Skip to content

Can I Celebrate Christmastime Now?

December 15, 2010

It has been a rough week to say the very least. I’m running on very little sleep and made a stupid mistake and got my friend’s card towed last night. Ugh! I’m done with my final projects, but I didn’t get to turn them in today with the rest of the class because of the whole car fiasco. Today’s behind me, though. I’m so ready to be done with classes and look forward to cleaning up my messy room and working on Christmas presents.

I’m so ready for Christmastime! I’ve been listening to the Glee Christmas cd on repeat and even downloaded the (free) Target Christmas Music… it’s not bad at all. I wanted to share some cards I’ve been working on over the past couple days; they’re sure to help you get in the Holiday spirit, too. :)

I used this amazing Doiles Stamp Set from Studio Calico with the Signature Series: Flower set from Papertrey Ink using my favorite inks- the Jenni Bowlin Studios inks by Ranger. Aren’t those colors so YUMMY?!

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Kraft and Vintage Cream), Stamps- Papertrey Ink (Signature Series: Flower) and Studio Calico (Doilies Stamp Set), Ink- Ranger (Jenni Bowlin Studios inks in Chili Powder, Stick Candy, and Seed Packet), Rhinestones- Queen & Co., White Pen- Unibal (Signo Broad), Ribbon- Offray, Corner Rounder- WRMK.

Here’s another card- the one I’m planning on giving my boyfriend with his Christmas present (which I still have to figure out what I’m going to get him… oops! Any ideas?). I wanted to use the sweet Mistletoe image from Lawn Fawn’s Bows and Holly set. It seemed perfect for a bf card. :)

I wanted to make a scene for the mistletoe, so this is what I came up with. :)

This is some Martha Stewart Tinsel Glitter adhered with Glossy Accents.

Supplies: Cardstock- Papertrey Ink (Kraft, White, and Fine Linen), Patterned Paper- October Afternoon (Modern Homemaker Collection 8 x 8 pad), Glitter- Martha Stewart, Ink- Tsukineko (Memento Black) and Ranger (Tea Dye and Vintage Photo Distress INk), Colored Pencils- Prismacolor, Ribbon- Papertrey Ink (Pure Poppy Satin Ribbon), Embossing Folder- Sizzix (Tim Holtz), Stamps- Lawn Fawn (Bows and Holly and Sophie’s Sentiments).

This blog post has taken forever to write up thanks to a sketchy internet connection and wordpress bugs, but I wanted to also show you what I’ve been working so hard on lately. The pictures aren’t amazing because I snapped them really quickly after the sun had set, but I’ll post better pictures later with a post-semester wrap up to show off some of my favorite projects. :)

This one is for my Surface Design class. The goal was to make a 3d object and also a second piece- one of the two pieces needed to incorporate multiple surface design techniques. Here’s the bottom of the dress that I put together:

I screen printed the flower images onto the fabric with gold screenprinting ink and then embroidered over them. I love how it looks! My second “piece” is a set of hangtags to go along with the garment:

I screenprinted the pattern on a large piece of matboard and then cut them down to size using an exacto knife and a ruler + some PTI dies. Then I jazzed them up a bit. I’ll make sure share better pictures after I take them for my portfolio. I want to show you the dress in all its glory. (Side note: remind me that I am NOT a seamstress next time I want to make something like this. There were words said between my sewing machine and myself that should not be repeated around sensitive ears. HA.)

It’s time for me kick back and relax tonight while coming up with my plan for the next couple days. I have a final and some project revisions over the next couple of days, so I’m not home free yet. But it is amazing to be done with class. :)

Peace, love, and stress-relievers,

Britta

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 2:38 am

    You are on a roll Britt, love all your sweet creations :) Hugs!

  2. December 16, 2010 5:59 pm

    Love it all! Wowza!

  3. December 16, 2010 7:55 pm

    Sooooooooo cute!

  4. December 16, 2010 8:08 pm

    Really like it all. Great job!

  5. Patricia permalink
    December 17, 2010 12:32 am

    So many great ideas and I am writing them all down.. Thank-you!!

  6. December 17, 2010 12:32 pm

    Beautiful cards my friend! So sorry to hear about your friends car! I hope things calm down for you soon and you can, indeed, enjoy Christmas! I’ve been out of the loop and just catching up now, so I’m very glad I found your new bloggie, yay!

  7. December 24, 2010 5:41 am

    Beautiful cards my friend! So sorry to hear about your friends car! I hope things calm down for you soon and you can, indeed, enjoy Christmas! I’ve been out of the loop and just catching up now, so I’m very glad I found your new bloggie, yay!

Leave a Reply

