Skip to content

A Card Measurements Video and Some Other Things.

March 9, 2011

Hey there. Today’s a strange day for me. I’m just trying to catch up on everything (a bajillion e-mails, phone calls, and other things) so that I can relax and enjoy my next five days in Ohio. It’s going to be such a blast! Last night I went shopping with my roommate, Greg, and I wanted to share my favorite purchases.

  1. My new carry-on bag. This baby is going to hold all of my TSA-allowed (ehem… no paper piercers or huge papertrimmers in this thing) scrapbooking items. I figure I only have a 40-minute layover in Chicago (my flights are both like a half an hour long – it was just wayyyy cheaper that way), so there’s a good chance my checked bag may not make it in time. At least this way I’ll have something to do at the hotel. Ha.
  2. I saw this bag and had to have it. I actually made the people working go look in the back to see if that had one that wasn’t 30 feet up in the air on a wall. They did, and this darling from Gap came home with me.
  3. My beloved Fiskars trimmer has been on the fritz. No matter what I do (even changing the blade twice), I’m still getting ragged cuts. So I decided to take the plunge to something different. From several recommendations on the Studio Calico message board, I picked out the 12 by 12 Tonic Guillotine Trimmer. So far, I really like it! I would love to get the 6 by 12 version for more porability, but Archiver’s only had the larger one in stock. You can buy it at JoAnn.com for about 33 dollars or 23 dollars (little one) this week when it’s on sale or pick it up at amazon with free shipping. I didn’t have time to wait for it, so I just used a coupon at A’s and spent about 35 dollars for it.
  4. I also picked up a pair of PINK yoga pants with a purple waistband (in longs because the store actually had them). If you didn’t know, I’m 5’10”, so talls are a necessity.
  5. I also picked up some plaid pajama pants from Aerie that were on clearance. My store had a huge selection- much larger than the one online. They’re super comfy and have rolled-up hems on the bottom, so unrolled they are the perfect length for me.

Also, I wanted to share a video that I posted today on my YouTube channel. I’ve been getting several questions over there (and here) about how to make a standard size card and what measurements the pieces that I put on the front are. This addresses that. Admittedly, my “regular” blog readers might not find this very interesting, but maybe you can just laugh at how I explain things. I’m such a dork! Anyways, here’s the video.

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Watch in HD | Subscribe to my channel

Here’s the measurements PDF that I mention in the video: download here.

Thanks for stopping by today! I’m working hard tonight to get things set up for you so you’ll have some videos to watch this weekend and some cards to look at. I’m hoping our free Wi-fi is good enough to blog from “the road,” but we’ll see how exhausted I am. :)

Love,

Brit

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 6:25 pm

    Yay shopping! have fun in OH. I’ll watch the video tonight!

  2. March 9, 2011 11:44 pm

    Awesome video..I already do this stuff in my head, but it sure is a big help to keep it in front of you.
    Regarding that paper trimmer thing..I read somewhere(mostly the SCS forums) that you need to change the long rubber thingy that goes under the blade groove. I hope I’m making sense..
    I’ll try and search that for you if I can..
    The one that you got, is on my wishlist for so long..maybe I’ll get the 6×12 trimmer..at least it doesn’t require constant change of blades!

  3. March 10, 2011 6:37 am

    Hi Brit,
    Thanks for the video; I can’t really use the measurements because of UK measurements being slightly different, but (how silly do I sound!) it really helped me work out how to use that paper trimmer!

    I bought it while I was in the US last year but it keeps cutting crooked!!!
    I’m going to line it up on the left edge now, like you did, and see how that works. Thanks :)

  4. March 10, 2011 8:58 pm

    Lol. You are adorable! What a fun video for anyone wanting to learn the basics of card measurements.

    I have the same problem with rough edges with my Fiskars paper trimmer (the same one you have) but my edges aren’t as bad as yours. I’d really like to know how to solve this problem! Other than that, I love it.

  5. Diana permalink
    March 16, 2011 8:58 pm

    This was an excellent video, very, very helpful. Thank you for your time in posting it. I have the measurements now and have a home for it on my stamping desk. I will be using this daily.

Leave a Reply

