Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday #24: Simple Outdoor Scene

February 21, 2011

Hello from snowy Minnesota! Because of the 13″ of snow we got yesterday, all of my classes today got cancelled. Woohoo! I’m taking the hours today when I would usually be in class to just relax and do fun things. I think I’m going to work on a mini album for the contest over at Two Peas using Studio Calico product. More about that when I get that done! I’m hoping to get it all done today since I’ve terrible at finishing projects when I let them sit on my desk for days. Ha!

Today I wanted to create a little scene using Critters in the ‘Burbs from Lawn Fawn. I had been wanting this set forever, and I wanted to snow how to make a quick and easy scene on a card without much effort or pre-planning. It’s a great way to just get your feet wet into stamping. :) Here’s the card for this week:

Love those clouds! I kind of lie in the video and say there will be no masking… Well, I did a little with the clouds, but it’s super easy! Just watch the video to see the whole process. :)

And here’s the video. Hope you like it!

Watch Here | Watch on YouTube | Subscribe to my Channel

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Kraft and Vintage Cream), Stamps- Lawn Fawn (Critters in the ‘Burbs and Sophie’s Sentiments), Colored Pencils – Prismacolor, Ink- Tsukineko (Memento Black) and Ranger (Tea Dye, Tumbled Glass, Crushed Olive and Peeled Paint), Corner Rounder – WRMK, Thread – DMC.

Thanks for stopping by today! Tune in tomorrow for another installment of No-Stress Distress Inks. Starting tomorrow, there are cards to go with every video! Woohoo! If you have any questions about distress inks that you would like to be answered this week in the class, feel free to ask in the comments. Tomorrow will also include the answers to my favorite paper types and buying distress ink refills – two questions that were asked last week.

Happy Monday Funday!

Love,

Britta

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 2:14 pm

    This is as sweet as can be Brit! I love this Critters set! Off to watch your video now!

  2. February 21, 2011 2:54 pm

    Super cute britta! have fun with your mini – can’t wait to see ;).

  3. February 21, 2011 3:51 pm

    I love it! That’s a great idea to use a stamp set to create a scene instead of just an embellishment. When coloring-is it a rule of thumb to start with the lightest shade? I’m color blending challenged! Thanks for the video!

    • February 22, 2011 5:54 pm

      Yes, it’s a good rule of thumb, but it depends what effect you’re going for. I have another video that shows my techniques for using colored pencils. Here’s the link to the post: http://brittaswiderski.com/2010/11/29/week-12-monday-video-tutorial-colored-pencil/

      But yes, for this card especially (and with good quality colored pencils) I started out with the light and didn’t press down completely until I was blending everything together. So, I colored the tree top lightly with the light green, went back with the darker green along the bottom edge, and then colored with more pressure with the light green again to bring everything together and get good coverage (a.k.a. no white spots showing through). Does that make sense? Hope that helps!

  4. February 22, 2011 3:51 am

    I am happy to find your blog….cute card and lovely coloring too. TFS.

  5. Ruth S permalink
    February 22, 2011 11:21 am

    Adorable card Brit! Thanks for the video – it’s great to see your critters coming to life in the little scene ;)

Leave a Reply

