Skip to content

Video Tutorial Monday #18 – Using Sketches

January 10, 2011

Welcome to another weekly video tutorial! This week is a little different than usual, because of three things:

1. I talk while I did the video versus doing a voice over. Not sure how I feel about this, but I thought it was necessary for this card since I wanted to talk about the sketch at the beginning and wanted it to be “live”. Any thoughts? Do you like the talking to the camera or the voiceover better?

2. It’s in HD. To view in HD, just go to view the video over at YouTube and pull down the little menu in the bottom right corner of the video box that says “360” and change it to “1080”. (Or at whatever resolution works best for your internet speed. Higher resolution means a better picture but also more time to load.) This isn’t very much extra work for me, but it takes about three times as long to import, export, and upload, so let me know if you like the HD factor. If you do, I’ll keep doing it. :) If you can’t tell the difference, tell me that too!

3. The video is more about a thought process than a specific technique. I hope you take away some valuable nuggets, though! Oh, and here’s a link to Lucy’s blog (which is amazing!) and the pdf that I used.

Okay, so here’s today’s card:

Yes, that’s the same little fox stamp from yesterday, but it was just too perfect for this card. I’m in love with the stamp a little bit. Hehe. (It’s only $6.99 at Simon Says Stamp, too! That’s definitely a good price for such a cute & versatile stamp.)

I just love the little fox peeking through the whole. It’s my favorite. :) Here’s the inside:

Simple but sweet. :)

Okay, one more shot of the cute fox. I couldn’t resist.

Here’s the video. Like I said before, you can watch it in HD over on YouTube, so give it a try! (And while you’re over there, remember to subscribe to my channel.)

Supplies: Sketch- Lucy Abrams, Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Sweet Blush, Summer Sunrise, Vintage Cream), Ink- Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios Chewing Gum and Fountain Pen, Worn Lipstick Distress Ink), Stamps- Hero Arts (E5465 Fox, CL490 Sending Smiles Messages, CL340 Birthday Sayings, S5472 Daisy Outline Pattern), Ribbon- Papertrey Ink (Silk Ribbon 1/4″), Thread- DMC.

Hope you enjoyed this week’s video tutorial! A couple of things before you go:

a. Laurel is doing a giveaway on her blog of some great scrappy goodies. Go check it out and enter!
b. Paulina’s also doing a giveaway for a $40 gift certificate to your favorite scrappy store! Go enter over there, too. :)
c. The current Lawnscaping challenge ends on Wednesday, so now is the perfect time to submit your cards! There are so many great entries and so much talent over there! Love it. :)

Thank you for stopping by today! You make me smile so much!

Love,
Britta

P.S. What should I take pictures of this week? My goals is to take out my good Nikon at least once a week and take pictures. Any ideas? Anything you want to see about my life? Ha.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 2:44 pm

    This is so cute!!

  2. Meghan permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:21 pm

    I liked hearing your voice as you created your card. I’m sure a voice over after would have been okay but I liked this one today. Great job!

  3. January 10, 2011 10:52 pm

    This card is adorable, Brit! So cute. You rocked that sketch.
    I really liked hearing your thought process and your little hum to yourself ;o) during the live version. Well, not LIVE, but you know what I mean. I like the voice over version too, but this one was good for today. So I guess, whatever you feel like! Lol. Not much help, I know.

    As to your photography, I gravitate more toward pictures of mundane things. An open book, a beam of light, a loved ones hands. Quiet statements. Little snapshots of your life and what’s most important to you.

    By the way, I left you some love on my blog today. I hope you’ll check it out! :o)

  4. January 12, 2011 2:14 pm

    Hey Brit,
    I really like this video! Yeah it’s nice to hear your thought-processes and how you like to fix things when they don’t go to plan!

    And this is a cute card; congrats on completing your collection! :)

  5. January 13, 2011 6:42 am

    Aw how CUTE is your little card!! I love how you’ve done the little cutout, fab job!!

Trackbacks

  1. Creativity is good. « Britta Swiderski
  2. No-Stress Distress Inks #12 – Putting it All Together « Britta Swiderski
  3. A look back on my favorite Video Tutorial Mondays « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

