Skip to content

Lots of Hugs.

December 22, 2010

The other night, I was feeling like painting, so pulled out my black embossing powder, some versamark, and watercolor paper and got to work making flowers to paint in. Embossing first makes watercolor so easy and fun: it makes pretty pools of color and you can be carefree while painting since it’s so easy to stay in the lines. I got out my favorite watercolors (which I’m giveaway a set of on this post) and painted away using the same techniques that I share in this tutorial. Here’s what I came up with:

These flowers from the Petite Florals by Lawn Fawn are the absolute best for this tecnique. I just added the lightest color first (watery red) and then added the red violet and violet to create that great varigated color. I’m so in love with this look. Here’s a close-up of the flowers:

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Simply Chartreuse, Lavender Moon, Vintage Cream), Watercolor Paper- Blick Art Materials, Stamps- Lawn Fawn (Petite Florals) and Hero Arts (CL380 Truly Appreciated), Thread- DMC, Corner Rounder- WRMK, Ink- Tsukineko (Versamark) and Ranger (Milled Lavender Distress Ink), Embossing powder- Ranger, Watercolors– Prang.

I’m at home and enjoying just laying back and planning the things I’ll do over the next couple days. I haven’t bought any Christmas presents yet, so I think I’ll get on that. Oh, and I can’t believe how HUGE my cats are here. After being around the pipsqueak Trixie that is this tiny:

That cushion, for reference, is about two and a half feet wide. Eeeee! So adorable.

My cats here at home are about six times as big as her, so they seem like giants to me. Ha. I’m sure I’ll get used to them and find Trix unbelievably tiny when I see her again, though. She’s my baby. :)

Hoping to take some good pictures of my mom’s beautiful Christmas decorations. They make me feel so happy and blessed to be home for the holidays. Now, I’m off to scavange for some gluten-free sort of snack. Wish me luck! I’m trying to avoid gluten for the next couple weeks to see if it helps my tummy issues. I’ll definitely be going grocery shopping tomorrow to pick up some staples of things that I know are okay to eat like rice cakes, chex, and hopefully some other gluten-free things. Any suggestions of what to pick up? I would love to hear some favorite gluten-free snacks or meals.

Love and Christmas trees,

Britta

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 8:32 pm

    Gorgeous card! Wowza!!! Love that painting you did!!

    This might help you with the gluten free stuff. My good friend Mariah did the diet for her RA and made this awesome review site on foods! She has since stopped since it didn’t help her RA, but the site is a great resource!

    http://glutenfree-a-z.blogspot.com/

  2. December 22, 2010 10:02 pm

    Just beautiful- your card is so inspiring to me! Love every detail and of course your watercoloring is fab, too!! Hugs and Merry Christmas!!!

  3. December 22, 2010 11:21 pm

    Oh wow, Brit! This card is absolutely stunning! And Trixie is a doll baby. So cute.

    I’m no help with the gluten-free stuff, but I hope you find lots of good stuff that helps your tummy feel better!

  4. December 23, 2010 7:24 am

    Hey Britta. Gorgeous cards. I love watercolor painting… Love all the color your chose and the stitching around the edges was a great touch!

    As far as gluten free, I am on a sugar free diet. That eliminates ALL sugars. Processed, corn syrups – you name it, I can’t have it. I can have Splenda in limited quantities, but that’s about it. If that is similar to gluten-free, email me and I’ll tell you some of the things I have been eating. I can also give you a copy of my diet information, but it doesn’t really give you a shopping list. It just explains the diet and gives tips and suggestions…

  5. December 23, 2010 10:49 am

    Oh Brit!! This is super cute! LOVE the bright and fresh colors!

  6. Brenda permalink
    December 23, 2010 11:05 am

    Rice flour, potato flour, corn meal, oatmeal…I have a good receipe for banana oatmeal bars, which doesn’t contain flour. Let me know…if you’d like it.
    Your creativity is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Lynsey permalink
    December 23, 2010 7:24 pm

    First, your card is super cute! I wish I had the patience to play with water color!

    Second, here’s some g-free ideas for you. I’m not currently g-free, but I’m a flexitarian, and a lot of the vegetarian convenience foods I buy are marked g-free.

    If you like Asian foods, they are primarily g-free. Thai Kitchen has a line of noodle soup packets that are delicious and are made from rice noodles. I think they’re like $1 at Super Target, but if you still have Big Lots in Minnesota, you can find them for .50 there instead — often with a wider variety than Super Target, too. Amy’s Kitchen has a lot of frozen meals that are g-free and lactose-free, and Annie’s Homegrown does have boxed g-free mac ‘n cheese. You can find both at Wal-Mart or Super Target, too. Sometimes, they have Annie’s at Big Lots as well.

    SkinnyTaste.com lets you choose gluten free from their menu on the side. I’ve loved everything I’ve made from this website, and it’s all healthier things — designed to fit the Weight Watchers system, but definitely not yucky or bland.

    And, finally, whatever you do, don’t eat at Olive Garden. I was informed by a server that there is almost nothing they have that doesn’t contain some trace of wheat flour — even some of their fresh veggies have been exposed to the point where they can cause reactions, too. They’re willing to work with you, but it sounds like about all you can get is plain rice pasta with a little bit of fresh Parmesan.

    Good luck!

  8. December 28, 2010 7:59 am

    So funny how we compare animals :)
    Since I got my puppy (a lab who 7 months now, and not looking like a puppy anymore) all cats feel tiny to me, ’cause I’m used to a more ‘robust’ body :)

  9. December 28, 2010 8:12 pm

    That embossed detail is amazing! And of course, your coloring is fabulous!! I love this card!!

Trackbacks

  1. Shiny Things and Gluten-Free Things. « Britta Swiderski

Leave a Reply

