Skip to content

No-Stress Distress Inks #4 – Background Blending

February 24, 2011

Welcome to another day of my No-Stress Distress Inks class! Things have been a little insane around here; I’m working my butt off to get my graphic design portfolio ready so that I can apply for internships for summer and next year, so that’s taken up a ton of my time. I’ve also been having major technical issues. Just in the last day, I’ve gotten a scary error message on my D90 (I have to look into this more before I freak out), spilled half a glass of apple juice on my computer (which is fine because I got all of it off right away, but that was scary!) and killed a memory card (it won’t let me delete anything off of it and it’s full… anyone know what to do here?). This all makes me extremely grateful that I have two backup external hard drives so that there’s at least two copies of all my digital information between my three devices.

PSA: get an external hard drive and back up your computer! You’ll thank me later. You can buy a 1 TB external on amazon.com for less than 75 dollars (I just bought this one a couple weeks ago), and it will hold all the information you have on your computer plus more. Any external hard drive on amazon or at another retailer like that should work for any type of computer. (You don’t need to buy a special kind for just a mac or just a PC!) If you have more questions about this, leave them in the comments or e-mail me (britta.swiderski(at)gmail.com) and I’ll type up a post about this in a couple days. Backing up your digital information is SUPER important!

Anyways, off my soap box for today. Hehe. Here’s today’s video lesson:

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Subscribe to my Channel

*This video and all of my previous ones from the last two months can be seen in HD! Watch it over at YouTube for that option. It looks pretty. :)

Here’s the card that I made using this background:

Here’s the close-up of that pretty distress ink background:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream), Patterned Paper – Basic Grey (Pyrus 6 by 6 pad), Inks – Ranger (Distress Ink in Stormy Sky, Faded Jeans, Chipped Sapphire, Peeled Paint, and Forest Moss), Label Punch – EK Sucess, Pearls – Queen & Co., Stamp – Papertrey Ink (Mat Stack 4 Collection), Ribbon – Cream Seam Binding from ZipperStop on Etsy, Edge die – Papertrey Ink (Edgers #1).

The Print-Out

Here’s the PDF for today’s class: Lesson 4.

Techniques covered in the video:

  • Covering the back of a card with post-it notes (or other masking material) to protect the back from smeared ink. You can skip this step if you don’t care about the back of the piece (ex: if you plan on adhering the inked piece to a card front later).
  • Blending inks onto paper using a swirling motion by starting off the card and working on to the card. This helps prevent harsh impressions from the foam. Ink pads that have more ink in them (are newer) are more likely to cause the edge of the blending foam to show, but all that is required to fix it is a little more ink and blending.
  • These inks stay workable for quite a while, so if you don’t like what you’re seeing yet, go back and add more color and blend until you are satisfied.
  • I worked from top to bottom on this card and used the distress inks in this order: Stormy Sky, Faded Jeans, Chipped Sapphire, Peeled Paint and Forest Moss.

Questions?

Feel free to leave them in the comments either here or on YouTube. I’m SO glad to hear that so many are enjoying these videos; that means so much to me. FYI, next week we’ll be talking about Basic Masking and Basic Emboss Resist. If you have any questions geared towards those topics specifically, let me know so I can include them in the videos. :)

Hugs and pretty rainbow backgrounds,

Britta

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 3:57 pm

    I love the blending so much!!! TFS!

  2. February 24, 2011 5:45 pm

    I am really enjoying these videos!! I’m getting into the distress inks & ‘know’ how to use them but am still a ‘beginner’ & your tips are awesome! Thanks for taking the time out of your crazy hectic schedule to share :D.

  3. February 28, 2011 8:22 am

    I’m off to watch this video on you tube, but had to stop by and say that I finally made my purchase! Yay! got the 5 basic colors that you suggested, plus my blending tools. Can’t wait for it to arrive!!!
    I had another question. Since these are water-based inks (they are, aren’t they?) will it affect my colored images? I only have sharpies to color and Watercolor pencils. No copics or prismas yet. Do I color before I blend or color after I blend? I do own Derwent Inktense watercolor pencils..those are permanent colors..so that would stay better than any other watercolor pencils..Would love your two cents on it.

    Thanks so much.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention No-Stress Distress Inks #4 – Background Blending « Britta Swiderski -- Topsy.com
  2. February Papertrey Ink Blog Hop! « Britta Swiderski
  3. A Look Back on the No-Stress Distress Inks. Class « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

