Skip to content

No-Stress Distress Inks #9 – Watercolor Stamping

March 16, 2011

Okay, I’m not going to lie. I’m really excited about this lesson. It just may be my favorite one of this series yet! This week is a major catch-up week for me. I’m trying to catch up on homework, posting on my blog, and just life in general. In my post yesterday, I mentioned that I was going to make cards with my friend, Jake, last night. My boyfriend even joined in and made a card as well. You guys are going to be amazed at the job that they did. Seriously! I took pictures last night and am super excited to share the results with you all. Look for that post either later today or tomorrow. It depends how busy I am today. Ha.

Anyways, onto the lesson for today! We’re going into some more in-depth water techniques that look complicated but are actually really, really easy. Don’t believe me, just watch the video and I promise you will. :)

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my Channel

Here are this lesson’s projects:

This technique is one of my favorites. It gives a new look to your stamps that you may have not seen this way before. :)

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Spring Moss and Simply Chartreuse), Watercolor Paper – Canson, Ink – Ranger (Distress Inks in Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Faded Jeans and Chipped Sapphire), Border Punch – Fiskars (Scalloped Sentiment), Ribbon – Papertrey Ink (1/4” Silk Ribbon), Rhinestones – Hero Arts, Stamps – Hero Arts (CG248 Large Solid Flower and CL487 Thank You for Being My Friend).

The second card is my absolute favorite, though. Look at that background… it’s SO gorgeous and, as you saw in the video, super easy as well. Love!

Here’s the close-up:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Kraft), Watercolor Paper – Canson, Ink – Ranger (Scattered Straw, Mustard Seed, Dried Marigold and Spiced Marmalade), Stamps – Hero Arts (CG244 Large Fabric Design and CL487 Thank You for Being My Friend), Button – Papertrey Ink, Gem Stone – Hero Arts, Ribbon – Papertrey Ink (Summer Sunrise Satin Ribbon), Button Twine – Papertrey Ink.

The Print-Out

The lesson PDF that you can download and print for free is here. (You can download all of the pdfs for each lesson over there at scribd.com as well.)

Techniques in the Video

  • Make an abstract stamped background by stamping several distress ink pads onto your craft mat or palate paper. Use colors that will look good blended together (either all within the same color family or ones that are next to one another on the color wheel work very well). I used Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Faded Jeans and Chipped Sapphire here.
  • Spray the ink with several mists from a mini water bottle. (It takes a little practice to get the right amount of water. Be patient and the effects will be worth it!) Move around your stamp in the ink, covering the surfaces of the stamp with the ink from the craft mat. Stamp down firmly onto water- color paper, lift up carefully and then repeat as desired across the card.
  • For the second technique, ink up a background stamp with several colors of Distress Ink very well (once again, remember to pick colors that will blend well together and not look “muddy”). Spray the stamp with a few spritzes of water until tiny droplets form.
  • Place your watercolor paper onto the stamp lying on your work surface and lightly press around the paper. Let the water do the work for you!
  • Carefully lift off the paper and admire your work. Let dry.

Questions

Melissa S: I just got the Jenni Bowlin dabber paints-I know you like her inks-have you used her paints yet?

Answer: Yes! I have several of her daubers and like them very much. I think her Chili Powder, Malted Milk and Spice Tin ones are must-haves. I don’t use paint very often, but these are my go-to paints when I do because they’re so easy to work with.

Christiana: I made several attempts at this [water basics] technique [from lesson 8]. They all turned out BAD. I mean, BAD. Maybe because I was just using regular cardstock?

Answer: That’s exactly why! With the water flicking technique it’s not as pivotal, but with anything where lots of water involved, use watercolor paper. I don’t know exactly why, but the colors end up so much more vibrant on watercolor paper. Just keep trying and you’ll get the hang of it! I have faith in you. :)

If you have any other questions, feel free to leave them on this post! I’ll answer them in the next lesson. :) Also, do you have any requests for Distress Ink techniques next week? I’m planning those lessons right now and don’t want to miss anything that people really want to see. So let me know by leaving a comment or dropping me an e-mail (britta.swiderski(at)gmail.com)! Thank you all so much for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed this lesson as much as I did. See you soon for another crazy creative adventure. :)

Love,

Britta

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 11:24 am

    So pretty!! That 2nd one had great color-I agree with you! My watercolor paper is on the way!!!

  2. March 16, 2011 2:06 pm

    gorgeous britta!

  3. March 16, 2011 2:37 pm

    Britt, great video, as usual! Have always loved this technique! Beautiful results on both cards!

  4. Jeannie Lim permalink
    March 16, 2011 2:38 pm

    they are gorgeous… gonna have a try with them soon. Thanks for the tutorials.

  5. Annette Kelly permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:34 pm

    I’ve just found your website last night via a reference on Jennifer McGuire’s website. You are so AWESOME! I’ve already learned so many great stamping tricks.

    Thanks for making this hobby so enjoyable!

  6. March 16, 2011 10:43 pm

    LOVE this series of videos! You are such a pro! These cards are simply gorgeous! HUGS!

  7. March 22, 2011 12:26 am

    I just got around to catching up on your blog..this is awesome..boy my distress inks are taking awfully long to reach me. They’ll come in April..that’s too far away to wait..

Trackbacks

  1. A Look Back on the No-Stress Distress Inks. Class « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

