Skip to content

I’m Feeling Sassy.

January 9, 2011

As in, today’s card is perfect for just about every college girl ever. I picked up these embossing folders when I was at home and finally got the chance to break them out yesterday. Oh boy, I see lots of animal print in my future. Here’s what I came up with using the zebra embossing folder:

To get the background, I just embossed the cream cardstock with the folder and then used my Fountain Pen JBS ink pad and rubbed it lightly over the raised surface. The recesses got a little ink, but I think that adds to the grungy look. :)

For the stars, these are the Studio Calico Wood Veener Stars. This was my first time working with them, and I’m so glad I have a bajillion more to play with. :) I simply used a JBS Chicken Feed paint dauber and then embellished them with things I had lying around on my desk.

I also wanted to dress up the inside, too. So I used a sentiment from the same set used above for the “Happy Birthday” (CL490 Sending Smiles Messages) and paper pieced the most adorable stamp ever (E5465 Fox) to bring the orange to the inside of the card. Sooo adorable. I love him:

To be honest, I don’t think the card makes any sense. Why would a fox ever be in the same place as a zebra? Ha. Oh well. At least it’s cute. And funky. :)

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Simple Chartreuse, Vintage Cream, Summer Sunrise, and Harvest Gold), Stamps- Hero Arts (CL490 Sending Smiles Messages, E5465 Fox, S5208 Designer Woodgrain), Ink- Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios Fountain Pen and Tea Dye Distress Ink) and Tsukineko (Versamark), Distressing Tool- Heidi Swapp, Black Pen- Copic (.3 Liner), Paint- Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios Chicken Feed), Embossing Folder- Cuttlebug (Animal Prints A2 Embossing Folders Set), Rhinestones- Queen & Co., Thread- DMC, Silk Ribbon- Papertrey Ink (1/4″).

Oh, and I have an announcement! I finally completed my Distress Ink collection as of today. :) JoAnn.com has everything in the scrapbooking section on sale for 40% off, and they now carry all of the ranger products, so I picked up the four that I didn’t have: Old Paper, Weathered Wood, Pine Needles, and Aged Mohagany. I’m so excited to have my collection complete, and I’m cooking up a great way to store all of my ranger inks (distress and JBS) and their foams, too. Stay tuned for more on that. My inks are taking over my desk, so it’s time to reclaim it. Ha. It’s so wonderful to finally have a collection complete, though! I only have one more (Soap Powder) for the JBS inks, too, so I’m ready for when either Tim or Jenni inevitably releases more ink colors. I’m hoping for some purples from Jenni. :)

Oh, and if you order over $50, you can use the code AP46 for free shipping. If not, you can get 40% off any regularly-priced item with the code EEDX29. Sorry for all of the enabling. :) I also picked up some Rock Candy stickles and crackle paint, two packages of inking foams (for $2.99 per pack!), and tons of foam squares (for only $1.39 per package). I can’t wait to have everything put away, organized, and pretty. Hehe.

Okay, enough of my blabbing. I have to get the house cleaned up so that when one of my roommates comes back tomorrow, he doesn’t run away scared. Ha. Only bad part about having my roommates back: no more walking around in my underwear. :) The great news is that now that someone will be home, I can do my laundry. You see, our washer and dryer are in the creepiest basement in america. So is our big freezer. I seriously have avoided going down there since I got home just because it’s so darn creepy. When there are boys around again I can feel much safer. And the kitty! Don’t even get me started about how excited I am to have the kitty home where she belongs…

Yay for clean clothes,

B

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 5:59 pm

    Your post is so funny! Reminds me of my college days! :) Love your cards! That zebra print ROCKS!

  2. January 10, 2011 8:58 am

    You are too funny! I hear you on the underwear and the creepy basement. And mine isn’t even that creepy, but I still hate to go down there when I’m home alone. In fact, I’m avoiding it right now, but I’ll have to suck it up soon — there’s laundry to be done.

    And congrats on completing your distress ink collection! I will be anxiously awaiting your storage secrets. I only have about a dozen so far and already my storage solution is driving me batty. There must be a better way.

    LOVE the card. Oh my gosh, I need those embossing folders! The zebra and the peacock are super cool. I absolutely love the effect you got on your card here.

    Looking forward to more Trixie pics! Have a great day, Brit!

Leave a Reply

