Skip to content

Week #20 Video Tutorial Monday – Distress Ink Techniques

January 24, 2011

Hey there! Mondays are crazy days for me, but I wanted to pop in and post about my newest VTM that’s up right now. To be honest, I really like this card. It’s just so fun to use other people’s amazing work as inspiration, and this one is definitely inspired by the fabulous Jill Foster. Seriously, if you aren’t a regular visitor to her blog, you should check it out. Every day is a new card that is just amazing. Add to that the fact that she’s a sweetheart and even featured me on her blog back in November, and  I can’t say enough amazing things about her. :) A lot of her cards start as just plain white cardstock and she uses distress ink to add color and flair, so that’s what I decided to do this week. Here’s what I came up with:

Believe it or not, this all started as white cardstock. Watch the video to learn about the techniques I used with the distress inks- masking, inking, blending, and a couple others. Here’s a close-up:

The video for this week. (Watch on Youtube + Subscribe to my channel.)

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Stamper’s Select White), Stamps- Hero Arts (CG125 Friend Definition, S5494 Many Petals Flower) and Lawn Fawn (Sophie’s Sentiments), Ink- Tsukineko (Memento Black) and Ranger (Distress Ink in Scattered Straw, Mustard Seed, Wild Honey, Dried Marigold, Worn Lipstick, Barn Door, Fired Brick, Vintage Photo), Thread- DMC, Stapler- Ranger/Tim Holtz.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s Video Tutorial Monday! I can’t believe I’ve been doing this for 20 weeks straight. That might be the longest I’ve ever stayed dedicated to a project. Ha. (I’m totally a chronic quitter… this explains why I have literally had ever hobby ever created. Lol!) So here’s to twenty more weekly videos! When I get a chance, I would love to create even more than one a week. Maybe this summer I’ll do something crazy like 4 a week. We’ll see. I’m getting a bit ahead of myself. ;) Okay, lunch time for me now! I only have an hour out of class all day today, so I have to make the best use of it. In my mind food = awesome use of time. I’ll be back tomorrow with another card. Can’t wait to share. :)

Love,

Britta

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 2:22 pm

    Oh my, I am so honored to be mentioned on your blog! And I LOVEEEEEEEEEEE your card. My jaw is on the floor and quite possibly broken from looking at this card and video! YOU ROCK! HUGS!

  2. Karen L permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:38 pm

    Just found your blog a couple of days ago and I’m so happy I did. What a beautiful card and a great video. How do you have time for all of this and go to school also………so impressed with your work. Looking forward to your next card.

  3. January 24, 2011 11:16 pm

    Wonderful….absolutely wonderful! Here’s hoping for 20 more weeks of your creative inspiration and video tutorials…..thanks so much for sharing your amazing gift, Britta!
    blessings….

  4. January 25, 2011 3:48 pm

    Very stunning card. Say, I emailed you about the PO Box for your card drive and was just following up, thinking it might have gone to your spam? If you’ve got a free minute (yeah, right, you are in college and those are pretty non-existant) can you shoot me an email with where to send my card and the two my two little boys made for him?

  5. sheila Hnilicka permalink
    February 4, 2011 10:18 am

    Love this card and your whole tutorial is great! I, too, love the inspiration that comes from Jill Foster’s blog. Your card is so bright, cheery and just all over fun! My daughter also goes to Minn and I think that this color scheme is the perfect “sunny day” to send her!

Leave a Reply

