Skip to content

Creative Explosion: Day 4 – Paper Smooches

March 31, 2011

Sorry this is going up a little late! *Someone* (ehem…. me) forgot to set her alarm for a reasonable hour and woke up at 11am. Ooops!

Welcome back to another fun day with Laurie! Today we’re using a stamp set from one of my very newest favorite companies, Paper Smooches. Really, all of the stamps from PS are so adorable. In fact, they’re releasing another 3 or 4 sets tomorrow, so watch for that! I know I’ll be checking at midnight to see which I can’t resist ordering… hehe. Here’s the stamp set we’re using today. It’s Vegtastic:

This was actually my first time using this set, and I’m super excited to use it more! These stamps are magnificent and super high quality. Yum! Here’s the card I made to give to my boyfriend. Hehe.

I kept this one really clean and simple, with just the stamped image and sentiment colored with my Prisma colored pencils. Then, I just used a circle nestabilities as a templete for embossing. I taped it to the front of the card with washi tape and then used a stylus from the back to create that embossed circle. Neat trick, huh?

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft), Stamps – Paper Smooches (Vegtastic), Ink – Tsukineko (Black Memento), Colored Pencils – Prisma, Embossing Template – Spellbinders (Circles Nestabilites Large), White Pen – Signo Uniball.

I also have another card that I made last night using more images from the set as well as some paper piecing, and I’m going to share it as a “sorry about making you wait” present. ;) Or maybe I was going to share it anyways. I guess you’ll never know! Hehe.

I made this cute card to send home to my family. The pepper represents my dad, the peas my two brothers, and the carrot my mom. I combined the 1 <3 You sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s Say Cheese set with the “bunches” from the “thanks bunches” sentiment in the PS set. To stamp just the one word, I inked up the stamp and then masked off the area I didn’t want to stamp with a post-it. It worked great and I love that I can create my own sentiments.

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Spring Moss, Simply Chartreuse, New Leaf, Orange Zest, Pure Poppy, Dark Chocolate, Kraft, and Harvest Gold), Stamps – Paper Smooches (Vegtastic) and Lawn Fawn (Say Cheese), Ink – Tsukineko (Versamark) and Ranger (Tea Dye Distress Ink), Impression Plate – Papertrey Ink (Moroccan Tile), Embossing Powder – American Crafts (White Zing).

I also want to submit a card to the Totally Hues #4 challenge that closes tonight, so I’ll be posting that later today when I have a chance to add the finishing touches. I know, I’m a little card crazy this week! I love it.

Make sure you go and check out Laurie’s blog for today as well. She has come up with another stunner. Amazing! She’s just that good!

Happy Thursday! You know what that means? Tomorrow’s Friday. I get a massage on Friday, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. I have soooo much tension in my neck, shoulders and back that it’s actually causing some real, chronic pain. Hopefully this will help bunches to take time to relax and get the kinks out.

Thanks so much for stopping by this week. I’m having so much fun and am so honored and thrilled with the comments, tweets, and other mentions that you sweet, sweet ladies are linking back to me or just leaving love. It means so much to me. Seriously, my blog readers (new and longtimers) are the best. Thank you soo sooo much!

Love,

Britta

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 11:08 am

    Eee! Love your PS veggie cards Brit – too cute ;)
    Secret: I once embroidered a pepper onto a pair of oven gloves with the sentiment ‘Hot stuff’ as a gift for my boyfriend (now husband). He didn’t have any oven gloves and I thought the double-meaning pun was funny. Hmm. Still… he used the oven gloves for a *long* time, until they fell apart so I guess he didn’t think it was that tragic a gift!
    Take care, hugs, Ruth S

  2. Terri (blindstamper) permalink
    March 31, 2011 11:12 am

    Those cards are adorable! Hope your massage helps…we need you feelin’ good so you can create! :)

  3. March 31, 2011 11:22 am

    I love your veggie family card Britta! That white embossing is a very cool effect. I just ordered some white Zing so I will have to gather some inspiration from you. The Pepper card is great too, love the simplicity of it, and thanks for the embossing tip!

  4. March 31, 2011 11:31 am

    These are both way too cool, so rich and vibrant in colors! Love them veggies!

  5. nancy caudill permalink
    March 31, 2011 6:27 pm

    Found you on youtube, I am a stamper also and a quilter, 57 years old and was just wondering, How do you pick what stamps that you want to buy? And the paper, and do you take classes to learn all of this stuff? I know you are a college student, you sure are a busy little beaver, lol. Do you work for any of the stamp companies? Was just wondering cause you sure do seem to know what you like and I have so much stuff that I haven’t used half of it and was wondering how do you control your spending? I havent exactly learned that yet. Lol. Reallly do like your tutorials. If you don’t take classes where do you learn ? Thank you. Thanks for your time.

    Nancy

  6. March 31, 2011 10:40 pm

    Yummy again…that hot stuff sentiment rocks!! (wink wink!!)
    Love the cute veggie patch card…love the fab colors you used!! The white embossing stands out on those colors!! those impression plates! sigh!! they’re fabulous!!

    Enjoy your weekend..we’re gonna go nuts this weekend..the World cup cricket finals in my home city and I can’t go to watch it..coz now I live in another city!! bwahhh!!

  7. April 1, 2011 7:07 am

    These cards are sooo cute…i love them.

  8. April 1, 2011 11:33 am

    Can you believe I almost used that same background IP? How funny would that have been! I thought it looked like a ketchup bottle label! Anyway, your cards are adorable1 I love the faux stitching on the top one! Great job with these!!! OH and that ‘bunch’ of veggies is too cutE!

  9. April 2, 2011 12:28 am

    Those cards are just too stinkin’ cute!! I have *got* to get that Veg-tastic stamp set!

Trackbacks

  1. Creative Explosion: Day 5 – Shaped Card « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

