Skip to content

New Stamps = My Weakness.

December 29, 2010

If you follow my blog, you probably know that I’ve been absolutely swooning over the newest release of Hero Arts stamps (view the catalog here). Well yesterday, I did two things. I placed an order through Simon Says Stamp for some new Hero Arts goodies (and I’m not going to tell you everything I got; I’ll do a haul video when I get my box! Teehee) and picked up this stamp set at Archiver’s:

It’s CL494- Hip Hip Hooray, and I think it’s so versatile and fun. (You can buy it here at Simon Says Stamp.)

Today’s Card

So here’s what I created tonight. It’s a girly card- and I’m sure one of my girl friends will love it when she turns 21. :)

I wanted to use these two cute images and decided that a grid format was the best way to go. For reference, here is the sizing that I used (honestly the hardest part about this card. ha):

Here are the close-ups of the pretty new stamps, colored in with my beloved Prismacolors:

My favorite part, the stars:

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Vintage Cream) and Bazzill (Ocean Breeze), Ink- Tsukineko (Memento Black) and Ranger (Malted Milk and Spice Tin by Jenni Bowlin Studios and Tea Dye Distress Ink by Tim Holtz), Stamps- Hero Arts (CL494 Hip Hip Hooray) and Studio Calico ( #1010D Polka Dots Background), Colored Pencils- Prismacolor (Lilac, Mulberry, Violet), Corner Rounder- WRMK.

Links

I do this occasionally where I save tabs and have them open in my browser until I can’t stand it anymore and need to clean. I just can’t keep all these good finds to myself. :)

  • Etsy Taste Test– this thing is awesome. It shows you some pictures of product, you click on what you like, and then it shows you a whole page of things that you would like. I’ve added so many beautiful things to my favorites; it’s great for just inspiration (and, of course, shopping).
  • Zumba Classes– I’m in the process of making my goals for next year, and taking fun, energizing classes like this is one of my favorite new things to try. On campus, we can buy a fitpass for about 50 dollars for a semester and take as many classes as we want. My goal is to go once a week (with hopes that I love it so much I go twice a week). I’m working on a layout today about my goals. Stay tuned!
  • One Little Word for 2011– My word for 2010 was “enjoy” and it helped to remind me to slow down a bit. My word for 2011 is “reach”, and I love that so many people take part in this thanks to Ali Edwards. I’m also going to sign up for her class at Big Picture Classes to go along with this as a reminder to myself to think about it throughout the year.
  • What Katie Ate the Christmas ’10 Edition– Her photography is amazing, ant the food looks delicious. I haven’t made it all the way through the pdf yet, but you NEED to look at it. It’s so inspiring.
  • The Studio Calico DT Who’s Who Gallery– Just amazinggggg.
  • The Canon Selphy CP800– After spending 39 cents a piece for getting high quality prints at a store yesterday (I forgot all of my prints back in Minneapolis. Oops.), I’m thinking about getting a printer like this one for photos at home. I’m not sure if I’ll get it, but this one looks amazing and will definitely be what I buy (or another one of the Selphys) if I decide I can justify another printer.
  • Celiac Teen– I’ve gotten so many amazing suggestions and advice when it comes to going gluten-free, and this blog looks so cool. I love how she’s a highschool student, so she seems to have some good tips for students like me. Plus, the recipes just look yummy. I have a post in the works right now all about going gluten-free and the things that have helped me most. I’m in a weird position right now because I haven’t got my test results back yet, so I don’t actually know if I have Celiac’s yet, but I do know that I’ve felt a lot better since I switched my diet. Maybe going gluten-free is what I need to do to feel better.
  • Stephanie’s Challenge at Studio Calico this week- I love the idea of printing out cell phone pictures and working with them. It’s not something I’ve tried before, but I see the value in that; I take such random, in-the-moment pictures on my phone. I think it’s important to capture those moments.
  • Joy posted the sweetest thank-you post EVER– I’m so glad she liked the small gift and card I sent her; I know shipping from Papertrey Ink costs quite a bit, so she can’t make orders as often as us in the states can, so I sent her the “joy” stamp set since I loved it so much and it has her name on it. :) She’s so nice to write up a whole post about it! I totally didn’t expect that.

Blog Award

My awesome friend Laurie awarded me with this sweet blog award today. She and I might have something in the pipeline that you’re sure to like. :) Check out her blog– she makes amazing things!

Rules that accompany this award:
1. Thank and link back to the person who awarded you this
2. Share 8 things about yourself
3. Pay it forward to bloggers that you have recently discovered

So here are my 8 random things:

  1. I love the smell of new stamps and new paper.
  2. I’m a night owl. I have serious issues getting up before 9 am but will gladly stay up until 2 or 3 am.
  3. My favorite color changes on a daily basis. Today’s color is yellow.
  4. I hated taking art history class but really enjoy art and its history; my professor was just… um… pompous.
  5. I love, love good beer. Give me a pint of a nice, pale beer and I’m a very happy girl.
  6. I stink at finishing projects. As much as love knitting, I have about five projects sitting unfinished right now (which is probably more than I ever have finished in the past… ha).
  7. I love Caffeine Free Pepsi. I love caffeine, but in pepsi, I think this kind just tastes better. It’s weird.
  8. Updating my blog is such a happy thing for me. I love sharing my projects and things I love.

Thanks again, Laurie, for the award! I now pass it on to any person mentioned in this post or in any of my other links posts, because you all rock in my eyes!

Okay, sorry for the super long post again. My browser feels so much lighter now, though. Ha. I’m going to go work on the many things that I want to get done this week. So many layouts and card ideas floating around in my head… it’s my favorite. :)

Peace, love, and major mojo,

Britta

P.S.- Thank you to whoever (or everyone!) that sent mojo my way. I love feeling creative. :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 4:44 pm

    Hi Britta! Just started following your blog. Great card, I like the way you did the stars! :> Also enjoyed your list at the end…

  2. December 29, 2010 9:07 pm

    Love reading your list! And your card is totally cute! Love the prismas! I pulled mine out today too! They are so much fun!

Leave a Reply

