Skip to content

No-Stress Distress Inks #5 – Background Masking and Blending

March 1, 2011

Welcome to the 5th installment of this class! I’ve gotten such amazing feedback from these lessons and I’m SO GLAD you’re enjoying them! I’m having a lot of fun with these and I hope you are as well. I might not be able to stop after just twelve tutorials. Hehe. We’ll see. :)

Today’s class is about using a simple mask to create depth and dimension with layers of distress inks. Here’s the video for today:

Watch here | Watch on YouTube | Subscribe to my channel

Here’s the card I created with the inked background:

Here’s the close-up of the pretty distress ink. Can you believe that’s only one layer of paper there? And it’s so EASY!

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream, Vellum and Kraft), Ink – Ranger (Distress Ink in Mustard Seed, Wild Honey, Spiced Marma- lade and Worn Lipstick) and Tsukineko (Versamark and Memento Black), Stamps – Hero Arts (S5485 Many Petals and CL491 Made With Love), Ribbon – Whisper White seam binding from ZipperStop on Etsy.com, Buttons – Papertrey Ink (Dark Chocolate), Button Twine – Papertrey ink (rustic white), Distressing tool – Heidi Swapp.

The Print-Out

You can download the PDF for this lesson #5 here.

Techniques covered in the video

  • Covering the entire focal piece with your base color and then adding a slightly darker color for emphasis. Even though you’ll be masking off the flower and adding more ink to the background, it’s good to blend the colors all across the card to get a more cohesive look.
  • After inking the focal image piece with your desired colors for your flower, stamp your flower on the inked piece as well as a piece of scratch paper (I used computer paper for this). Cut out the scratch paper flower and adhere it with temporary adhesive (I use Tombow repositionable) over the stamped image on your inked piece.
  • Start adding your background color by starting on the mask and working off of it. It will look messy at first, but keep in mind that everything will look like magic when you remove the mask at the end of inking.
  • Focus more color around the edges and corners for a more natural look. I used the Worn Lipstick pad directly to the paper to add more vibrant color and then blended it out with my inking tool.
  • For more vibrant edges, use a distressing tool to rough up the edges and then go back with a combination of the ink pad itself and a blending tool in the same color to make the edges really pop.

Questions?

Let me know in the comments if you have any questions. I can work them in to the next lesson. :) Also, I wanted to explain something:

Question: Why should I subscribe to you on YouTube?

Answer: For three reasons.

  1. When logged in to youtube, you can easily see if you’ve missed one of my videos (or any other channels you subscribe to) or when I have a new one right on the home page. No searching! Also, you can take advantage of the “favorites” feature if you have a YouTube account and can keep track of all your favorite videos.
  2. I know you’re watching when you subscribe, and that makes me happy. It makes me want to make even more videos. :)
  3. The more people that subscribe to my channel, the more times my videos show up in the suggested sidebar on other videos. By subscribing (and also commenting and “thumbs up”ing), you help other people find my channel. Maybe even a new scrapbooker or stamper that discovers a new technique or aspect of the hobby they didn’t know before!

That’s why I’m always reminding you to subscribe. It helps you and it helps me! So go ahead an create an account and subscribe to me (and your other favorite crafters!) over at YouTube if you haven’t already. It means a lot to me. :)

Thanks so much for tuning in for another lesson. I encourage you to try this technique out tonight!

Love,

Britta

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 10:49 pm

    So yummy! Love the colors! Wanted to tell you I’ve got my distress inks labeled and I’ve bought the foam board for the enlarged chart for the foam! What’s your opinion on getting all the re-inkers for all the ink pads?? That doubles the cost of one’s collection. Do you do a lot of water spraying w/ distress?? I’m sure that’s coming up soon in the series. I love what you’re doing! New pink mat on your desk??

  2. rcwidow permalink
    March 2, 2011 6:51 pm

    enjoying your distress ink videos Brit. I love my distress inks and use them all most all the time now. I am getting quite a collection too! But I haven’t tried this masking technique before. TFS!

  3. March 3, 2011 11:21 pm

    If I hadn’t just watched this video, I would say that I wouldn’t believe you could achieve such bright, bold colors with distress inks! Incredible! You’ve made me a believer.

Leave a Reply

