Skip to content

No-Stress Distress Inks Lesson #3

February 22, 2011

Hey there. Thanks for stopping by again today. :) As you may have noticed, this week is a crazy busy video here on the blog- I’ve posted a video on Sunday and Monday and will every day for the rest of the week. (Assuming my Papertrey Ink goodies are waiting at home for me right now… fingers crossed!) It’s also a pretty dang busy week around campus; with the snow day yesterday, everyone is scrambling to smoosh 5 days of class into 4 (or in my case, 3 days of class into 2), so projects and tests abound. I’m actually typing this up while I wait for one of my projects to print. The printing guy was a total d*bag, but that’s a story for another time. HA!

All in all, I’m determined to have a good day and turn everything in tomorrow. This may involve me staying up until 2 AM tonight, but I’m going to do what I have to do to stay on track.

Today’s lesson on No-Stress Distress Inks is about using the blending tool and a distressing tool to add varying levels of distress to your projects. Here’s the video for today:

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Subscribe to my Channel

Here’s the final card using the distressed focal image that I showed in the video:

Here’s a close-up of that yummy distressing:

Supplies: Cardstock – Papertrey Ink (Blueberry Skies and Vintage Cream), Stamps – Hero Arts (CL484 Whimsical Houses and CL491 Made With Love), Ink – Ranger (Tea Dye and Vintage Photo Distress Ink) and Tsukineko (Memento Black), Markers – Copic (YG25, YG17, B21, B24, T1, T3, T4, T6), Silk Ribbon – Papertrey Ink (1/4”).

The Print-Out:

I’ve also created a PDF to go along with today’s class. It goes over what’s covered in the video and includes a picture of the above card. I’m planning on whipping up one of these to go with every lesson; at the end I will release them all together as a bundle complete with links and some other fun things (a.k.a.- the whole class in review will be available for purchase at the end). I’m still working through the details of this, but the downloads included in these posts will always be free. The big one at the end (full of pretty links and a bonus project or two) will be for sale here when the class is over so you can have a really good resource to look back on.

Here’s the free Lesson #3 PDF that goes along with today’s lesson.

Techniques covered in the video:

  • Using Vintage Photo and controlling pressure to lightly distress the edges of a piece of cardstock or patterned paper.
  • Increse the pressure to make the effect more pro- nounced.
  • For a darker, more blended look, use the foam appli- cator and blend from your work sheet onto your project. This creates a nice, blended effect.
  • Use Tea Dye in conjunction with Vintage Photo to cre- ate a more subtle, blended product.
  • Use a distressing tool to rough up the edges; this helps the ink absorb and creates a shabby effect.

Hope you enjoyed today’s lesson! Leave any questions you have in the comments either here or on YouTube; I’ll make sure to cover them in the upcoming classes!

Distress Ink Q & A:

Tejal: My only question is about re-inkers. Do I need to get them along with the ink pads? Since I will be getting them delivered to the indian sub-continent… ordering again and again will not be an option for me. How long does an inkpad last before you really have to re-ink it?

My Answer: I don’t buy the re-inkers with the pads and I actually only own one re-inker (Vintage Photo). Should I own more? Probably. But there’s no specific point where you “need” to re-ink. It’s a gradual thing. Re-inkers are on my list of things to buy, but it’s hard to allow the money when there are so many other pretty things. Ha! That being said, I have several of my most-used colors that seem to be feeling not as “juicy” as they used to be; I’ll probably pick up 12 or so re-inkers at once when on sale and that should be good for my basic colors. I’ll buy more as necessary.

If you live in a place that requires extra planning as far as shipping goes, I say order your distress inks (maybe your first 6 or something like that) and, if you want to keep going with distress, order the re-inkers with your next ink pads. That way you’re not over-committing to those colors of ink.

Tejal: And what kind of cardstock works best with distress inks? At the moment the only good quality CS I get in India are Fabriano Academia sheets.

Christiana: I’m wondering if you’re going to go over the best papers to use with distress inks? Are some better than others?

My Answer: All cardstocks and type of papers “work” with distress inks as far as I know, but one may have a better results for your personal style than another. I suggest trying a smooth cardstock (also good for coloring with copics) because it’ll blend more easily. I like Papertrey Ink’s Vintage Cream ($9 for 50 sheets) and Stamper’s Select White ($6 for 40 sheets), and I know many other companies out there make thick, smooth cardstock that will work just fine. PTI’s Vintage Cream is my go-to neutral for everything, so it’s what I go to for this as well. Also, I use watercolor paper for any techniques that involve water. I find it helps the ink maintain its color integrity better. I buy mine from a local art store just in a 9″ by 12″ pad; it’s nothing too special but is has a nice feel to it and really helps absorb the color during water techniques.

Adrian: I just wanted to say that Tim Holtz himself only uses 8 distressing tools in 8 colour families. I love your board for the craft foams, I am so lifting that!!

My Answer: I’ve seen him in action, and it actually makes me cringe to see him mixing colors like that! Ha! I find my system a happy medium between Tim’s anything-goes system and Jen McGuires’ one-tool-per-color system, but everyone has a way that will work for them. :)

Thanks so much for stopping by today! See you again tomorrow for a card for Heather’s Totally Hues #2 challenge.

Love,

Britta

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 6:39 am

    This was awesome! THANK YOU!

  2. February 24, 2011 12:49 am

    Loven’ your distress series, even though I use distress inks all the time…LOL! Was totally inspired and gave you some props in my last video on my blog. Thanks and keep up your fantabulous work.

  3. February 24, 2011 6:47 am

    Thank you so much for these super super beginner’s ideas. I can’t wait to see what you have in store for the next videos.

Trackbacks

  1. No-Stress Distress Inks #6 – Clear Emboss Resist « Britta Swiderski
  2. A Look Back on the No-Stress Distress Inks. Class « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

