Skip to content

Creativity is good.

January 22, 2011

It’s one week into the semester and I’m already spending my days and nights doing homework. So not cool. However, I took a big chunk of time for myself last night and created some cards and cleaned up a bit. Today’s goal: do laundry, finish my homework for two of my four classes, and clean up my room. Crossing my fingers that I’ll feel motivated enough to do everything! Ha. I was feeling motivated this morning to participate in another 90-Minute Scramble (hosted by Barb!) over on the Hero Arts Flickr group. It was a blast! Today’s challenge was to create a card with a frame on it. Here’s what I came up with:

I used my beloved Studio Calico Stars Veneer with some distress ink. I LOVE how this came out; the wood grain shows through the ink but still has the vibrance of the colors I put on it. The background was done with the Starburst Doily stamp and some Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Stormy Skies, and Faded Jeans distress ink. I masked off the center with a piece of scrap paper and then stamped my greeting from the CL488 Congrats stamp set. The finished card size is 6 by 6- just big enough to accommodate the star frame and the scoring around the outside (also inked with Faded Jeans distress ink). Here’s the close-up.

Supplies: Cardstock- Bazzill (Kraft), Stamps- Hero Arts (S5317 Starburst Lace and CL488 Congrats), Ink- Ranger (Spice Tin by JBS and Distress Inks by Tim Holtz in Mustard Seed, Wild Honey, Tumbled Glass, Broken China, Stormy Skies, and Faded Jeans), White pen- Signo Uniball, Wood veneer- Studio Calico, Scoring Board- Martha Stewart.

There were some amazing creations made during that hour and a half, so you should definitely check out the link above for all of those pretty creations! Also, I’m feeling a lot of love for Hero Arts… they chose this card for one of their fab five this week! Eeek! I can’t wait to share what I get for my prize. :)

Wishing you much love and major mojo,

Britta

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 10:22 am

    Love the doilies stamped in the background!! Beautiful card!

Leave a Reply

