Skip to content

Shiny Things and Gluten-Free Things.

December 30, 2010

I promised you a post about all the great tips, advice, and foods that I’ve found since I went on a gluten-free diet two weeks ago. SO many lovely people have provided feedback, advice, and links to me, and I’m so grateful for you. Thank you so much!

First, I wanted to share this shiny card for the Hero Arts December challenge that ends tonight. I wanted to make it guy-appropriate but still fun and shiny. What do you think?

I went over each of the stars with glossy accents:

The sentiment. Gosh, I love this stamp set! It’s so fun and versatile:

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream) and The Paper Company (Green Tea Linen), Ink- Ranger (Spice Tin by Jenni Bowlin Studios), Colored Pencils- Prismacolor, Corner Rounder- WRMK, Glossy Accents- Ranger.

Now, for a little compilation of links. These sites are absolutely great for information about going gluten-free, how to stay gluten-free, and some delicious recipes and ideas:

As far as things that I’ve tried, here are my favorite three things:

1. Thai Kitchen Mushroom Rice Noodle Bowls- I would seriously eat these for every meal if I could. I love mushrooms (which you can leave out if you choose), and the noodles and broth are both delicious. Plus, they’re under two dollars per bowl. (BTW- I also tried the Simply Asia brand and liked this one way better; the Simply Asia one has less flavorful broth and dehydrated carrots, which I don’t really like.)

2.  Nut-Thins Almond- They’re just freaking delicious. I liked them before I went G-F, but I like them even more now. They’re wayyy addicting.

3. I’ve always been a fan of rice cakes, but these are the best. I like to eat them with peanut butter and bananas for a filling, sweet (but healthy) snack.

So an update on me: I’m feeling a lot better after starting this diet, but my test results aren’t back yet. I’ll know what’s going on (or at least have a better idea) sometime next week when I’mback in Minneapolis and see my doctor. I don’t want to go all-out and invest in cook books and a backstock of flour and g-f pantry goods until I know for sure that this is what’s working for me, so right now I’m kind of living on stand-by. I just wanted to share this links and favorites in hopes that it will help someone else to start a diet like this. Hope that helps! If you have any other resources that you would like to share, feel free. :)

Thank you all for your kind words, links, and hugs in this strange (yet exciting) time. You’re the best! Hope you have a great rest of your day.

Love and rice cakes,

Britta

P.S. I also wanted to share my calendar pages that I made originally back in early december to keep track of everything that needed to be done for finals. You can download them, print them out, and simply cut them out on the light grey lines. What you’re left with is a full calendar with 3.75″ by 3.75″ for each day that you can tape to your wall using pretty tape or hang on your refrigerator and rearrange as you wish. This is the way my brain works, so I thought I would share the pdf. Feel free to share it with whoever you want as long as you link back to my website. :)

View this document on Scribd
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 5:13 pm

    Love your shiny card! Great details! Thinking of you on your gluten free adventure! HUGS!

  2. December 31, 2010 10:24 pm

    Oh, thank you so much, Britta! I loved your calendar pages and I’m excited that I can make my own! Looking forward to printing these off and making something with them! :)

    Wishing you a HAPPY NEW YEAR! Can’t wait to see what crafting items you have for us in 2011.

Leave a Reply

