhouette and Laurie cut it out on her cricut. I can’t wait to see what she did with it! Here’s the shape so you can download it yourself in these forms: pdf, jpg, png, svg, and Silhouette Studio. Enjoy the freebie! Here’s what the shape looks like:

And here’s what I did with it:

Love this label-y shape! I wanted to emphasize the background by adding some clear embossing to it, so that’s what I did. :)

Supplies: Cardstock – American Crafts (pink) and Papertrey Ink (Stamper’s Select White), Button – Papertrey Ink, Lace – May Arts, Stamps – Hero Arts (CL508 Hello Luscious Patterned Flowers, CL520 Live and Laugh and CG298 Life of the Party Dots), Ink – Colorbox (Wisteria Chalk Ink), Twine – The Twinery (Lilac), Pink Pen- Stampin’ Up! (Melon Mambo), Card Shape – own design.

Thank you SO much, Laurie, for joining me this week. I had such an amazing time creating and being inspired by you, and I can’t wait to do this again sometime! I’m definitely looking forward to more collabs in the future. :) You’re amazing, dear Laurie!

Thanks to all of the rest of you for your sweet comments and love this week as well. You warm my heart so much! Now go over and make sure to check out Laurie’s post for today and leave her some love.

Creative Explosion! with Laurie and Britta – In Review:

Monday Hero Arts: A Happy Hello Laurie | Britta
Tuesday Papertrey Ink: Doily Day LaurieBritta
Wednesday Lawn Fawn: Bake Me a Cake LaurieBritta
Thursday Paper Smooches: Vegtastic LaurieBritta
Friday Shaped Card Day: Freebie Download LaurieBritta

Thanks again. You all make my life so bright.

Love,

Britta

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 3:52 am

    Totally love your card Brit – the clear embossing is a perfect touch!
    I only have a Cuttlebug so can’t digi-cut your fabby shape – I think I’ll try and print it to use as a template though. Looks fun!
    Hugs, Ruth S

  2. April 1, 2011 5:40 am

    This was such a fun week with you and Laurie creating some amazing stuff :)

  3. April 1, 2011 8:20 am

    I love the polka dots! And the color!

  4. April 1, 2011 11:30 am

    I so love the polka dots! And the embossing is so pretty! This is just adorable! I love your idea of doing a shaped card! Can you believe I have never made a shaped card like this? I love it! I am looking forward to using it again! This week has been so fun! I am gonna miss ya! We are going to have to do this again soon! Thanks so much for the invite!

  5. April 1, 2011 2:13 pm

    Soooo pretty! There’s so much I love on this card… I love the polka-dots, the shades of PINK, the lace ribbon, and the tiny hint of faux stitching on the side. Super cute work, girl. You and Laurie pulled off such an inspiring week. How fun that you two teamed-up together!

  6. April 1, 2011 5:28 pm

    Love those polka dots!
    Beautiful card…
    love the colors!
    Thanks so much for the shape…
    I’ll drag out my Cricut soon…
    too cute not to use!

  7. April 1, 2011 7:28 pm

    A fellow blogger sent me to your site. She knows how much I love shaped cards. Thank you so much for this shape. I am loving it.
    Myrna

  8. April 2, 2011 7:01 am

    Oh this is too funny! I guess I didn’t read the part about this being a downloadable file you were offering and mentioned on Laurie’s blog that I didn’t have a shape like that and would have to see what my Silhouette had to offer!!! Thank you Britta-now I know what it has to offer!! Love your card and the embossed polka dots really are cool:)

Leave a Reply

