Skip to content

No-Stress Distress Inks #7 – Two-Color Clear Emboss Resist

March 9, 2011

Running a day behind here! It’s been a crazy, whirlwind week with a midterm, several projects, and packing to leave for Ohio tomorrow to scrap with some of my favorite people. I’m so excited! I literally shopped until I dropped last night. I’ll post about that later today. That’s right, you get two posts and two videos today! Really, it’s just ’cause I love ya. Anyways… here’s today’s Distress Ink lesson about about two-color clear emboss resist.

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my Channel

Here’s the finished card for today. I kept it simple, just like the other ones, so the technique would shine through.

This technique is so simple, but it looks so complicated. I love that about Distress Inks!

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream, Enchanted Evening and Kraft), Ink – Ranger (Distress Ink in Shabby Shutters, Bundled Sage, Crushed Olive, Peeled Paint, Pine Needles and Forest Moss and Jenni Bowlin Studios Ink in Spice Tin) and Tsukineko (Versamark), Stamps – Hero Arts (CG241 Flower Pattern and CL267 Card Messages), Ribbon – Papertrey Ink (1/4” Silk), Embossing Powder – American Crafts (Clear Zing), Pearls – Queen & Co.

The Print-Out

Download the PDF for Lesson #7 here. (If you’re having trouble downloading it, leave a comment here and let me know. I want to make sure everyone can get it easily!)

Techniques in this Lesson

  • Start out with your three lighter colors and blend them in to the background. Most of this layer will be covered up, so focus on getting the color you want and don’t worry about the blending as much. I used Shabby Shutters, Bundled Sage and Crushed Olive here.
  • Dry the layer of distress ink thoroughly with a heat gun (or let it air dry over night) until the inked part of the paper feels as dry to the touch as the back.
  • Ink up your stamp(s) well with Versamark, apply clear embossing powder and tap off the excess. Emboss with your heat tool.
  • Once cool, start to blend darker colors over the em- bossed areas. The clear embossing will resist the new ink and will allow the base color to show through. I used Peeled Paint, then Pine Needles and then Forest Moss.
  • Buff the clear embossing with a tissue or baby wipe to bring out the vibrance of the layer below. Embellish as desired.

Questions

If you have any, let me know! I’m here for ya. :)

By the way, my chem test on Monday went very well. I got an A-, so I’m happy. I’ve always found chemistry really interesting and sometimes wonder if I should’ve gone into that, but then I remember that I love crafting and graphic design. Hehe. See you later today for a shopping post and a beginner tutorial on card sizes and measurements. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such words of love!

Love,

Britta

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 10:46 am

    Thanks for yet another wonderful tutorial and the tips!!

    P.S. Love your brightly colored nails :D

  2. March 9, 2011 12:33 pm

    Gorgeous card! Those background colors look stunning together. The video was great too. You always give such clear and organized instructions. Very nicely done, Britta!

  3. March 9, 2011 2:47 pm

    Another great card & video!! Left a little award for you on my blog today! http://seizethestamp.blogspot.com/2011/03/boy-girl-baby-cards-award.html

  4. March 9, 2011 4:57 pm

    Hey Brit,

    I love this one! You really made the image pop, it looks great! It almost looks like gold, in the pics.

    I’m going to try this with the lace background stamp; I think that would look great too!

    Thanks for your great videos :)

  5. March 10, 2011 10:44 am

    Beautiful background, I can tell you are having lots of fun with your videos!! Love your cute voice!

  6. March 10, 2011 9:12 pm

    Beautiful card~the background is sooo pretty! Your videos are great!

    Good job on your Chem test! :)

  7. Stephaniek permalink
    March 11, 2011 8:02 am

    Love series so much!!! You do such a fantastic job explaining the different techniqes! I’m really new to stamping so your series has been awesome!!! Very pretty card as well!

  8. September 23, 2011 1:14 am

    Love your card and this technique, Britta! Thank you so much for your helpful tutorial and for the inspiration. Because of you, I’ve learned another fun technique and thoroughly enjoyed it. I am truly grateful :)

Trackbacks

  1. A Look Back on the No-Stress Distress Inks. Class « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

